We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Labadi Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Labadi Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Certificate of Excellence
Redding, California
Level Contributor
212 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed August 22, 2008

It's our third or forth time to stay here and it gets better each time.

We were pleasantly surprised with a new room service menu rolled out this time with kid friendly items. They said that there would be new menus throughout.

It's all getting a renovation though starting August 20 so it will changing from the 1990's decor to an updated look they say.

The wifi does not work from the wing we were in which is VERY frustrating.

Overall, I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Great food, nice staff, wifi, good pool, sauna and fitness center
  • Disliked — wifi didn't work in our room or hallway near our room even
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank InternationalCare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    237
    61
    20
    5
See reviews for
74
86
42
315
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

The hotel was very nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They made us feel very welcome. The hotel itself was very nice. The swimming pool and the bar area was very well presented aswell as the lobby area. The food and breakfast was very good aswell. I would recommend this hotel is travelling to Accra.

  • Liked — The way the staff made you feel welcome
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank charlier0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

Labadi beach hotel is a true oasis located in a palm tree garden with a beautiful fountain and wonderfully landscaped lawns and flower beds. The rooms are in a separate building and are completely adequate if not totally up to date. They are plannning a new wing of rooms - 60 - with some big suites built trough 2008 - 9. They have a small fitness room that is not attractive. The reception area is huge and impressive with a adjacent bar and snack corner - it is quite cosy to sit there and watch people with something cold to drink and a newspaper.Wonderful restaurants -2 -- and a great breakfast buffet. The reception people could work on their style a bit. All in all a good experience.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pille2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Blue State, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

I stayed for five nights, glad that I was here and not at a nearby (larger) hotel. The staff was friendly and professional. My room was plain but large and clean. I felt more secure here than elsewhere because the hotel had an attentive security staff.

The restaurant had an ample buffet for each meal. For one dinner I ordered a curry entree which was very good. The outdoor bar and dining area looked inviting, but recent rains meant that mosquitoes were a problem. The pool and grounds were well-maintained.

I would return to this property again, although it is located away from the main part of the city. HINT: Give yourself plenty of extra time to get to the airport during rush hour! It took me nearly an hour by shuttle bus at 3:30 on a weekday afternoon.

  • Liked — Good security.
  • Disliked — Carpeting was moldy.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MsBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2008

I travel quite a bit throughout West Africa and this is probably the nicest hotel I've been to in this part of the world. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the cleanliness and quality of the rooms was outstanding. Everything worked properly and the room had all the amenities one would expect in Europe or the U.S. - even a phone in the bathroom! We had requested a non-smoking room in a quiet location at the time we made the reservation, and this was exactly what we got. My expectations were exceeded.

  • Liked — the quality and comfort of the room
  • Disliked — mosquito coil smoke at the bar
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MNhomegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2007

stayed with my daughters for a weekend break while volunteering in the country. We felt very safe and the staff was lovely. the rooms were a bit small and worn for the price. very expensive meals. pool area is pretty as is interior of hotel lobby. outside hotel beach area not recommended as it is packed with hawkers and locals - dangerous area. security does anexcellent job of keeping guests safe as long as you stay on the property grounds.

  • Liked — pool and landscaping
  • Disliked — worn small rooms
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank momofthreepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2007

We really did not like this place. I was visiting my son, who is doing study abroad at the University of Ghana, and I was nervous about coming, so tried to book the most comfortable place I could find. Check in was EXTREMELY unfriendly and they would not even acknowledge our presence at the desk. Room, which was $230 per night, was MOLDY and the carpet filthy. Also the hall and room really stunk. I asked if this was the nicest room and it seemed like they had no idea what I was talking about. Pool is set before a series of lagoons which are shallow stagnant water, and seemed like the perfect place for breeding mosquitos. Beach behind a fence, but it was a very dirty beach and I would not consider swimming there. We had to wait 5 hours to check in (we arrived early, around 10:30) and we sat and had lunch outside -- flies everywhere, covering our glasses of coke. Surly service. Couldn't wait to check out of this place. Tiny tv, inconveniently situated, I hated it here. We checked out and went to the Golden Tulip, then found our favorite, the La Palm, next door. Night and day experience.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank MomfromUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
4.5 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
4.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
0.4 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 92 in Accra
200 reviews
4.7 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
0.0 mi away
Pemicsa Hotel
Pemicsa Hotel
#37 of 92 in Accra
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Labadi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Labadi Beach Hotel

Property: Labadi Beach Hotel
Address: 1 Labadi By-Pass | Labadi Beach Hotel, Trade Fair, Accra 70200, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Accra
#1 Spa Hotel in Accra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Accra
#2 Business Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Labadi Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Labadi Beach Hotel, Ghana’s Premier 5* Hotel is set amidst tropical landscaped gardens and in close proximity of 10 minutes drive to the Kotoka International Airport and 15 minutes drive to the Central Business District. The hotel is located adjacent to Ghana’s most popular La Pleasure Beach and boasts of a well maintained private beach with 24 hours security surveillance offering colorful cocktails and bites as you watch the sun set. Labadi Beach Hotel is set to meet the demands of both Leisure and Business traveler’s alike; offering a modern Spa with four treatment rooms in the serene ambiance of the beach gardens, a well-equipped gymnasium, an outdoor lap pool as well as a leisure pool, two flood lit tennis courts and an outdoor running space within its expanse gardens filled with coconut trees. With 164 well-appointed rooms and seven room types including 2 Presidential suites, room size ranging from 30m² to 126m² to choose from, be certain to be pampered, well rested and totally taken care of as you enjoy a combination of Opulence and Elegance in a classy en-suite bathroom with separate shower, toilet and bathtub, a bidet, bathrobe and slippers, shaver point, hair dryer, direct dialing telephone services, fully stocked mini-bar, free high speed internet access: both WIFI and CAT5 Cabled, 40” flat screen LED TV with DSTV bouquet and of course a complimentary tea and coffee making facility. Labadi Beach Hotel has the state of art conference facilities with a maximum seating capacity of 600 people banquet style and serene garden space for your weddings, parties and corporate events. Foodies have the luxury of our 24 hours a la carte Lounge Bar, the al Fresco Terrace bar overlooking the swimming pool, the Lagoon Bar on the preserved cultural and spiritual Lagoon of the La Traditional People, as well as the Akwaaba Buffet Restaurant. Labadi Beach Hotel continues to be the host for Kings, Queens as well as Presidents, Business and Leisure community. We stand for quality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Labadi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Labadi Beach Accra
Hotel Labadi Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing