We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible...”
Review of Golden Tulip Accra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Tulip Accra
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Accra
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Terrible...”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks as part of a larger party and had a 2-bed chalet for our family of 5. We encountered so many problems during our stay, that we lost count... A/c didn't work in bedroom (most days), lights not working in bathroom, frequently left with too few towels for 5 people, curtains falling off the rails, hot water and water completely running out after one shower (this happened three times)! The list goes on. The food was average and the service was extremely slow and generally pretty poor and no one really seemed to care. The egg station at breakfast time was so poorly managed that there was generally a queue of irate guests waiting 10-20 minutes for their food...but managers/staff really did not seem to care, despite numerous complaints. It cost a small fortune to stay here and really did not offer value for money in any way. We would definitely not return to this hotel and would certainly not recommend it to anyone...

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SADA66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Sada66,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your comments which helps us know your concerns in order to improve our services

We sincerely apologize for our inability to meet your expectations. We have taken note of the concerns you raised and are seriously having them addressed through training and the enforcement of our Standard Operating Procedures.

We value your patronage and assure you of a pleasurable stay on your next visit to our hotel.

Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused and look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra


Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    193
    153
    43
    40
See reviews for
28
25
36
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed in one of the cottages set back from the pool area and could not have been happier. Excellent accommodation - quiet, clean and extremely well appointed. Food in the main restaurant, a buffet, was always good and the bar service was attentive. I would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCCMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear JCCM,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We very much appreciate your positive comments.

Our aim is to provide excellent care and complete satisfaction to our guests and we are very pleased that you had a pleasurable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I can say this is one of the best hotels to stay in Ghana. I was incidentally there when the room rates were on an offer price. It is an excellent for short business trips. Hotel staffs were well trained and courteous. This is quest close to airport and makes it convenient for short trips to commute to airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rangaslakshmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Rangas,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We very much appreciate your positive comments which, encourages us to offer our best.

We are pleased our services and facilities exceeded your expectations and you had a pleasurable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Nothing positive to say about this hotel. Check in process is unpleasant and slow. Rooms are basic, grubby, dated with exposed wires and lots of plastic furniture. Wi-fi is intermittent and very, very slow. Food struggles to match up with the menu description and breakfast is dreadful. Processed juices are far from fresh, everything is over salted and poorly cooked. Overall, the check in experience sets the tone for this overpriced and low end hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Johnmjm133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear John,

We appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel, which enable us know your needs to better serve you.

We apologise for not meeting your expectations and have taken note of your concerns. Providing our guests with excellent care and complete satisfaction is our aim.

For your information, our new menus will be in place at the end of this month.

We value your patronage and assure you of a pleasurable experience on your next visit to our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Accra hotels

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for a two night layover in Accra on business, and was a pleasant stop considering I had just come from a rather dirty visit in Mali.

Shuttle was on time and the driver was helpful (free from airport). Upon arrival, staff at the front desk were polite, but not overly friendly.

Hotel was clean, and room was very nice considering where else I have stayed in the region. Pool was busy and there was live entertainment to sit and relax to during the evening while having a beer. Even the food was good.

The reasons I did not give this hotel 4 stars are (but it is close):

1.) Was hassled to much in hallways to buy trinkets off of people.
2.) Price (from the cost of room to added extras, like food.The breakfast buffet was way to much for a morning meal.
3.) Service was average, not worth 4 stars

This is a 3 star hotel, wrapped in a 4 star jacket.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Ryan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences during your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your comments which help us identify your needs in order for us to better serve you.

We have noted your concerns and have addressed them. We are happy you loved our live band music at the poolside and our rooms. We offer an elaborate full American Buffet breakfast to give our varied guests a wide range of choices.

Our aim is to provide excellent care and complete satisfaction to our guests.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you again.


With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I regularly stay in Golden tulip Accra and every time I really enjoy my stay. It's clean, attentive staff, ambiance, great breakfast and a very good variety on both luncheon an dinner buffet.
Continue like this and you will certainly survive the competition !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We appreciate very much your positive comments and are pleased to have given you a pleasurable experience during your stay with us.

It is our aim to provide excellent care for our guests and we intend to continue doing so to keep you coming back.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Golden Tulip Accra


Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon's Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Chek in was a very efficient and the staff helpful, room was clean and tidy aircon worked fine as did everything in the room. There is a large swimming pool and if you feel up to it tennis courts, the hotel will even find you someone to play against. Breakfast is the traditional buffet style with the compulsory Egg station where you can eggs done anyway you like, plenty of cold meats and cheeses, even an abundance of fruit for those of you like me are avoiding middle age spread. The negative area surrounds the restaurant, starting with the very tatty menu I was given the whole dining experience never recovered from here, service is atrocious bordering on non existent, I actually walked out without being questioned or probably even noticed. Hopefully the team will get this aspect right, and they will then have a little gem.

Room Tip: Stayed twice now both rooms I stayed in were identical straight of the Ghanaian equivalent of an ike...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Bryt,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are pleased you were satisfied with our facilities and food.

We have taken note of the concerns you raised and are addressing them. For your information, we are changing our restaurant menu and will have a new extensive menu in place by the end of October, 2013. Our restaurant service staff are also being re-oriented to be pro-active and more responsive to customers.

We assure you that you will have a pleasurable dining experience on your next visit to our hotel.

We look forward to accommodating you again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.6 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 93 in Accra
592 reviews
3.1 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
1.8 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
3.4 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Accra Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Accra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Accra

Property: Golden Tulip Accra
Address: Liberation Road, Accra 16033, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Accra 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a safe and quiet suburb of Accra, the hotel is only 5 minutes (2km) drive from the airport and 10 minutes drive to the city centre and business district. A free airport shuttle bus is available for the convenience of guests. The hotel with its African style has a lovely ambience and is delightfully landscaped over spacious grounds. Special culinary themed cuisine and events provide guests with variety and lively entertainment. Whether for business or leisure, Golden Tulip Accra is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Golden Tulip Accra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Accra Hotel Accra
Accra Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing