We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel of taste and excellence”
Review of Labadi Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Labadi Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Certificate of Excellence
Warri, Nigeria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Classy hotel of taste and excellence”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I visited Labadi beach hotel recently with my family and we were amazed at the reception offered ( a sparkling glass of champagne) which was very soothing as well as refreshing. The rooms we checked into were very clean, spacious and extra bed provided for additional comfort. The bathrooms were not only clean but sparkling. Location of the hotel is a well thought-out design of hotel environment and the lawns were always kept neat. We enjoyed swimmimg in the main pool inaddition to cool bath at the water fountain section. Relaxing at the private beach was wonderful with cool breeze even with the sun up. The staffs are very friendly and always full of smiles. The food is superb in terms varieties and taste. Laundry is good too, though expensive. What I like best in this hotel is the quiet and serene environment. Maybe this is why the hotel is the choice of many country leaders. I have recommended this hotel to my friends already if they plan to visit Ghana anytime

Room Tip: Room on the east side are free from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruggon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    237
    61
    20
    5
See reviews for
74
86
42
315
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winterton, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Accessible, great location, private beach and excellent food combined with fast efficient service and good value!! General Manager, Chief Chef and Managers present and hands on..! Food is served on the deck outside, in the bar and restaurant, all immaculate with quick service.Standard of food world class!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I visited Labadie Beach Hotel on many days during my business trip to enjoy their beach club. It is directly on Labadie Beach - a quiet oasis amid busy crowded public Labadie Beach. Day pass is US$20 and worth it - includes beach and pool access, beach towels and access to their good restaurant and bar. I recommend their Long Island Iced Tea & Chicken Schnitzel with potato salad - yummy). The hotel is lovely - beautiful lobby, lots of open lounge areas - very posh, many dignataries have stayed here. I'd recommend it - although it is very expensive.

Room Tip: I did not stay here (very expensive), I bought a day pass for their beach facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlossam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Labadi Beach won't let you down: glass of sparkling wine on arrival, cold face flannels by the pool, amazing breakfast buffet, big rooms, giant bathrooms, all very clean and the service was good. Beyond the excellent breakfast, the food is like anything you'd get in a chain hotel like a Hilton around the world. I.e. Nothing to complain about but nothing to shout about either.

BUT...this hotel is incredibly expensive and it is not 5*, more 4* I'd say. It just doesn't have the special touches that make you think you're getting $300 a night's worth. If you spent that amount in Dubai or Thailand you'd get something very special. This is a problem with West Africa in general, hotels are very over-priced because most people are here on business, and they're not paying, the hotel get away with it. For instance: the health spa was unstaffed and all treatments weren't available, the hairdresser was a disaster, they can't take you to the airport outside normal working hours, some of the rooms face a car park.

If you're not paying or you have the money then stay here because I understand it is the best in Accra and I can believe it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wahala-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I have traveled to Accra on business before and could not get into the hotel I had been using. Instead, I stayed at the Labadi beach Hotel. What a pleasant surprise! Yes, it is elegant, and has hosted royalty and other world leaders. But, the staff is warm and pleasant to all guests. The breakfast was great, even for this fussy old American lady. The pool and grounds are beautiful. The restaurant has a very good buffet for dinner. The housekeeping staff is very good, and the front desk clerks were ever helpful and gracious.
As mentioned in other reviews, African hotels tend to have different standards (or perhaps priorities?) than Europe or the US, but the Labadi not only satisfies the Western guest,it also introduces the warm friendliness of African culture. This is now my favorite hotel in Ghana.

Room Tip: Request a room in the new section if possible. It is further from the activity near the main areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groovy-Grammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

All was pefect: the welcome, the room, the restaurant and the pool bar service, the pool, the beach at the atlantic ocean (golf of Guineé), the fitness room, very well equiped, sauna, bar and all the service. It was a very good stay at Labadi Beach

Room Tip: Mine was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingLion007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Labadi Beach Hotel has a great access to the Labadi Beach even though the beach itself is not that amazing. At least, one can lay out comfortably on the beach and order something to drink. I enjoyed its pool area, which is beautifully landscaped. The hotel also has a great bar where one can order alcoholic drinks, juices, and entree meals. Though Labadi Beach Hotel may be one of the top hotels in Accra, its man-made "river" or stream (may look picturesque) seemed to attract a lot of mosquitoes, which made me very nervous.

The hotel has its own "cab/taxi/car" service that you can use; but you will be paying a bit more than getting a taxi outside of the hotel gate. These "cabs/taxis/cars" look like any normal car without the taxi sign and can be booked for the day at a fixed rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madame E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
4.5 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
4.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
0.4 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 92 in Accra
200 reviews
4.7 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
0.0 mi away
Pemicsa Hotel
Pemicsa Hotel
#37 of 92 in Accra
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Labadi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Labadi Beach Hotel

Property: Labadi Beach Hotel
Address: 1 Labadi By-Pass | Labadi Beach Hotel, Trade Fair, Accra 70200, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Accra
#1 Spa Hotel in Accra
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Accra
#2 Business Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Labadi Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Labadi Beach Hotel, Ghana’s Premier 5* Hotel is set amidst tropical landscaped gardens and in close proximity of 10 minutes drive to the Kotoka International Airport and 15 minutes drive to the Central Business District. The hotel is located adjacent to Ghana’s most popular La Pleasure Beach and boasts of a well maintained private beach with 24 hours security surveillance offering colorful cocktails and bites as you watch the sun set. Labadi Beach Hotel is set to meet the demands of both Leisure and Business traveler’s alike; offering a modern Spa with four treatment rooms in the serene ambiance of the beach gardens, a well-equipped gymnasium, an outdoor lap pool as well as a leisure pool, two flood lit tennis courts and an outdoor running space within its expanse gardens filled with coconut trees. With 164 well-appointed rooms and seven room types including 2 Presidential suites, room size ranging from 30m² to 126m² to choose from, be certain to be pampered, well rested and totally taken care of as you enjoy a combination of Opulence and Elegance in a classy en-suite bathroom with separate shower, toilet and bathtub, a bidet, bathrobe and slippers, shaver point, hair dryer, direct dialing telephone services, fully stocked mini-bar, free high speed internet access: both WIFI and CAT5 Cabled, 40” flat screen LED TV with DSTV bouquet and of course a complimentary tea and coffee making facility. Labadi Beach Hotel has the state of art conference facilities with a maximum seating capacity of 600 people banquet style and serene garden space for your weddings, parties and corporate events. Foodies have the luxury of our 24 hours a la carte Lounge Bar, the al Fresco Terrace bar overlooking the swimming pool, the Lagoon Bar on the preserved cultural and spiritual Lagoon of the La Traditional People, as well as the Akwaaba Buffet Restaurant. Labadi Beach Hotel continues to be the host for Kings, Queens as well as Presidents, Business and Leisure community. We stand for quality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Labadi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Labadi Beach Accra
Hotel Labadi Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing