We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in a busy city”
Review of Golden Tulip Accra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Tulip Accra
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Accra
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oasis in a busy city”
Reviewed November 29, 2006

This was our first stop in Ghana and our last on our way home. A great place for R&R - very family oriented and lots of services available. We booked a car and driver with Hertz in the lobby and that's the best way to get around the city. Our rooms were nice - I had one overlooking the pool which is very picturesque as long as you don't mind the entertainment that goes on until about 10 pm. I didn't. There are in-room safes and you can use the water to brush your teeth (well, I never drink tap water when I'm travelling just as a precautionary measure). Service is prompt and friendly - you might have to exercise a little patience at the front desk as they are usually busy. There is a business centre where you can check e-mail, etc., a very nice lounge for cold Star beers and some pub-type food and a decent restaurant that has special buffets most nights as well as an a la carte menu. The breakfast that is included with the cost of your room is very expansive with several hot dishes, lots of fruit and juices, several kinds of breads and pastries and custom made omelets (or however you want your eggs). The pool area is very popular but, even in the afternoon, we were able to secure enough lounges for the 3 of us with help from one of the staff. Be prepared to wait a good half hour for your food order but that's pretty common all over Ghana - don't sweat it. This is a lovely hotel and well worth every penny.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Reservations can be "iffy" here - make sure you have written confirmation. Reservations are made through a central number and often get messed up. Just be prepared for this.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsABit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    193
    153
    43
    41
See reviews for
28
25
36
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2006

Had a good 4 day stay at the Tulip in Accra. The staff were friendly and helpful, the buiness centre was well equipped and reliable, with hi-speed internet access and even wi-fi. The hotel is close to the airport but not so that there is disruption from the noise. Recommended fora straightforward stay in Accra.

Helpful?
3 Thank Gplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2006

I am currently on my 6th stay at this hotel, sitting around the pool and connected via wifi to the internet. I am surprised by some of the negative comments made in earlier reviews. This is indeed primily a businessman's hotel, with wifi in the bedrooms [chargeable, but at rates similar to Europe]. The large bar lounge and pool area mean that it is a very convenient place for clients to come to meet you. In any case, the traffic is not too bad in Accra and you can get to most places within 20 minutes.

The food is pretty good and it is quite easy, and safe, to take a local taxi to one of the restaurant areas about 10 minutes away. There is a mobile phone network store next door, so you can buy a local SIM card and make calls at a fraction of the hotel phone prices. There is a good supermarket and a fast food complex about 5 minutes walk away.

The rooms are fair sized by most people's standards. I'm sorry if one of your reviewers thought the rooms 'only as large as a standard Holiday Inn' - for Europeans, the rooms are a lot larger than you often get in 4 star hotels in European capitals.

The service is very good, and provided you take a polite attitude towards the staff, they are incredibly helpful. You can get a much better rate if you contact the hotel direct. For example, they do a $99 weekend rate. I usually stay for a week and pay the lower rate for the weekend. I pay $140 during the week. The best rate on the internet is $175.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HexhamDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2006

I just stayed with two colleagues, for 7 nights, at the Golden Tulip on a business trip. It was difficult to figure out where to stay in Accra with the information I could find on the internet. It's not a bad place. The location is as good as any we saw around town and close to the airport. We were warned that downtown hotel areas were dangerous for walking around at night.

The rooms and bathrooms at the Golden Tulip are small for the price (I had an executive room for $215 with breakfast and it was comparable to a standard Holiday Inn room in the states) and the air conditioning was not cool enough. When I spoke to a maintenance worker about it he said that some rooms were just not as cool as others. When I tried to change rooms, I was told more than once that the hotel was full and that no other rooms were available. They made no attempt to contact me about a change though I went to the desk a couple of times about it. In fact, the front desk staff was generally not very friendly.

The breakfast buffet was very good, eggs and waffles made to order and the usual fruit, cereal and bread choices. It was nice to eat outside, overlooking the pool, even though it was very hot and humid, even early in the morning. The pool bar and restaurant were good but the service very slow. There was a buffet each night and, although it was more expensive than ordering from the menu, it was a much quicker choice. The lighter menu around the pool bar was good and we ate there at least half the nights. It's true that there are no other restaurants within walking distance but we were very tired at night and it was fine to stay put. One thing that bothered me was that there was often a man sitting on a chair, near the hallway to the rooms, trying to get me to stop and look at what he had to sell in his backpack. Obviously he was not associated with the hotel, yet he was allowed to sit there and approach guests on their way to their rooms. And when one of my friends went out to buy water after dinner, he said that he was approached by two prostitutes just off the hotel property. So be aware that there are people everywhere trying to sell you things you may or may not want.

As far as payment, the hotel did take AMEX but I could not find a single ATM in Accra that took anything but VISA so if you don't have a VISA card and expect to get cash, you will be in trouble. I finally got a Barclay's to give me cash on a MasterCard Money Account for a terrible exchange rate plus commission. In fact, it was impossible to get a decent exchange rate for dollars anywhere but at the Forex shops around town, which were definitely better than the hotel or the banks. Also, the hotel tried to charge me a higher rate than what we had been quoted and it was only because I had a fax confirmation from them that I was able to have the price lowered to the original rate. And at the Shell station convenience store where we bought water and snacks, next door to the hotel, the price changed every day. So be aware of prices and look closely at your bill.

I attended a conference at the Royal Palm Hotel and it was definitely nicer than the Golden Tulip but felt more like a vacation hotel than a business hotel. The pool area is lovely and the restaurant was nice but the beach is blocked off by a barbed wire fence and strewn with trash. There are also guard towers on the corners of the property which gave me a creepy feeling. However, I will probably stay there next time I go to Accra.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank FMBSouthender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 1, 2006

Nice enough hotel, clean, well maintained, not particularly suited for tourists and leisure travel due to the location. They have a good business center with paid wireless Internet access available throughout the hotel. Avoid using hotel phones as they charge very high rates, use prepaid phone cards available locally on the hotel phones. Small market next to a bus stop and a covenience store/gas station with reasonable prices next door. Restaurant is good. For a taxi go to the bus stop, many standing by there and the fare will be much less than one obtained at the hotel door. The doormen have lots of information about the area if you ask.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 5, 2005

This hotel has a virtual monopoly on the business traveller, so they seem to take it for granted that the 85% occupancy rates and European-level prices will continue. With such bad service, characterless rooms and misrepresentation of offerings, I hope another hotel will soon come along that takes them down a peg or two.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Accra hotels

Skelmersdale UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2005

On Business, not vacation, which must apply to 95% of vistors staying here, the Hotel public areas Bar, Restaurant and pool area very presentable and very cool in the hot, humid climate, small Gym Ok. On the swimming Pool - would have liked to see the pool filters seeing more action as water during evening swim was quite a bit murky.
Also don't wait until your hungry or thirtsy to order, service is painfully slow even with an abundance of waiters/waitresses (well GMT here means
Ghanian maybe time...!!) Food though reasonably priced and edible, room standard comfortable and typical of this chain. Although my non smoking room still had a smell of the local small, strong "cigars" even with 2 air freshner sprays a day from houskeeping.
Evening entertainment quite varied, some interesting sights and delights for sure in and around the hotel....!!

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaskells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.6 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 93 in Accra
594 reviews
3.1 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
1.8 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
3.4 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Tang Palace Hotel
Tang Palace Hotel
#4 of 93 in Accra
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Accra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Accra

Property: Golden Tulip Accra
Address: Liberation Road, Accra 16033, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Accra 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a safe and quiet suburb of Accra, the hotel is only 5 minutes (2km) drive from the airport and 10 minutes drive to the city centre and business district. A free airport shuttle bus is available for the convenience of guests. The hotel with its African style has a lovely ambience and is delightfully landscaped over spacious grounds. Special culinary themed cuisine and events provide guests with variety and lively entertainment. Whether for business or leisure, Golden Tulip Accra is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, HRS, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Tulip Accra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Accra Hotel Accra
Accra Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing