We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Brief but comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of M Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
M Plaza Hotel
Ranked #73 of 95 Hotels in Accra
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Brief but comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stopped in at this hotel en route to a more rural location and this was a very pleasant experience. in 45 degree humidity the air conditioning was more than welcome. Our group arrived around 11pm and the staff at ths hotel kept the restaurant open late for us (although we were a group of 60 people) as well as the pool to accomodate our late arrival. We also stopped here for a few hours prior to the airport and again the staff were welcoming and accomodating allowing us to swim and relax post 12 hour bus ride, and pre 8 hour flight. The hotel seems more a business-type hotel and I wouldnt necessarily recommend it for backpack travelling, but for a comfortable quality stay, it would fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenball07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    13
    11
    16
See reviews for
Families
0
1
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Province of Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
789 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 733 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was the first time i had stayed in 4 Star M Plaza i checked out the hotel on the internet so i was looking forward to my short stay . I had flown into Accra from Takoradi having worked 2 weeks of night shift offshore I was looking forwarded to a chill out room somewhere I can have a shower and relax before my onward flight to London later that evening.
Check-in was easy .... On 1st impressions my room was spacious a big comfy bed , modern furnature ,TV , air con the basics what you would expect .
I went for a walk around the hotel , nice pool and sun area ...but no people , there was a gym .....no people , restaurant / bar ......no people but there was plenty of room refurbishments ongoing .........so maybe all the rooms are getting a upgrade ?
The hotel looks good from the outside but when u have a closer look the paint work and decor needs a bit of freshening up .
Lets go back to my room ........ don't get me wrong my room was clean BUT the bathroom maintenance workmanship was shocking . There was large amount of dried silicon at the bottom of the bath , the shower curtain pole was too long so instead of shortening it they bent it and it wasn't secured , the water heater on the wall had been repositioned but not re tiled the holes were filled up with filler , the toilet was not sitting straight and the grouting / filler on the base of the toilet was very poor workmanship .
In the bedroom next to the fridge there were 2 plug sockets with no cover plate , there was tea and coffee facilities but the kettle didnt work and to put the icing on the cake there was a hotel power failure .
Who is inspecting the maintenance work when it is completed ? And who then says the room is OK to rent out to the public ?

On checking out I asked the lady on reception what the cost was for my room style she said my company had a contract with the hotel so in was at a reduced rate .....she then told me the cost of the room was $ 170 , for just over 4 hours .
I've been lucky to have stayed in a lot of different star rated hotels over the last 18 months , some brilliant , some great , some OK and some not so BUT the M Plaza must have a room standard code . Their welcome brochure says they are the premier VIP hotel in Accra well room 2104 wasn't . The number 1 customer quality is that all rooms must be decorated and maintained to a high standard , but shabby , poor decor finish that is well below standard and then rented out to customers .......is poor management and below par quality.
The M Plaza does look impressive from the outside .....it's a shame for my 4 hours the room I was given was less than impressive .
I have stayed in the Great western and Holiday inn , they put a bench mark on standard , quality and value for money im afraid the M Plaza needs to up its game and match its competitors .

Room Tip: Check the room first ........if your not happy ask to be moved
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuddslfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Accra hotels

Bozeman, MT
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is one of the weird hotels I ever stayed in. It is really big, like an old mansion or palace and many hallways and corridors that it is easy to get lost. The room I stayed was actually OK, usually clean as well as the bathroom. Amenities were OK. The problem is that after cleaning they left the window open so at night I had to battle with mosquitoes. Internet (Wifi) was not working well, always had problems getting online. Food in the restaurant is not of good quality, and terribly over priced with very few options to choose. The other big issue is the location. It is not conveniently located, so for good food you really need to take a taxi and go somewhere else (e.g. food at the Golden Tulip's restaurant was great! -and the hotel seemed to be nicer).
Finally the weirdest thing of all: They have a porn channel 24/7 with no way to protect or do anything about it. I think this hotel is not up to international standards and somebody should really take all the reviews and do a serious change in the hotel. -By the way staff was the best thing they were always courteous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rovaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was nearly empty- actually had better service than previous reviews- hotel pool was decent, room was clean, everything worked, including hotel wifi- desk provided plug adaptor since mine was stuck in luggage at airport.
A little pricey for what you got, but breakfast buffet was decent.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Headneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel looks better from outside than the reality inside. The room space is rather small (standard room). Entrane to the toilet not convenient. Adult content in daytime tv - I even tried to tuned off the channel to something else without success. Poor wifi in the room. When I complained, I was told to move my system towards the window close to the swimming pool side. However, the location is quiet and there is no vehicular noice in the area.

Room Tip: Better wifi in rooms on the side of the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is a recently opened hotel located about 10 minute drive to Kotoka Intl.Airport & 5 minutes drive to Accra Mall.Where to start hmmm well the front desk was courteous especially Evelyn' whom is the front desk manager.The place is lacking something it's not quite up to international standards yet not a terrible place to stay.Rooms were decent had refrigerator free coffee,cocoa,Tea in room.The rooms have Shower/bath in them with toiletries.Cable T.V. free wi/fi there are conference rooms along with an outdoor pool with bar & big screen.The area around the bar makes you think it's a prison pool with the barb wire on top of the outdoor walls looks odd. The breakfast which is included wasn't your typical western breakfast it was buffet with rice beans ,sausage or cereal among other things.They serve lunch & dinner as well.as room service if requested. Value wise I know Accra is expensive Hotel wise especially near the airport ,yet not quite worth what they charge though.Checkout is Noon.They have a courtesy shuttle to the airport yet request a certain time as they schedule their drop-offs/pick ups to /from the hotel to the airport usually every 2 hours.It would be around GHC $5.00-7.00 from hotel to airport by cab.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kraor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Very small roooms, extremely hard mattresses, adult content in daytime tv, bad breakfast, feels like a ghost hotel...on one day we were about 3 people and that was very scarely!
Leaking bathrooms!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
1.2 mi away
Alisa Hotels North Ridge
1.5 mi away
Highgate Hotel
Highgate Hotel
#72 of 95 in Accra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coconut Grove Regency Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
0.5 mi away
Afia Beach Hotel
Afia Beach Hotel
#31 of 95 in Accra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.0 mi away
Maxlot Hotel
Maxlot Hotel
#42 of 95 in Accra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Plaza Hotel

Property: M Plaza Hotel
Address: Roman Ridge | P.O.Box 0608, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 95 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — M Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghana's only exclusive hotel, and the nation's hotel for presidents and royals.Recognized for providing the tightest in guest security, privacy, personalized services and convenience in doing business from the comfort of one's hotel room. M Plaza Hotel, the ultimate in exclusive services. Our niche clientele features diplomats, corporate chief executives and celebrities in both sports and entertainment. Besides the gallery of personalities we have hosted, our ranking status in hosting of conferences, high profile banquets, receptions, very private events like honeymooning is second to none. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jovago.com so you can book your M Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Plaza Accra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing