We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Review of Mahogany”
Review of Mahogany Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mahogany Lodge
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Accra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I reviewed this hotel previously, and have since stayed there a few more times - plus some other hotels in Accra. I'm happy with my first review - which marked the hotel well. I noticed a good few remarks regarding costs and facilities from other reviewers.

Costs - I agree the costs are too high. Unfortunately however, the costs are too high all over Accra (and many African countries). It's hard to understand how it works - but getting a room less than $160/$200 is tough. I don't see this as a Mahogany issue however. I booked in there originally to avoid the extortionate charges in the Holiday Inn - which where $300 - $400 for a soul less mediocre hotel room.

Amenities - I agree also there is little in the way of restaurants and bars close by. I have visited Captain Hooks a few times - which is a 10 minute walk. That is a very expensive spot however. I tend to grab a cab into town to eat - which is much more interesting than staying in the hotel. It costs me about 5 Cedi (€3).

For me - the winner here is the people. They are really nice. It's very close to the Airport. No probs catching cabs. Its relatively competitive (Note - not cheap!). The rooms are clean. The breakfast is plentiful and tasty.

Well worth your consideration.

Room Tip: I haven't had a bad room - and have stayed in three separate rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jbroaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 100 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

A quiet place in an isolated street. Very few rooms, breakfast is not all you can eat as other places, and the room was average to small at best. There are much cheaper places with better services and more centrally located. However, the staff and service were excellent and honest.

Room Tip: Don't get the one by the gate! The guards start talking outside your window at 5:30 and don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kraguman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Mahogany Lodge is more like a big house with many rooms. Friendly service...where can you find a 'Ghanian who's not friendly??

The rooms are not hotel=type. This is not a criticism....I assume one chose this Lodge exactly because one does not want to stay in a hotel. Very homely, so is the food.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whiteroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

On the basis of good reviews in Trip Advisor, I booked the Mahogany Lodge by phone and stayed for a week. The staff were very friendly from the start, both on the phone and in person, and I was made to feel welcome. The airport pick-up and drop-off was free and worked fine. The room was good and the internet speed acceptable (good enough for Skype). I ate in the restaurant most nights and had a beer in the bar, which was small and a bit pricey, but again all well managed.

My only gripe, and it's a small one, is that the hotel isn't close to any restaurants so you're stuck every night there unless you have your own transport. The price is also very high , but then that's Accra for you. And all the guests seemed to be working for a development agency or consultancy, so no-one was paying their own bills.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Africahand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The Mahogany Lodge was a good experience for two first time visitors to Africa. The staff was great! Food was good. Loved having a PC set up on the veranda with internet access. Allowed me to keep in touch.

Would definitely stay there again.

One "warning" the website shows that you can use travelers checks to pay for your room. I took travelers checks precisely for that reason. Wrong! They don't take them. Actually I found travelers checks nearly worthless in Ghana.

Room Tip: Executive rooms on the second floor, were roomy and quiet, even the rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HoosierontheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I've stayed in 4 or 5 hotels in Accra on business. Price is always a problem - as they are all overpriced.

Mahogany is a little quiet delight. Easy to get a cab to bring you to town or one of the bigger hotels if you like hustle and bustle.

Breakfast is freshly made - great relief from buffets.

Rooms are clean. Bed v comfortable.

Good Internet connection. - some issues with wifi in my room.

I had mobile coverage issues also - but that is not just here :(

Faustina and colleagues very good hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbroaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

A nice place to stay. I enjoyed my stay at this small hotel. I had one of their suites and it was very spacious. The prices were very competitive, the rooms were comfortable and the internet was excellent. The hotel had a very nice pool and a very good restaurant that offered some great food. Overall, I recommend this place if you are interested in having a nice stay in a convenient place and wanting to enjoy peace and tranquility.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wilfredo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
2.2 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 91 in Accra
623 reviews
2.6 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
5.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
0.6 mi away
Midindi Hotel
Midindi Hotel
#23 of 91 in Accra
65 reviews
1.8 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#14 of 91 in Accra
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahogany Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahogany Lodge

Address: No. 9 Kakramadu Link | East Cantonments, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Accra
Price Range: $121 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahogany Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a secluded paradise that offers you a unique experience not commonly found in a capital city hotel. At Mahogany Lodge, our entire mission is to ensure that we serve as your Home away from Home in Accra, Ghana. True to our name, our architecture and decor is rich in breathtaking indigenous wood features with modern amenities. Our grounds are filled with marvelous flora and fauna, and the entire establishment is staffed by hardworking, fun-loving, open and friendly people. This premier Ghanaian boutique hotel features spacious and luxurious suites with all the comforts needed to make you feel well at home whilst in a beautiful and peaceful environment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Mahogany Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahogany Hotel Accra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing