We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Safe, clean and friendly"”
Review of Labadi Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Labadi Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Certificate of Excellence
Jordan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"Safe, clean and friendly"”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I are experienced travelers. We stayed in the Labadi Beach Hotel during October, a charming authentic hotel with all the comforts of home, including great Wifi. Our overall experience was very pleasant and relaxing. We stayed in the Royal Suite, which comprises of a bedroom, a sitting room with the best tea selection and a great coffee machine, two bathrooms, two large LCD TVs, a veranda overlooking the pool area, altogether very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is a large buffet style, with everything you'd like to eat, including Ghanaian delights. Local families arrive at weekends to enjoy the delicious food, making a family atmosphere. The chef makes his food very tasty. Dinner service is also good with a large buffet, the plantains are very good, or ala carte service. The staff are friendly and welcoming, which is hard to find these days in the larger chain hotels. The pool area is very pleasant with grass and trees, and good pool service. The Hotel is almost situated on a public beach but the Labadi has blocked off it's own area with Palm trees etc. so you can enjoy your privacy, service is also good here. The security is excellent, no need to worry about over zealous local vendors here. At the same time you can see and sample the local entertainment. A walk up the large white sandy beach is a must, with it's cafés and restaurants. There's a continuous party atmosphere with locals selling their wares. In general, I felt very safe and the Ghanaians are lovely people, good humoured and fun. Would recommend this hotel and hope we can return there sometime.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mags340Jordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, House Manager at Labadi Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are indeed grateful for selecting Labadi Beach Hotel as your choice Hotel in Accra.

Your feedback is much appreciated. We look forward to your next visit to give you our usual warm "Akwaaba".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    244
    61
    20
    6
See reviews for
76
86
43
325
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have been staying here for business and pleasure for over 20 years. Great food ! An African buffet to die for Ask to try their fried plantain/kelewele. Spotless well laid out rooms Those in the annexe make up in size what they loose a bit in atmosphere.This hotel is where HM The Queen stayed on her most recent state visit.The service is attentive courteous warm but never obsequious .Ghanians are a hospitable but proud people The design uses local wood and stone Everything about this place is authentic..Beach access with service on the beach is superb and safe.Pool and hotel ringed by palms and tropical gardens. Spa and gym pretty rudimentary.The beach and pool are what its all about here.Good fast wifi and Cable TV.None of the above comes cheap and its never easy to get a booking.This despite increasing competition remains the place to stay in Accra but its certainly worth it.

Room Tip: None will disappoint but I prefer an upper floor room or suite and for size the Annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akyemman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, House Manager at Labadi Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your continuous patronage of Labadi Beach Hotel.

We do appreciate the time taken to give us feedback. This will spur us on to continue to improve and to deliver quality service at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have stayed in hotels all over the world and never felt compelled to write a review, but LaBadi Beach Hotel stands alone in terms of its cleanliness and beauty. In every way you feel you are staying in an authentic and luxurious African hotel. These qualities alone would prompt me to recommend it to friends, but it is the kindness and dedication of the waiters, housekeepers, business center workers, and reception staff that sets this hotel above the rest. Our waiter Daniel has become a friend in just a short time. He was willing to answer endless questions and make recommendations when asked. His professionalism and thoughtfulness are a true reflection of the superb quality of everything about this hotel. This is a beautiful spot for families, business travelers and honeymooners.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely and convenient, but the suites are especially nice for families and try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbattaglino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time in the hotel after traveling extensive thru all Africa during the lat 9 years. The hotel is amazing for business, pleasure or both. Their breakfast is the best in the continent and I am comparing it with the Westcliff and 12 Apostle in SA. The internet is fast and the facilities are modern and well kept. They are expanding so I can not wait to come back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank rwurbina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Indeed, it's a beautiful and warm hospitality hotel in Accra. Great rooms, spacious, very clean and comfortable. It might be bit overpriced, but it's worth it. The breakfast buffet it's great way to start your morning. The hotel has a decent WiFi all around the property and works fine. This hotel is located on beach, and it's great to do your morning run by the beach. Unfortunately, the gym and spa area were being renovated, but I'd definitely come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madey00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is perhaps my favourite hotel in Accra, but the room prices like all hotel room prices in Accra, is overpriced, so I treat myself to a few days here, as Labadi beach is very good and you get a good feel for Ghana here, with local restaurants on the beach.
However the hotel food is also very good and that is reasonably priced, and the breakfast is excellent.
The rooms are very good and staff some of the best you will find in Ghana.

Room Tip: All rooms are god
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Almost my tenth visit yet I still enjoyed my stay at LABADI. Generally friendly staff, pleasant setting and spacious professionally done and clean rooms. Laundry service is good and fast enough to my liking. However the management should invest in iron boxes and boards for all rooms. Having to call the concierge for these items is somehow annoying considering you might want to just iron 1 shirt quickly and dash out.
Overall its an awesome place to stay and I''ll definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you enjoy a walk on the beach, do it early morning or late in the evening to avoid being bothered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, House Manager at Labadi Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your continuous patronage of Labadi Beach Hotel. Your feedback is well appreciated.

Your suggestion regarding irons and boards has been noted. I wish to assure you of management commitment to improving the standards and to deliver quality service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Labadi Beach Hotel, where a warm "Akwaaba" awaits you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
4.5 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
4.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
0.4 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 92 in Accra
208 reviews
4.7 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
3.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Labadi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Labadi Beach Hotel

Property: Labadi Beach Hotel
Address: 1 Labadi By-Pass | Labadi Beach Hotel, Trade Fair, Accra 70200, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Accra
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Accra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Accra
#2 Business Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Labadi Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Labadi Beach Hotel, Ghana’s Premier 5* Hotel is set amidst tropical landscaped gardens and in close proximity of 10 minutes drive to the Kotoka International Airport and 15 minutes drive to the Central Business District. The hotel is located adjacent to Ghana’s most popular La Pleasure Beach and boasts of a well maintained private beach with 24 hours security surveillance offering colorful cocktails and bites as you watch the sun set. Labadi Beach Hotel is set to meet the demands of both Leisure and Business traveler’s alike; offering a modern Spa with four treatment rooms in the serene ambiance of the beach gardens, a well-equipped gymnasium, an outdoor lap pool as well as a leisure pool, two flood lit tennis courts and an outdoor running space within its expanse gardens filled with coconut trees. With 164 well-appointed rooms and seven room types including 2 Presidential suites, room size ranging from 30m² to 126m² to choose from, be certain to be pampered, well rested and totally taken care of as you enjoy a combination of Opulence and Elegance in a classy en-suite bathroom with separate shower, toilet and bathtub, a bidet, bathrobe and slippers, shaver point, hair dryer, direct dialing telephone services, fully stocked mini-bar, free high speed internet access: both WIFI and CAT5 Cabled, 40” flat screen LED TV with DSTV bouquet and of course a complimentary tea and coffee making facility. Labadi Beach Hotel has the state of art conference facilities with a maximum seating capacity of 600 people banquet style and serene garden space for your weddings, parties and corporate events. Foodies have the luxury of our 24 hours a la carte Lounge Bar, the al Fresco Terrace bar overlooking the swimming pool, the Lagoon Bar on the preserved cultural and spiritual Lagoon of the La Traditional People, as well as the Akwaaba Buffet Restaurant. Labadi Beach Hotel continues to be the host for Kings, Queens as well as Presidents, Business and Leisure community. We stand for quality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Labadi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Labadi Beach Accra
Hotel Labadi Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing