We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at Accra, Ghana” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Tulip Accra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Tulip Accra
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Accra
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxury at Accra, Ghana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

If you are looking for a luxury living in Accra near the Airport, I trust Golden Tulip should be your first choice. Excellent rooms, great service and a big restaurant in the basement. The stay would be pleasant and they have quite a few conference halls for any business meetings.The only negative that I could think off is that there is no thermostat control for the Air-con in the room (only speed adjustment) and these air-cons were a bit noisy.

Whats more!! I could watcch IPL#6 live in local TV channel...wow.!

Room Tip: If travelling as a couple / family, Insist on a King / Queen Size bed during reservations, there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArunKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, May 7, 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your ‘wow’ comments about our hotel. We are delighted you had a pleasurable experience.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    183
    143
    42
    38
See reviews for
25
22
33
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

was there 2 weeks ago, and must say that it was not up to my expectations.
the rooms are ok, the bed is even good, but the price is like in many African hotels way too much for what it is.
like the tub in the bathroom, I think it's even too small for a child to lie down in..

as for the food, the breakfast was ok..

the food (lunch/dinner) was certainly not bad, but not too much choice.

so far everything ok, except for the small tub.

But the big problems are:

the attitude of the waiters and waitresses at the poolside.
before they come and take your order, you might be dehydrated..
they see you, but it's like they see just through you..
you really have to make them clear that you want to order a drink, and then it will still take 10 to 15 mins before you get it. even for 1 beer it can take this long..
the white wine was never chilled properly, so they just put ice in your glass..

also room service took so much time, unbelievable..
or you order something, they say it might not be available, and they have to check.. they say they're going to let you know something, but of course they don't..

and the live band that plays every evening keep on playing the same songs, so very boring in the end..

can't say I enjoyed my stay..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bramme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, May 7, 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations.

We assure you that action has been taken to improve service delivery in all areas of the hotel with regular on-the-job training of staff, which is ongoing.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
168 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Was invited to a cocktail last week, while in Accra, at the Golden Tulip Hotel. Never liked it, in '89 the only hotel was the Shangri la ( NOthing to do with teh REAL chain of hotels from Asia) in Accra, then came the Golden Tulip. That was for years then the only hotel with international standards in Accra, luckily a lot has changed. The cocktail was upstairs on the verandah. This is a nice venue, outside. That night there was no breeze, and to much noise from another function, held in the garden, where as usual in Ghana all was too loud. But that loudness you just do not expect in a hotel with international guests. There were 4 ceiling fans, but only one worked and the staff that passsed with the bitings only brought sandwiched and pased so quick that they walked out again with full plates ( I think they were hungry!). As the host usually does things well, I was surprised, but then it appeared : at the entrance we were supposed to be handed a Welcome glass : was not done, then the food was there as I saw at the end, when most people had gone, they finally camewith full platters spring rolls, fish fingers, meatballs, and many other small toasts and bitings, a pity most peopel had left without having a chance to taste them, as they all came virtually After the party. Soft drinks were also availabnle, but of course no soda water, and that is just a glimps of how far this hotel has crumbled down, that they are not even capable of handling a decent cocktail party any more. what a shame they have a relatively central location.

Room Tip: new wings as far as possible from he terrible noise around the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, May 7, 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback. We regret we were unable to meet your expectations.

We assure you that action has been taken to improve service delivery in all areas of the hotel with regular on-the-job training of staff, which is ongoing.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Accra hotels

Chigwell
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I stood at reception for ten minutes before I was actually acknowledged. Hilda is the rudest receptionist I have ever met. There was no greeting, no eye contact and no smile. The girl at the cashier desk told me that the Marina Mall was 100m up the road, no it's not! I asked her what they sold and she told me she didn't know, basic info people! There was music playing from somewhere outside until 4am, the drum beat kept me awake all night - avoid this hotel...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, May 7, 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback hotel. We apologize for the attitude of our receptionist which is not our standard. Measures are in place to ensure all staff adhere to our standard operating procedures.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for three nights. For EUR280 per night I expected much more, I believe the hotel is overpriced for the service and rooms offered. The bathrooms are extremely dates but the rooms nice. Service can be improved. What I really enjoyed about this hotel was the pool and the live evening entertainment. After long days in Accra I looked forward to this part of the trip. I probably will stay at the Movenpick my next trip

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, May 7, 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We regret we were unable to exceed your expectations. We assure you that action has been taken to enhance service delivery in all areas of the hotel.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Arrived at airport without hotel booking helpful guy at the airport hotels desk pointed out that Golden Tulip was significantly cheaper than alternatives. Hotel shuttle worked fine and check in was pleasant and very helpful. Staff were very welcoming and delightful to deal with. Room was a bit tired but clean and tidy and WIFI worked fine.

Like all hotels in Accra it is expensive for what you get. The hotel is close to airport but some way from the business area. Would not be my first choice for long stay but fine for a last minute one night stay.

Restaurant was good and not expensive.

Overall a pleasant stay given a very early start next day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenWTelfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, May 7, 2015
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your feedback on our hotel.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Golden Tulip is close to the airport and worlds apart from the busy street of Accra. Outside you've got the real Africa, inside an resort-like hotel for the European/American crowd. Pool area is nice, rooms are clean and spacious, reception's a little bit on the sluggish side. I'd recommend the hotel in general, but having paid 240 USD/night I'm not in the mood to do so - because that was way too much for what was on offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jurijuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, May 7, 2015
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your feedback on our hotel which helps us improve in order to offer value to our guests.

Thank you.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.6 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 95 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
3.1 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
1.8 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Accra Airport
1.1 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#4 of 95 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Accra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Accra

Property: Golden Tulip Accra
Address: Liberation Road, Accra 16033, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Accra 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a safe and quiet suburb of Accra, the hotel is only 5 minutes (2km) drive from the airport and 10 minutes drive to the city centre and business district. A free airport shuttle bus is available for the convenience of guests. The hotel with its African style has a lovely ambience and is delightfully landscaped over spacious grounds. Special culinary themed cuisine and events provide guests with variety and lively entertainment. Whether for business or leisure, Golden Tulip Accra is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Golden Tulip Accra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Accra Hotel Accra
Accra Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing