We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food I've had in Accra”
Review of Bread&Wine - CLOSED

Bread&Wine
Price range: $30 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Bread&Wine is located in Osu district, right next to the Antrack House. We serve a South of France oriented cuisine and have homemade bread straight from our Bakery. Looking for a wine experience? We have more than 200 references available. Looking for a place to escape Accra? Come by our pool and enjoy some nice cocktail and food. Looking for a perfect place for a business dinner? We have two private room that will welcome up to 16 guests. Looking for a romantic dinner? Bring your loved one and treat her with Roederer Champagne and chocolate fondant. At Bread&Wine, we offer experience
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best food I've had in Accra”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful restaurant with excellent service. Highly recommend the steak for main and the lemon tart for desert.

Impeccable service

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle U, Directeur général at Bread&Wine, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments,
Next time you can try our Pain Perdu (French Toast, caramel sauce)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    16
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level Contributor
145 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The food and ambience is just pure "WOW"”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I had to return after one meal. Once was not enough. They put so much care into the ingredients and cooking them to perfection, pure respect for food and flavors. I had the Shrimp appetizer, the seared scallops, crusted cassava fillet, and the groupa, everything was cooked perfectly. The staff are well-trained, and friendly. We sat outside both times. because the garden is just stunning with a beautiful pool in the back. I would eat here everyday if I could. They impressed my New Yorker palate.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle U, Directeur général at Bread&Wine, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
It was nice to meet you.

Thanks for your compliment, it helps us to go further.
Hope to see you soon in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“French cuisine cooked to perfection.”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

If you are looking for great food and ambiance, this is the place for you! I love the food and as a smoker I like to sit outside where it is surprisingly breezy. The mangers are friendly and the staff is well on its way to be great.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Farida A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just wonderful and highly recommended”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Great food,ambiance and service. Loved the house. Very clean and with so much character. Will definitely patronize every time I am in Ghana. Hostess was very attentive. I could actually taste how much love was involved in the making of this food. It was an orgasmic experience...no lie!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Simone N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Food made with love”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is one of the few restaurants I have eaten in in Ghana where I really felt like the chef and owners really loved food. Of course in Ghana you are always going to have glitches, especially with service, but the fact is that they really care about the food at Bread & Wine and you can tell. Now the place is super expensive. You will end up paying more than 200 Cedi per person easily, but for an occasional splurge, it's worth it. I had a steak the other day and it was almost as good as one that I would get in a high-end steak house in the US. I've been there for brunch and the food is great. It's the setting that really makes this place. It's calm, beautiful and dignified. If I can compare it to Santoku, this is the place you will take your parents. Santoku is where you go with your buddies. It's not a social scene here. It's just people enjoying good food and conversation. The waiter knew how to open and pour a bottle of wine and when I asked him what kind of wine it was (my friend ordered it) he said "Merlot" instead of "Red." Both plusses on the service side.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank richtank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread&Wine also viewed

Accra, Greater Accra
Accra, Greater Accra
 
Accra, Greater Accra
 
Accra, Greater Accra
Accra, Greater Accra
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing