We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Labadi Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Labadi Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 93 Hotels in Accra
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I've read other reviews claiming this might be the best hotel in West Africa. I haven't been to all the hotels in West Africa, but this one is the best I've seen in these parts by far. The employees are EXTREMELY well-trained and professional. There's nothing like the feeling of someone remembering your name, and several of the team members remembered mine.

The rooms are spacious, spotless and modern. I stayed in the new building, which was worth the extra money. AC works very well and everything was in working order.

The food was awesome and reasonably priced for a hotel of this caliber.

The Labadi Beach Hotel must be pretty good for Accra because it seems THE place to be for getting business done. Every day, I saw business people having informal meetings in the lobby, working on their computers over a meal, etc.

Great vibe - good place. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor of the new building, away form the road. Top floor so people can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveryCountryBy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    240
    61
    20
    5
See reviews for
74
86
43
319
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

If you aren't interested in "roughing it" and are willing to pay more than the local price, this is a relaxing and high class place. Beautiful hotel and pool on the beach with nice meeting areas and excellent dinner facilities (buffet) and private dinning area for large groups. Try the kelewele for a bar snack (not like what you get on the street), but definitely delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhodesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Hotel is listed as 5 star and would be if the level of service in the restaurants and bars was up to scratch.............all other staff are very good..........the rooms are excellent and the beach is I believe the best in Accra, and you have the option of going to eat at numerous local restaurants on the beach..............the hotel food is ok, but I suggest you visit the local restaurants for lunch..........has a great pool.............and soon will have a new fitness centre (which I currently is not great) and spa..........is perhaps a little over-priced, but Accra hotels are expensive..........

Room Tip: get room away from pool area can be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I did not receive morning wake up calls, neither did my room keys work.

Rooms are very expensive, the furniture has not been renewed in the last few years.

Populated with air crews and US military, the hotel resembles a cheap tourist location.

Not for honeymoon couples.

Room Tip: Large new wing rooms with few amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyBud1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

....RATHER 3 STAR........

As last visit, they forgot to wake us up in the morning!

The same staff for many years, laid back....average services rendered.

Great Porters/Bell Boys though.

Food tastes average...nothing to be crazy about.

Over Prized rooms at over $300.00 per night in the new wing.

Very clean public toilets.

Room Tip: Do not book in the old Wing....depressing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonWolfeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I had a bad experience in Accra at the La Villa Boutique hotel and then decided to move to Labadi Beach. This place was quite opposite to the La Villa experience. This was more like a five star where service was high priority.

Rooms and amenities - The rooms of the hotel were great and spacious. They were well maintained and the best part was the spacious bathroom. I managed to get an upgrade as the standard rooms were full. The pool and open areas of the hotel are beautiful and well maintained.

Food - The bar near the front desk is quite a nice place to spend and evening but the service here is very bad. You can sit there for more than 30 minutes and be rest assured that you will not be server or noticed. The breakfast buffet was alright.

Location - The hotel is located along side the Labadi beach. The private beach that the hotel claims to own is a very small patch of sand that does not lead all the way to the water. But looking at the crowd on the beach it is still a relief to have a place to sit and enjoy a drink.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiyushKedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed at the Labadi Beach hotel for a mission in July 2013. The Labadi Beach Hotel currently is a construction site due to their expansion of a conference center and spa. Hence what you see on the website's pictures does not all come true. There are high fences close to the pool and to access path leading to the beach. The beach itself is crowded with neighboring beach shacks and local pubs. Not surprising nobody from the hotel guests is there.

Loud music from the beach or the hotel's own beach parties woke me up at 9am (which due to my jet lag was at 3am) and kept me awake last night until 11pm - not a place you want to be for business travel. Did not find a single quiet place to work in the entire hotel.

The room itself was clean and large. I stayed in one of the lake view rooms that supposedly had been renovated recently. Good quality mattress and duvet. Not enough space for hanging suits and the desks lacks a electricity plug for your laptop so you will have to plug it in on the other side of the room ... or move the desk and unplug the fridge ...

Room service and staff in general are excellent and very helpful! Breakfast is o.k. and more or less geared towards the US -traveller's taste, i.e. heavy and not very healthy - even though there are fruits available.

In summary, quite o.k., but not really a place where you want to be as a business traveller.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldtravellerFromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
4.5 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
4.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
0.4 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 93 in Accra
203 reviews
4.7 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
0.0 mi away
Pemicsa Hotel
Pemicsa Hotel
#37 of 93 in Accra
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Labadi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Labadi Beach Hotel

Property: Labadi Beach Hotel
Address: 1 Labadi By-Pass | Labadi Beach Hotel, Trade Fair, Accra 70200, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Accra
#1 Spa Hotel in Accra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Accra
#2 Business Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Labadi Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Labadi Beach Hotel, Ghana’s Premier 5* Hotel is set amidst tropical landscaped gardens and in close proximity of 10 minutes drive to the Kotoka International Airport and 15 minutes drive to the Central Business District. The hotel is located adjacent to Ghana’s most popular La Pleasure Beach and boasts of a well maintained private beach with 24 hours security surveillance offering colorful cocktails and bites as you watch the sun set. Labadi Beach Hotel is set to meet the demands of both Leisure and Business traveler’s alike; offering a modern Spa with four treatment rooms in the serene ambiance of the beach gardens, a well-equipped gymnasium, an outdoor lap pool as well as a leisure pool, two flood lit tennis courts and an outdoor running space within its expanse gardens filled with coconut trees. With 164 well-appointed rooms and seven room types including 2 Presidential suites, room size ranging from 30m² to 126m² to choose from, be certain to be pampered, well rested and totally taken care of as you enjoy a combination of Opulence and Elegance in a classy en-suite bathroom with separate shower, toilet and bathtub, a bidet, bathrobe and slippers, shaver point, hair dryer, direct dialing telephone services, fully stocked mini-bar, free high speed internet access: both WIFI and CAT5 Cabled, 40” flat screen LED TV with DSTV bouquet and of course a complimentary tea and coffee making facility. Labadi Beach Hotel has the state of art conference facilities with a maximum seating capacity of 600 people banquet style and serene garden space for your weddings, parties and corporate events. Foodies have the luxury of our 24 hours a la carte Lounge Bar, the al Fresco Terrace bar overlooking the swimming pool, the Lagoon Bar on the preserved cultural and spiritual Lagoon of the La Traditional People, as well as the Akwaaba Buffet Restaurant. Labadi Beach Hotel continues to be the host for Kings, Queens as well as Presidents, Business and Leisure community. We stand for quality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Labadi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Labadi Beach Accra
Hotel Labadi Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing