We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Americans - this is a MUST SEE”

Dr. Kwame Nkrumah's Mausoleum
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.50*
and up
Full-Day Private Tour of Accra
Ranked #5 of 64 things to do in Accra
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
257 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Americans - this is a MUST SEE”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I am so happy that we visited this museum and mausoleum. I had no idea the connection and influence this man had on Dr. Martin Luther King. I had a mental shift to a more global perspective. I think as Americans we tend to think within our borders only. The world is interdependent, and no where did I get a stronger sense of that than in the museum. This was an extremely influential man. The Ghanian people are very proud of his role in their cause for independence. Nkrumah's legacy is one of non-violence and peace. Ghana achieved independence through non-violence and brains. The photos in the museum are alone are worth seeing. The guide was extremely passionate and knowledgable. The mausoleum's architecture is very interesting as well. Definitely a MUST SEE.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank swoodruf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    58
    37
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I am pleased my daughter wanted to visit this site. The park is lovely, the architecture of the building impressive. It was peaceful. A worthy tribute to an important man. The museum is simple, but offers an impression of Nkrumah's life. There is a 6 cedi entrance fee.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAGOS, NIGERIA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Was ok, and gives a hint to Kwame Nkrumah's life”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Was ok, and gives a hint to Kwame Nkrumah's life. Iliked the way they preserved things like the kente Nkrumah wore on the day of Independence or so...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank NNAMDI E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Was very impressed with the sight, and did find it great to see that most of the trees were planted as gestures from embassies and Ghana VIPs. I thought everything was incredibly clean and that it really was a fitting memorial to a great man. Looking forward to seeing it when the fountains are working and you don't have to see all that dirty water...

Helpful?
Thank John_Golding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tema, Ghana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location and a must place to see”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

A man of great vision for united Africa. The mausoleum is located in the park, just opposite to the supreme court in Accra. Everything you want to know about this African statesman, Dr. Kwame Nkrumah. His table, pen, casket, photographs with other great leaders from different countries. There is much to learn about his life. The final resting place of Dr. Kwame & his wife is also there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PRABHATCDAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dr. Kwame Nkrumah's Mausoleum also viewed

 
Accra, Greater Accra
 

Been to Dr. Kwame Nkrumah's Mausoleum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing