We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 4 STAR Rating Means Quality , High Standards and Value For Money .....The M Plaza doesn't tick any of those boxes”
Review of M Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
M Plaza Hotel
Ranked #67 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was the first time i had stayed in 4 Star M Plaza i checked out the hotel on the internet so i was looking forward to my short stay . I had flown into Accra from Takoradi having worked 2 weeks of night shift offshore I was looking forwarded to a chill out room somewhere I can have a shower and relax before my onward flight to London later that evening.
Check-in was easy .... On 1st impressions my room was spacious a big comfy bed , modern furnature ,TV , air con the basics what you would expect .
I went for a walk around the hotel , nice pool and sun area ...but no people , there was a gym .....no people , restaurant / bar ......no people but there was plenty of room refurbishments ongoing .........so maybe all the rooms are getting a upgrade ?
The hotel looks good from the outside but when u have a closer look the paint work and decor needs a bit of freshening up .
Lets go back to my room ........ don't get me wrong my room was clean BUT the bathroom maintenance workmanship was shocking . There was large amount of dried silicon at the bottom of the bath , the shower curtain pole was too long so instead of shortening it they bent it and it wasn't secured , the water heater on the wall had been repositioned but not re tiled the holes were filled up with filler , the toilet was not sitting straight and the grouting / filler on the base of the toilet was very poor workmanship .
In the bedroom next to the fridge there were 2 plug sockets with no cover plate , there was tea and coffee facilities but the kettle didnt work and to put the icing on the cake there was a hotel power failure .
Who is inspecting the maintenance work when it is completed ? And who then says the room is OK to rent out to the public ?

On checking out I asked the lady on reception what the cost was for my room style she said my company had a contract with the hotel so in was at a reduced rate .....she then told me the cost of the room was $ 170 , for just over 4 hours .
I've been lucky to have stayed in a lot of different star rated hotels over the last 18 months , some brilliant , some great , some OK and some not so BUT the M Plaza must have a room standard code . Their welcome brochure says they are the premier VIP hotel in Accra well room 2104 wasn't . The number 1 customer quality is that all rooms must be decorated and maintained to a high standard , but shabby , poor decor finish that is well below standard and then rented out to customers .......is poor management and below par quality.
The M Plaza does look impressive from the outside .....it's a shame for my 4 hours the room I was given was less than impressive .
I have stayed in the Great western and Holiday inn , they put a bench mark on standard , quality and value for money im afraid the M Plaza needs to up its game and match its competitors .

Room Tip: Check the room first ........if your not happy ask to be moved
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cuddslfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for M Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 52 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is one of the weird hotels I ever stayed in. It is really big, like an old mansion or palace and many hallways and corridors that it is easy to get lost. The room I stayed was actually OK, usually clean as well as the bathroom. Amenities were OK. The problem is that after cleaning they left the window open so at night I had to battle with mosquitoes. Internet (Wifi) was not working well, always had problems getting online. Food in the restaurant is not of good quality, and terribly over priced with very few options to choose. The other big issue is the location. It is not conveniently located, so for good food you really need to take a taxi and go somewhere else (e.g. food at the Golden Tulip's restaurant was great! -and the hotel seemed to be nicer).
Finally the weirdest thing of all: They have a porn channel 24/7 with no way to protect or do anything about it. I think this hotel is not up to international standards and somebody should really take all the reviews and do a serious change in the hotel. -By the way staff was the best thing they were always courteous.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rovaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was nearly empty- actually had better service than previous reviews- hotel pool was decent, room was clean, everything worked, including hotel wifi- desk provided plug adaptor since mine was stuck in luggage at airport.
A little pricey for what you got, but breakfast buffet was decent.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Headneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel looks better from outside than the reality inside. The room space is rather small (standard room). Entrane to the toilet not convenient. Adult content in daytime tv - I even tried to tuned off the channel to something else without success. Poor wifi in the room. When I complained, I was told to move my system towards the window close to the swimming pool side. However, the location is quiet and there is no vehicular noice in the area.

Room Tip: Better wifi in rooms on the side of the swimming pool.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is a recently opened hotel located about 10 minute drive to Kotoka Intl.Airport & 5 minutes drive to Accra Mall.Where to start hmmm well the front desk was courteous especially Evelyn' whom is the front desk manager.The place is lacking something it's not quite up to international standards yet not a terrible place to stay.Rooms were decent had refrigerator free coffee,cocoa,Tea in room.The rooms have Shower/bath in them with toiletries.Cable T.V. free wi/fi there are conference rooms along with an outdoor pool with bar & big screen.The area around the bar makes you think it's a prison pool with the barb wire on top of the outdoor walls looks odd. The breakfast which is included wasn't your typical western breakfast it was buffet with rice beans ,sausage or cereal among other things.They serve lunch & dinner as well.as room service if requested. Value wise I know Accra is expensive Hotel wise especially near the airport ,yet not quite worth what they charge though.Checkout is Noon.They have a courtesy shuttle to the airport yet request a certain time as they schedule their drop-offs/pick ups to /from the hotel to the airport usually every 2 hours.It would be around GHC $5.00-7.00 from hotel to airport by cab.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kraor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Very small roooms, extremely hard mattresses, adult content in daytime tv, bad breakfast, feels like a ghost hotel...on one day we were about 3 people and that was very scarely!
Leaking bathrooms!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Hahhha... yes I read some of the reviews and the hotel's copy and pasted response which was a standard apology because they were so used to people complaining. In fact there was one good review with 4 stars which also got the same response apologising for failing to please etc!!

This shows that they really are not paying attention. The staff are unhappy... the whole place is an unhappy event!

When I entered it was because the hotel we were booked into was having difficulty with their AC system so they moved us into this hotel. The first impression is confusion when you enter from the porch you have two doors you can enter through. The one straight ahead leads to a corner around which there is a desk..."ah ha.. crafty fellow have hidden the check-in desk around the corner!!" but no this is not the check in desk so you back track and arrive at a gloomy lobby which contains the real check-in desk.

Here you are ignored by the staff as they deal with trivial matters until they have to deal with you. Then the slow process of check in starts. Eventually you are lead to your room, a convoluted journey which are twists and turns you feel you should have brought a ball of string or a packet of seeds to mark your trail so you can get back out again.

Don't get me wrong. The hotel is clean, reasonably tidy but ... bizarre! We find my room and try to get the power on with the electronic door key in the power slot. Nothing happens and then the girl calls for assistance. It turns out the card has to be put in with the chip facing the wall. Strange the girl showing me to the room didn't know this.

The room was smallish but clean and comfortable but then my next surprise slapped me in the face... while I was looking at the menu to order my food I flicked through the TV channels looking for English news. I had clicked through two channels to be suddenly confronted with an enormous naked bottom of some porn stud doing the dirty with his porn mistress!! Ahem... classy hotel not!

I ordered the food in the room as I was too tired to look for the restaurant in the maze of a hotel... which is just as well because I might not have found my way back to the room... The following morning I found that there is no way to get to the floor where the restaurant is because there is a certain corridor and stair you have to take to get to an enormous palatial dining hall.

Service is appalling... Basil Fawlty could not out under-perform this lot. The food was nearly inedible. In morning the breakfast hall was like a scene out of a comedy with a few very perplexed guests herded onto one table out of all the 'available' tables, presumably for the convenience of the staff, and we all promptly began swapping service disaster stories about our stay.

Then to cap it all I went down to check-out only to find that the reception/check-in desk was not the same as the check-out desk. The check-out desk is on the SECOND FLOOR!!! not near the entrance/exit!!! WHAT!! The architect must have been on drugs or in a state of dementia as the whole place is a bizarre collection of steps and corridors making no sense at all.

I strongly suspect that the management is having a chuckle... a slightly insane cackle perhaps... If there were hidden cameras recording the poor befuddled and inconvenienced guests it would make a hit series on TV.

They should re-brand the hotel as a place to have a stranger hotel experience... a sort of African "Fawlty Towers".

If the hotel wasn't so over-priced I would recommend staying for a laugh. Just for the hell of it.... but no that would be just wasting too much money.

I suspect that the poor service was down to bad management and not the staff who where obviously trying their best but with limited resources or poor guidance/training.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lokamitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
1.6 mi away
Urbano Hotel
Urbano Hotel
#21 of 92 in Accra
24 reviews
2.1 mi away
Maxlot Hotel
Maxlot Hotel
#40 of 92 in Accra
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Blue Royal Hotel
Blue Royal Hotel
#65 of 92 in Accra
25 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Accra Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Byblos
Hotel Byblos
#48 of 92 in Accra
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Plaza Hotel

Address: Roman Ridge | P.O.Box 0608, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Price Range: $115 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — M Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghana's only exclusive hotel, and the nation's hotel for presidents and royals.Recognized for providing the tightest in guest security, privacy, personalized services and convenience in doing business from the comfort of one's hotel room. M Plaza Hotel, the ultimate in exclusive services. Our niche clientele features diplomats, corporate chief executives and celebrities in both sports and entertainment. Besides the gallery of personalities we have hosted, our ranking status in hosting of conferences, high profile banquets, receptions, very private events like honeymooning is second to none. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Jovago.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your M Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Plaza Accra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing