We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappionting”
Review of Golden Tulip Accra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Tulip Accra
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed at the Tulip on business , the week of the 17 th to 21st of June. Lets start with the good. Breakfasts where ok. Food presentation was good and food was fresh . The location of hotel is right by the airport, so great when you have the late flight out of Accra.

Unfortunately my room 187, was horrible. The aircon never worked. I reported this everyday of the week with no progress. The TV couldnt pickup many channels. Very bad reception on most channels. My mini bar fridge was also not working properly. Also reported it , but with no action.

Nothing worse than to get to a hotel room after a long , hot day to find a crap aircon, faulty minibar and TV that you can't see bugger all on.

Not good enough at the price

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princeMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2015

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

We assure you that our facilities have been totally refurbished and you can now enjoy all the comforts of a modern hotel room.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Golden Tulip Accra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 506 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

I would call it an avarage business hotel. Nothing special too mention except the friendliness of the staff throughout the hotel. The hotel is close to the airport so you dont have to deal woth the Accra traffic upon arrival or departure.

Rooms are clean, food is good, fast wifi is available throughout the hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank Sascha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2015

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The accommodation was nice, but way way too expensive, Sydney prices. Food good, service good, but why would you visit Accra or Ghana. Spend you money and go somewhere else. It's hot hot hot, and not very pretty, run down infrastructure.
Just don't bother, the city is a dump. Now Madagascar, that's different.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2015

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We appreciate your comments.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

An excellent hotel unless you get one of the "last minute rooms". I have been a few times and mostly have had an excellent stay. Restaurant and bar is excellent. Pool is very very good. Service is competent and friendly. Some of the rooms held for last minute bookings are average and most are above average.

Room Tip: try not to get a ground floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2015

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your lovely comments about our hotel. We are delighted you had an excellent stay.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Golden Tulip is locared near the airport and offers a free shuttle bus service. Although certain parts need some refurb, the hotel does offer nice rooms and a beautiful pool terrace area. The food is really good for Accra. Both the lunch and evening buffet are extensive and nice priced. Prices are generally very high as is the case with 5-star hotels in Accrs. I would however stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_VG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2015

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We very much appreciate your positive comments.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel is situated close to the airport and a free shuttle is on offer. We stayed in the Golden Tulip for 2 nights while we hosted a function. The hotel is well staffed with excellent service all round. The rooms were a nice size and clean. Wifi worked well in the room. The pool area is great and has live music most nights. The breakfast buffet was extensive, all the meals we had were good. I have no problem returning to this hotel

Room Tip: Don't get a room overlooking the pool. The band only plays till 10pm but might be too late if y...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2015

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We very much appreciate your lovely comments.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Hotel is very tired, badly maintained...room : Dirty, smelly, filthy carpet in the room (110) and gives you dirty bare feet just walking on it, already used room slipper with hair in them, smelly bedsheets...wifi is total hell...service in the bar and lounge is very casual and unprofessional, with idle staff chatting away from patrons...and the room is almost 300USD a night...a total shame and ripoff. Avoid with a big A.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Steph2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value the opinions of our guests, which helps us know your concerns in order to better serve you.

We sincerely apologize for our inability to meet your expectations. We have seriously addressed the issues you raised, which is not our usual standards, in order to forestall a recurrence.

We value your patronage and would like to regain your trust if you will afford us the opportunity to give you a pleasurable experience on your next visit to our hotel.

Once again, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused and look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.6 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
612 reviews
3.1 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
3.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
3.4 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Accra Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Accra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Accra

Address: Liberation Road, Accra 16033, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range: $198 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Accra 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a safe and quiet suburb of Accra, the hotel is only 5 minutes (2km) drive from the airport and 10 minutes drive to the city centre and business district. A free airport shuttle bus is available for the convenience of guests. The hotel with its African style has a lovely ambience and is delightfully landscaped over spacious grounds. Special culinary themed cuisine and events provide guests with variety and lively entertainment. Whether for business or leisure, Golden Tulip Accra is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Tulip Accra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Accra Hotel Accra
Accra Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing