We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, safe & nice restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Labadi Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Labadi Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 95 Hotels in Accra
Certificate of Excellence
A Blue State, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendly, safe & nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2008

I stayed for five nights, glad that I was here and not at a nearby (larger) hotel. The staff was friendly and professional. My room was plain but large and clean. I felt more secure here than elsewhere because the hotel had an attentive security staff.

The restaurant had an ample buffet for each meal. For one dinner I ordered a curry entree which was very good. The outdoor bar and dining area looked inviting, but recent rains meant that mosquitoes were a problem. The pool and grounds were well-maintained.

I would return to this property again, although it is located away from the main part of the city. HINT: Give yourself plenty of extra time to get to the airport during rush hour! It took me nearly an hour by shuttle bus at 3:30 on a weekday afternoon.

  • Liked — Good security.
  • Disliked — Carpeting was moldy.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MsBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    222
    60
    18
    5
See reviews for
66
80
41
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2008

I travel quite a bit throughout West Africa and this is probably the nicest hotel I've been to in this part of the world. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the cleanliness and quality of the rooms was outstanding. Everything worked properly and the room had all the amenities one would expect in Europe or the U.S. - even a phone in the bathroom! We had requested a non-smoking room in a quiet location at the time we made the reservation, and this was exactly what we got. My expectations were exceeded.

  • Liked — the quality and comfort of the room
  • Disliked — mosquito coil smoke at the bar
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MNhomegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2007

stayed with my daughters for a weekend break while volunteering in the country. We felt very safe and the staff was lovely. the rooms were a bit small and worn for the price. very expensive meals. pool area is pretty as is interior of hotel lobby. outside hotel beach area not recommended as it is packed with hawkers and locals - dangerous area. security does anexcellent job of keeping guests safe as long as you stay on the property grounds.

  • Liked — pool and landscaping
  • Disliked — worn small rooms
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank momofthreepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2007

We really did not like this place. I was visiting my son, who is doing study abroad at the University of Ghana, and I was nervous about coming, so tried to book the most comfortable place I could find. Check in was EXTREMELY unfriendly and they would not even acknowledge our presence at the desk. Room, which was $230 per night, was MOLDY and the carpet filthy. Also the hall and room really stunk. I asked if this was the nicest room and it seemed like they had no idea what I was talking about. Pool is set before a series of lagoons which are shallow stagnant water, and seemed like the perfect place for breeding mosquitos. Beach behind a fence, but it was a very dirty beach and I would not consider swimming there. We had to wait 5 hours to check in (we arrived early, around 10:30) and we sat and had lunch outside -- flies everywhere, covering our glasses of coke. Surly service. Couldn't wait to check out of this place. Tiny tv, inconveniently situated, I hated it here. We checked out and went to the Golden Tulip, then found our favorite, the La Palm, next door. Night and day experience.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank MomfromUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2006

Stayed at the Labadi Beach Hotel for a week for the total solar eclipse in March 2006.
Hotel set in lovely grounds
A large lagoon was situated in the grounds and was surrounded by amazing and colourful birds - no trouble with mosquitoes but it was the dry season.No trouble with smells either.
Room OK , a bit scuffed around the edges but clean, quiet and pleasent with a balcony overlooking the gardens.
Food good - breakfast very nice with fresh fruit. Buffet dinner OK, had better meals in the bar of the hotel especially the fish and chips.
Service good, staff appear a little aloof and disinterested but very helpful and friendly as they get to know you.
The hotel may be 5 star but it is Ghanaian 5 star so you have to expect things to be a little different than European or American 5 star hotels. We had great time, would definently go back to stay there again - and the solar eclipse was amazing!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2006

I stayed at Labadi Beach Hotel with my husband and my six year old daughter for two weeks over Xmas. We pre-booked a double room with an extra bed and recieved a twin bedded room. We were reluctantly shown a double room which was tiny and there was no way that an extra bed could have been fitted in, so we stayed put and my daughter slept on the sofa. The room was decorated circa 1970 and the fixtures and fittings were literally falling apart! We reported the items not working or damaged to Reception on 2 occassions but nothing was repaired while we were there. There were 3 lamps in the room, only one of which worked, and the wiring was nothing short of dangerous. The bathroom was shoddy and in need of a complete refit. Paint was peeling off the doors and walls and there was dust everywhere. The screen door to the balcony fell off and in the end my husband fixed it. The TV reception was shocking and once again this was down to the socket connection which was hanging out of the wall. Despite these problems we put it down to being in Africa and told ourselves not to expect too much! Besides we were visiting family and did not expect to spend too much time in the room.

Breakfast was excellent, with a fabulous variety of food, but there it ends I'm afraid. Dinner in the Akwaaba restaurant was a buffet style of dishes (none of them labelled), and the staff didnt seem to know or care what they were. At approximately £50 for three of us we felt it was overpriced, especially as my six year old only ate 3 spoonfuls of rice and a bread roll, and when I asked for some cheese for her the staff were not altogether happy. They still charged us full price for her meal. Hence we only ate there once! There is no childrens menu on offer at all and the room service and terrace bar menus, although slightly cheaper are extremely limited.
The pool and staff who manned it were very nice - pool got a bit dirty towards the end of the day though. We found most of the staff to be helpful and pleasant enough, but there were one or two members of the reception staff and cocktail bar staff who were downright rude.

Mosquitos - thousands of them - due to a stinking, stagnant lagoon smack bang in the middle of the beautiful tropical gardens. Although we saw the staff spray the lagoon with a chemical once during our stay, there really was not much they could do about it. We got bitten on a regular basis and could not use our balcony for the majority of our stay even though the housekeeping staff were brilliant at spraying the rooms and the balcony areas. I must say that the Housekeeping staff were the most pleasant and hard working members of staff in the hotel!!

There was no entertainment to speak of in the hotel apart from a piano player and we did not venture into the hotel much in the evenings for this reason. However, on Xmas eve we asked at Reception for details of anything happening over the Xmas period in the hotel and they told us that they were holding a special Xmas lunch and dinner but that they were fully booked and therefore we would not be able to participate. The only solution they offered us was to get food from the restaurant and eat it in Reception. It seems that the hotel were expecting a lot of customers for Xmas meals from outside the hotel as they had advertised in the local paper. Needless to say we were a bit put out to think that residents had not been told to pre-book, as you assume that if you are staying in an hotel you should be able to use the facilities during your stay.
Also during our stay, the Hotel hosted a fabulous wedding reception at poolside, which went on all day until approx 11pm. Great you would think, except that residents were not told that on that day they could not use the pool, and it was extremely difficult to access the beach unless you wanted to walk throught the middle of the wedding reception. The evening reception was horrendous with a live band and a disco which was extremely loud, and meant that my daughter could not sleep until the party finished. We tried to contact Reception but they had taken the phones off the hook.
I strongly suspect that the hotel get fantastic revenue from private bookings but I also think that they should think about repeat business and they paying guests, as they do not look after their residents very well at all. Again we put these things down to staying in Africa and lack of training etc., but I then found out that the General Manager is English - so really should know better!!

The beach was fantastic and this is the hotels biggest selling point. We found it remarkably clean considering the amount of people who use it and the bars and restaurants very cheap. Watch out for the traders and dont spend any more than one or two pounds on jewellery - they will try it on but do expect you to haggle! Look out for Eric selling jewellery and carvings - he is the cheapest on the beach, and an all round good guy.

All in all a bit of a mixed bag, but as this was our first visit as a family we have put it down to experience!

Can't wait to visit Ghana again - but will not be staying at Labadi Beach.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2005

Labadi Beach Hotel is situated on the beach, with an access gate which is patrolled. The Hotel is charming with excellent staff, most of which have worked there for several years. The rooms are elegant and spacious. The best rooms are Lakeside near the pool.
The food is excellent but could offer more variation.
We found that Labadi is used by mainly business people. There is very little to do in the evenings if you remain in the Hotel. Entertainment Wednesday evening and Sunday lunchtime. The hotel requires updating, but i would happily stay in this charming Hotel again. Sadly the beach is very dirty. The sea is awash with poly bags. There is a very strong under tow also. Beware.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
4.5 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
4.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
4.3 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#4 of 95 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
4.6 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
4.5 mi away
Oak Plaza Hotel East Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Labadi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Labadi Beach Hotel

Property: Labadi Beach Hotel
Address: 1 Labadi By-Pass | Labadi Beach Hotel, Trade Fair, Accra 70200, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Accra
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Accra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Accra
#2 Business Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Labadi Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Labadi Beach Hotel, Ghana’s Premier 5* Hotel is set amidst tropical landscaped gardens and in close proximity of 10 minutes drive to the Kotoka International Airport and 15 minutes drive to the Central Business District. The hotel is located adjacent to Ghana’s most popular La Pleasure Beach and boasts of a well maintained private beach with 24 hours security surveillance offering colorful cocktails and bites as you watch the sun set. Labadi Beach Hotel is set to meet the demands of both Leisure and Business traveler’s alike; offering a modern Spa with four treatment rooms in the serene ambiance of the beach gardens, a well-equipped gymnasium, an outdoor lap pool as well as a leisure pool, two flood lit tennis courts and an outdoor running space within its expanse gardens filled with coconut trees. With 164 well-appointed rooms and seven room types including 2 Presidential suites, room size ranging from 30m² to 126m² to choose from, be certain to be pampered, well rested and totally taken care of as you enjoy a combination of Opulence and Elegance in a classy en-suite bathroom with separate shower, toilet and bathtub, a bidet, bathrobe and slippers, shaver point, hair dryer, direct dialing telephone services, fully stocked mini-bar, free high speed internet access: both WIFI and CAT5 Cabled, 40” flat screen LED TV with DSTV bouquet and of course a complimentary tea and coffee making facility. Labadi Beach Hotel has the state of art conference facilities with a maximum seating capacity of 600 people banquet style and serene garden space for your weddings, parties and corporate events. Foodies have the luxury of our 24 hours a la carte Lounge Bar, the al Fresco Terrace bar overlooking the swimming pool, the Lagoon Bar on the preserved cultural and spiritual Lagoon of the La Traditional People, as well as the Akwaaba Buffet Restaurant. Labadi Beach Hotel continues to be the host for Kings, Queens as well as Presidents, Business and Leisure community. We stand for quality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Labadi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Labadi Beach Accra
Hotel Labadi Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing