We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful end to our trip”
Review of Labadi Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Labadi Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 90 Hotels in Accra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We had a lovely stay at this relaxing hotel, the ambience was civilized and elegant. We were thrilled by the decor of the bedroom with its black wood, African art on white walls and outstanding bathroom facilities. The display of art around the public areas made the hotel an interesting place and it didn't have a corporate effect more the appeal of an interesting independent establishment.

We enjoyed sitting by the pool under the trees by the lagoon where we seemed to take advantage of the sea breeze, the heat wasn't oppressive and we spent around five hours without feeling uncomfortable. It's a child friendly hotel and the pool was ideal for youngsters to play in.

Further to comments about food prices, we felt they were fair for the quality of the establishment and the portions were generous. The beef fillet was amazingly tender and hard to be bettered. Yes, it's expensive but worth the money.

Room Tip: Go for a room in building 3, better location, very new and great facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PoupouneLeighonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 651 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2012

Building 1 is closest to the lobby, bldg 2 is further and a bit older, and bldg 3 is the farthest but much newer with an elevator. Bldg 1,2 , two storey, stairs only.

Nice pool in tropical setting. Beach has nice sand, wide, horseback riding and frequent vendors. Water not so attractive. Wed nights and sometimes weekend there's a live reggae band and beer avail. There's a small fee to enter the area , approx $2. Lovely breeze and starry nights while relaxing to the beats.
Hotel room is modern and comfortable beds. Water sometimes creeps out from under shower on tiled fIoor.Once my room had a slight odor but it was b/c the a/c was out and only fan was blowing. Most of the time it's fine.
Also they spray for mosquitos everytime they clean room, another reason some people sense a slight smell. Keep them out, don't open balcony door in evening.
- Internet avail in room and lobby. Can be a bit slow sometimes.

Food -very tasty and buffet avail at breakfast and dinner. Reasonable if you're from a big city.
Pianist in lobby at night while enjoying coktails or dinner in lobby bar.

Restaurant off site, in a village 20min cab is "Tant Marie" - Delicious grilled Tilapia. A covered open air style setting.

Gym- small, cardio equip, universal machine, tv, free-weights.

Attractions- Omanye House Museum, within 5min drive. Fantastic art work especially the Famous Abladye Glover art work (Ghanian). Unique display of (traditional) coffins, baskets, jewelley, fabric and furniture. Gift shop. Very peaceful next to seaside. Worth visiting.

Open Air Arts market, 15min drive approx 6-7cedis o/w. You can buy many things and get authentic African drums made. They'll carve whatever you'd like on it, if not it"ll be African symbols and design.

It's worth visiting the Slave Castles , The El Mina, Cape Coast, (make sure you have camera)3 hrs each way approx 150-200 cedis per car. 50 cedis up front for gas. I combined it with Crocodile farm where you can touch live crocs. You can have lunch here with good food and clean bathroom. Make sure your ride is in a comfortable car/van with a/c. Depart around 730am- 730pm. Many 7-eleven type places along the way- clean. This is a bit sad but very fascinating. Must See !!

Airport -approx 35min and you can exchange $$ in customs hall. ATM there too.
US citizens need visa and yellow fever shot.
Overall enjoyed it very much

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel numerous times and it is a very nice property. I definitely recommend this hotel to my friends. The front desk and wait staff are professional but not overbearing. Lobby bar and kitchen open 24/7. Breakfast buffet has excellent selection. The rooms are clean and modern and of ample size. There is a faint odor in most rooms that I can't describe, not offensive but not pleasant. Not sure if from mosquito repellant or mold due to humid environment. After a while you just get used to it. Some of shower stalls leak water from bottom seals resulting in very wet bathroom floor after each shower. Internet can be slow and inconsistent at times. The gym is small and could use remodeling and new equipment. Pool area is beautiful and relaxing except for when the wind blows foul stench of creek which is just a few meters from the pool area. If you plan on using local currency, cedi's, make sure to have enough with you. Front desk will exchange but often runs out of cash. You will get a better exchange rate at the Airport.

Room Tip: Building #3 is newer and rooms are bigger, also has elevator. On weekends there is more music noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tobjo282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with all the creature comforts of home and a very nice pool. Clean hotel. Staff is very accomodating and able to help you plan daily adventures and help set you up with drivers if you would like. Extensive breakfast buffet, all food is fairly expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wantmoretraveltime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel is not far from the airport, the staff are extremely accommodating on the whole and the rooms are a very high standard considering the location. Breakfast is great and plentiful, each day though it was a little hard to get tea/coffee or toast the waitresses had their favourite customers and tended to their needs. One day we didn't even get a cup of tea or toast despite asking several times over a 40minute period and we were not allowed to get our own. Only thing with the room is there was no net/blind so for privacy you had to have the curtains drawn at all times.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A330Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Good hotel, although a bit expensive for what it is. Rooms are new and clean, beds were big, good set up for working and very reliable internet access etc. Rooms nicely decorated, service is overall helpful. Breeze from the sea is good in the Accra humidity. Food is fine if a bit overpriced, as you would expect for a high end hotel anywhere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SafariKBFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I thought this was a great hotel! The staff helped me with my bulky, heavy luggage and there was a complimentary fruit basket and 2 single serving bottles of very good wine. The bed was super comfortable! The pool was nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful. My only gripe would be that the beer is expensive and there is a certain sewer smell behind the hotel. There is a private beach but when you go there, you are hassled by local sellers. Not only that, but the beach is pretty filthy. Maybe because it was off season. Overall, an excellent hotel and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigD81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
4.5 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
4.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
4.7 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 90 in Accra
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
3.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Labadi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Labadi Beach Hotel

Address: 1 Labadi By-Pass | Labadi Beach Hotel, Trade Fair, Accra 70200, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Accra
#2 Spa Hotel in Accra
#2 Business Hotel in Accra
#2 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range: $215 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Labadi Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Labadi Beach Hotel, Ghana’s Premier 5* Hotel is set amidst tropical landscaped gardens and in close proximity of 10 minutes drive to the Kotoka International Airport and 15 minutes drive to the Central Business District. The hotel is located adjacent to Ghana’s most popular La Pleasure Beach and boasts of a well maintained private beach with 24 hours security surveillance offering colorful cocktails and bites as you watch the sun set. Labadi Beach Hotel is set to meet the demands of both Leisure and Business traveler’s alike; offering a modern Spa with four treatment rooms in the serene ambiance of the beach gardens, a well-equipped gymnasium, an outdoor lap pool as well as a leisure pool, two flood lit tennis courts and an outdoor running space within its expanse gardens filled with coconut trees. With 164 well-appointed rooms and seven room types including 2 Presidential suites, room size ranging from 30m² to 126m² to choose from, be certain to be pampered, well rested and totally taken care of as you enjoy a combination of Opulence and Elegance in a classy en-suite bathroom with separate shower, toilet and bathtub, a bidet, bathrobe and slippers, shaver point, hair dryer, direct dialing telephone services, fully stocked mini-bar, free high speed internet access: both WIFI and CAT5 Cabled, 40” flat screen LED TV with DSTV bouquet and of course a complimentary tea and coffee making facility. Labadi Beach Hotel has the state of art conference facilities with a maximum seating capacity of 600 people banquet style and serene garden space for your weddings, parties and corporate events. Foodies have the luxury of our 24 hours a la carte Lounge Bar, the al Fresco Terrace bar overlooking the swimming pool, the Lagoon Bar on the preserved cultural and spiritual Lagoon of the La Traditional People, as well as the Akwaaba Buffet Restaurant. Labadi Beach Hotel continues to be the host for Kings, Queens as well as Presidents, Business and Leisure community. We stand for quality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Labadi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Labadi Beach Accra
Hotel Labadi Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing