We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, peaceful, memorable!”

Kwame Nkrumah Memorial Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$142.50*
and up
Half-Day Accra City Tour
Ranked #1 of 64 things to do in Accra
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small museum dedicated to the country's founding father.
Woking
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful, memorable!”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my visit here! It was lovely to see the memorial being visited by a couple of groups of local school children and also a bridal couple.

The fountains are wonderful and it is all set off perfectly by the gorgeous blue Ghanaian sky!

Nkrumah's official car is also on view. It's interesting to see but could perhaps do with a bit of cleaning and attention.

Helpful?
2 Thank TopCat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    161
    96
    23
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Above Average Historical Site”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was a very well conceived and constructed memorial to a great man of Africa. The fountains worked! The museum had some powerful historical pieces of information in the form of photos and captions. It also included many of Nkrumah's writings/books. Worth visiting.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Ndoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dont miss it”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I went to the park on my own from my hotel.It is very fascinating place you have to pay 6 cedis entry fee and it is permitted to snap pictures with the exception of the main building where some gof his personnel belongings such as bed,presidential table,books Phd thesis and pictures are kept.The pictures ranges from his student days,independent struggles to his death on exile in Guinea. The tomb of Kwame Nkrumah,s Egyptian wife Fathia is also found there.She died in Egypt in 2009 but buried very close to her husband,s grave in the Masoleum.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kasim717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Photo shoot heaven!!!!!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

That's the best thing about this place,asides the rich history of course. It so well maintained,you could use it for a fashion spread or just some good ol personal photo shoot. I love it!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank amyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
146 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A Moving History Lesson”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

To get a real feel and understanding of this amazing country, a visit to Kwame Nkrumah Park and Museum is a must. I gained a better understanding of Ghana, its journey to independence and its hope for freedom and African unification through peace. Kwame Nkrumah, though his actions and influence, has left a lasting mark on our world.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kwame Nkrumah Memorial Park also viewed

Accra, Greater Accra
 
Accra, Greater Accra
Accra, Greater Accra
 

Been to Kwame Nkrumah Memorial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing