We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wasn't disappointed, just expected more.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Tulip Accra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Tulip Accra
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wasn't disappointed, just expected more.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

After having tried the Holiday Inn and Labadi Beach hotel in Accra on past visits, I was keen to see other alternatives. The Golden Tulip is the obvious choice as it is locally known as one of the biggest and best hotels in the city.

Room:
Comfortable, clean and well equipped.

Restaurant:
Breakfast - Potential is there but the egg station is just no good.
Lunch / Dinner - Much better. Tastes from around the world. Pork Chops were really good!

Amenities:
Shops - Great for a hotel
Gym and sports - Best in Accra

Entertainment:
Night music - You are in West Africa, don't go in with expectations of West Europe or USA style music. Which is a shame as Ghanaian Jazz is not my thing!

You are only 15 mins

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the chalets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goviegovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, May 6, 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We assure you the points which fell below your expectations have all been addressed.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    185
    146
    42
    40
See reviews for
26
23
34
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was my third stay at The Golden Tulip and still the only place I will stay in Accra. Everything I need is right in the hotel. I can change money, get a manicure and even get some work done in the lounge. Sitting poolside at night with the live music is romantic and relaxing. Each time I go to Accra I get a wonderful driver from the hotel who makes my excursions so easy. This was the first time I traveled alone to Africa and staying at The Golden Tulip made my trip easy. Well, as easy as possible. Having stayed at many other hotels in Accra I know this is the best place to stay with a nice African feel but everything this American needs.

Room Tip: I love the room with a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrienneArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, May 6, 2015
Dear Sir/Madam,

We very much appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. We are happy you had a pleasurable stay.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

It's very good hotel & it quiet hotel in the Accra airport way
- Good rooms area and form
- the rooms are some thing expensive
- Some thing near from Kumasi airport
- The breakfast & lunch are very good
- The internet connection is not good in the room are located in the central rooms corridor
- The rooms are in front of the the pool has a nice view best from the rooms in front of the tennis yard
- The landscape is verygood

Room Tip: The rooms are in front of the the pool starting from third floor are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed-Abo-Auf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, May 6, 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel.

We appreciate your positive comments about our facilities and services and action was taken to improve the internet connectivity in the few rooms that had the problem.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is my 4th Stay in this hotel. Prior to this I have stayed in many hotels in Accra which i do not wish to name here. But the Golden Tulip Accra is one of the best. It has the luxury of the vast open area for a walk or jogging in the morning. The health club, tennis court and the pool are real good for a health conscious person. At the same time, the restaurants and the bar is also of top class. It has a good decent Casino as well attached to it who wishes to go and spend some or earn some if good at it. What more it is ideally located on liberation road and very close to the CBD and the Airport.

Room Tip: Rooms behind the Tennis Court and adjacent to the Pool are cool. The Sunday brunches are real good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VibinPr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, May 6, 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are delighted you loved our facilities and services and enjoyed your stay with us.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Located close to the Accra International Airport and in the main business center of Accra, there is no reason why not to stay here.
I have stayed there on numerous occasions in the past and hopefully I will stay there many more times.
The rooms are lovely, always very clean and with almost all the ‘Bells & Whistle’s” one expect from a good hotel – a Good solid bed with clean linen, A/C, Free Wi-Fi, Save deposit box, Mini freezer and a Coffee/tea tray. Negatives – Very poor, if not pathetic TV program selection and reception as well as my favorite gripe - carpets in the bedrooms!!!
The bathrooms, which include a bath/shower combination, washbasin and toilet, are in very good condition and very clean with all the necessary toiletries. Hot water is also not an issue here, it's always available.
The dining room is well positioned next to the pool and the furniture and cutlery is in very good condition.
Breakfast is “way-out”. If you enjoy a good breakfast, try this one! I do a lot of travelling and enjoy good food and take my word, the fresh fruit, yogurt and bacon is exceptional. Occasionally they have a ginger/fruit mix drink which also makes me go for 2nd’s 3rd’s and 4th’s.
Dinner is also very good but maybe a bit expensive for what you get.
I believe there is an in-house gym on the premises, there is a very nice pub to relax, they do cater for conferences, there is a business center and they do have a few shops which include a beauty parlor.
Great Hotel and little reason not to stay there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacob312613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, May 6, 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your detailed feedback on our hotel.

We appreciate your positive comments, and the areas of concern you indicated have been improved.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The food and restaurant service is good, handy location and plenty of places to sit and meet. However it's pricey for the level of service. This is my second and last visit because of that. At check in there were three desks open, the lady at the first looked shocked when I asked to check in and directed me to the third,where the guy spent more time on the phone than attending to me, eventually I got my room which was OK, but the shaving mirror was dusty and old soap was left in the shower tray. I waited for help in the business centre for a long time and in the cafe had to go and ask for service. Sorry guys you're just not good enough for $ 260 a night!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, May 6, 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel.

We regret we were unable to meet your expectations. Action has been taken to improve on the areas of concern.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanmore
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I must say here that I have not actually stayed here, this review is a reflection of meetings. The food is good for a lunch meeting, we mostly took a table by the pool which added a nice backdrop (especially as Emerates use the place if you get my drift).

As a Brit I tried the all day breakfast, if you take my recommendation have the sausage and not the bacon and make sure the beans are hot. First time round I asked for bacon as well as sausage (you choose either) and the beans had to go back - picky? perhaps but in Ghana beans go on salad, cold, not on all day breakfasts, hot.

You get the usual thing here of the waiting staff only remember the last instruction so if you order food and drink for a party of more than 3 then you will wait ages and ages, there will be errors on the orders where the drinks are not as ordered. If you have tea, ask for 'fresh' milk otherwise you get carnation and be prepared for everything to come at different times, slowly.

As I say, nice pool though

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rover901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, May 6, 2015
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your feedback on our hotel and service delivery at our Food & Beverage outlets have been improved with regular on-the-job training.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.6 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
3.1 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
1.8 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Accra Airport
3.4 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 92 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Accra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Accra

Property: Golden Tulip Accra
Address: Liberation Road, Accra 16033, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Accra 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a safe and quiet suburb of Accra, the hotel is only 5 minutes (2km) drive from the airport and 10 minutes drive to the city centre and business district. A free airport shuttle bus is available for the convenience of guests. The hotel with its African style has a lovely ambience and is delightfully landscaped over spacious grounds. Special culinary themed cuisine and events provide guests with variety and lively entertainment. Whether for business or leisure, Golden Tulip Accra is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Accra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Accra Hotel Accra
Accra Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing