We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A month in Ghana” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tribeca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tribeca Hotel
Ranked #39 of 226 Accra B&B and Inns
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A month in Ghana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Ghana is my second home as I have been visiting for 20 years because of work.
My decision to travel resulted from Frequent Flyer points from Qantas who are associated with Emirates my airline of choice. Qantas offered accommodation at reduced rates for the first night at Tribeca and I needed a budget clean room.
I was impressed with my first night and after travelling to Kumasi and Sunyani I was happy to return to Accra to relax at the Tribeca hotel which is well located in this busy city. Traffic must always be considered when looking for accommodation in Accra and East Legon is well located.
The other thing I consider is availability of a Taxi at any time of the day and night. Taxi's stand within 100 metres and the location is safe. Money exchanges are close and local produce and small provisions available.
Food, water and drinks are available at the hotel and restaurants close for a small taxi fare.
From the Tribeca most places are easily accessed with negotiable taxi fares.
The local Pizza place within a short distance is the best Pizza I have experienced.
A pool and surrounding area serviced around a nice clean pergola area is inviting for relaxation and WiFi is available.
The area is safe to take long walks during daytime.
A very quite pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: I prefer to be upstairs and the family atmosphere is outstanding in this small comfortable establish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TrevAustra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tribecahotel_ghana, Manager at Tribeca Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for staying at Tribeca Hotel do we look forward in serving you in the future. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience in Ghana and at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
5
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on January 27th because I had a gap between my reserved stays at the Holiday Inn. I chose this hotel from hotels.com because the location served my purpose and the pictures looked good.

Big mistake!

The room had no refrigerator, some tiles were missing, the furnishings were poorly done, the shower panels wouldn't close, the towels were worn out. For $110 a night this was the biggest hotel ripoff I have ever experienced and I travel extensively.

My sense is that they started out the hotel with grandiose ideas and probably run out of financing. Why? The car park is tiled, there are monogrammed towels while important things like a refrigerator is missing from the room.

Avoid this place like the plague. The lady at the front desk is pleasant enough however it doesn't make up for the poor service, inferior facility, and general deceptive advertizing.

They need to spend some serious moolah$ finishing up the place and bringing it to standard.

Room Tip: I doubt you'll find a good room in this establishment. They nee
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SheikPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tribecahotel_ghana, Manager at Tribeca Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. First and foremost, on behalf of The Tribeca hotel's management and staff, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences caused during your stay.

As always, all of our guests, whether long term or short term, are considered part of our Tribeca family. The soul objective of Tribeca Hotel's dedicated management and staff is to make our guests feel as much at home as possible. If this is not achieved, then we are not satisfied.

The unfortunate mix up that occurred upon your early morning checkout is a very rare incident which we have looked into and rectified immediately. Kindly note however that unlike other hotels, whether in Ghana or around the world, we operate a 24/7 check in/check out policy in order to provide our guests with the most convenient and hassle free experience possible. This is just another way we strive to make The Tribeca Hotel "the next best thing to being home". Please keep in mind walk-in rates are different than rates advertised with our online partners. Rates do have a tendency to change though-out the hospitality industry. I do suggest you book your next visit online so that money wouldn't be an issue. Refrigerators are only provided in our suites. Our prices for our suites are far more expensive than our standard rooms, and the amenities are far more than any room in the property. We are sorry that you where not happy with décor of your room, however, it is the guest responsibility to voice there opinion before they stay in the room so that management can rectify the problem. As we investigated this matter further through video footage the receptionist continued to ask you about your satisfaction of the room and you answered everything is fine. I'm sorry that maybe the receptionist did not probe more.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and look forward to welcoming you again here at Tribeca Hotel in the future.

Thank you for your time.

Tribeca Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vihti, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Small lovely Hotel! Difficult and not fair to compare other hotels because I have not stayed and experienced hotels in Africa and Europe is so different. We liked it: clean room and environment. Very lovely staff. Will go definitely again. Pool was nice. Good wireless network. Pricing was good. Fruits and/ or vegetables would improve breakfast and menu in general a lot.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paivi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tribecahotel_ghana, Manager at Tribeca Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for staying at Tribeca Hotel do we look forward in serving you in the future. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience in Ghana and at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Hotel is situated in a serene environment and its proximity to the airport is okay. It is a place for couples to experience.... The staff are friendly and prompt in their service.

The environment is neat and the rooms are spacious. It is a lovely sight to behold in the night. Prices are moderate. My wife and I enjoyed taking a walk in beautiful areas close to the hotel.

Next time we are in Accra, we will definitely choose TRIBECA HOTEL. We really had a Wow Experience during our 3 nights' stay!

Bello & P

Room Tip: Please have Room 9 as part of your choice. It's spacious, cozy and has an aerial view of the the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Prechy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tribecahotel_ghana, Manager at Tribeca Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for staying at Tribeca Hotel do we look forward in serving you in the future. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience in Ghana and at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Tribeca hotel is a nice hotel, located near the airport but without hearing the planes. The rooms are quiet and spacious. The internet access is good. The restaurant's menu can be improved. More salad and vegetables, less fried chicken and rice.

Room Tip: Room n°1 and 2 are near the water pump. Can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Francois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tribecahotel_ghana, Manager at Tribeca Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review Tribeca Hotel. We try hard to provide a WOW... experience to our guests. We do hope in the future you would stay with us again. Keep in mind we have recently under went a renovation in the hotel to keep the client in mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i traveled from Nigeria to have a sweet relaxing in Ghana and thank God we landed here;We have been to hotels in South Africa,Kenya,Dubai to mention but few,Tribeca seems to be among top hotels..We got here few hours ago(booked for 5 days)and we are already in love wit their services,area is cozy and romantic,internet is blaze,clean pool,everytin here is ok.Hope to experience all this enjoyment all our stay.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tribecahotel_ghana, Manager at Tribeca Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for staying at Tribeca Hotel do we look forward in serving you in the future. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience in Ghana and at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Well the Tribeca was ok. I would say it was bad, but I know what the competition in the area for this price range is, so considering that, it is actually ok. The building is new, and the rooms are nice and clean. They have big windows so you can get some nice sunlight. With some minor flaws like towel racks falling off the walls, the air conditioner in the first room they put me in was broken.
The walls are thick and it is a quiet neighborhood, so it is mostly very quiet, which is nice.

The problem is with the staffing. I was only here one night, and I'm not sure who was on when the other two reviewers wrote, but the two ladies here now leave a lot to be desired. They are polite, but certainly not friendly. And there is almost never anyone at the reception deks, when I wanted something I usually had to go searching around the whole hotel. I had to put my breakfast order in to the night security guard at 8pm because there was actually no on else around. Needless to say, my breakfast order got messed up.

The food was pretty dire too. They seemed to be missing the menu, and only had one thing available each time I ordered. What I ate was ok, but nothing great, and wasn't really what I wanted. (rice and sauce for lunch, chicken and chips for dinner). The crowning failure was when my breakfast was made an hour early, and had been sitting there, and I asked nicely for a fresh egg to be made because that one was cold, she actually brought me an egg and left it on the tray, and then left again. I came back thinking it was a hard boiled egg, which would have been ok. But nope, it wasn't even cooked. Really.

So...some potential, but some big staff capacity building needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saradvt9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tribecahotel_ghana, Manager at Tribeca Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We truly appreciate your open and honest feedback about your experience at our hotel. We are very concerned with the comments you made and we are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied in staying at our hotel. On behalf of The Mamba Point Hotel's management, please accept our sincerest apologies.
We would welcome your detailed comments on the tribecahotel.ghana@gmail.com so you get the chance to explain to us exactly what made you experience such.

Your satisfaction and well-being are of most importance to us and we hope to rectify the situation as soon as possible.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
0.0 mi away
Pemicsa Hotel
Pemicsa Hotel
#36 of 95 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Elegance
Hotel Elegance
#34 of 95 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
6.1 mi away
Niagara Hotel
Niagara Hotel
#65 of 95 in Accra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oak Plaza Hotel East Airport
6.4 mi away
Joy Family Lodge
Joy Family Lodge
#32 of 226 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
5.3 mi away
Roots Apartment Hotel
Roots Apartment Hotel
#5 of 226 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribeca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribeca Hotel

Property: Tribeca Hotel
Address: 3427 Mensah Wood Rd | Behind Ghana Link in East Legon, Accra 00233, Ghana
Phone Number:
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tribeca Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 20-minute drive from Labadi Beach, Tribeca Hotel Ghana offers an outdoor swimming pool, a lounge, a restaurant, a bar and WiFi is free of a surcharge.The air-conditioned rooms and suite at Tribeca Hotel Ghana feature an LCD TV with satellite channels, and the private bathrooms are complete with a bath tub. The suite also offers a pool view and spa bath.A continental breakfast is available daily and the restaurant serves regional specialties. A 15-minute drive from Accra International Conference Center, Tribeca Hotel Ghana is 7 km from Accra Airport, and free private parking is possible on site. Hotel Rooms: 10 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Tribeca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing