We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but overpriced”
Review of Golden Tulip Accra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip Accra
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok, but overpriced”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Golden Tulip is close to the airport and worlds apart from the busy street of Accra. Outside you've got the real Africa, inside an resort-like hotel for the European/American crowd. Pool area is nice, rooms are clean and spacious, reception's a little bit on the sluggish side. I'd recommend the hotel in general, but having paid 240 USD/night I'm not in the mood to do so - because that was way too much for what was on offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jurijuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, May 7, 2015
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your feedback on our hotel which helps us improve in order to offer value to our guests.

Thank you.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    190
    153
    42
    40
See reviews for
26
25
35
349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel, I stayed here for about 9 nights. Rooms are spacious and luxurious, not to leave out CLEAN and hygienic. A varied breakfast buffet and great menu with european as well as local dishes. Food can be ordered 24/7. Staff is very welcoming and helpful. Great sporting and wellness facilities, such as a gym, tennis court and the lovely swimming pool. The hotel has charisma and style. Excellent location as well, since its situated at 5 mins from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lass83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, May 7, 2015
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your feedback and your recommendation of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

a really friendly place but you have to allow time for things to happen. great choices for breakfast and the rooms are spacious and airy. they just have to improve the wifi and internet. it was intermittent and kept fading out in the rooms. location near the airport is very good. music every night at the poolside but not so loud it was disruptive.

Room Tip: go for the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonWelshboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, May 11, 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We are pleased with your positive comments about our rooms and food. We assure that action is being taken to upgrade our Wifi system to enhance speed.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed here awhile back and forgot to review it. I didn't have a bad experience, but I didn't have a great experience. If you're from the US this is like a Hampton Inn or Marriott Courtyard. I always tell my American friends that when you visit Accra you have to change you expectations.

Note: Good hotel to use when traveling to and from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rad79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, May 12, 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We assure you improvements have been ongoing to meet guests’ expectations.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Convenient for Airport, spacious, rooms clean and comfortable and well serviced. Large bar/dining area serving good food at breakfast and dinner. Staff were great, friendly and always very welcoming. Door keys/cards did struggle both on the rooms and the security access to the bedroom block - keep room cards away from mobiles I believe. Not cheap at $300 B&B on a Corporate rate however if accepting that this is the going rate for hotels in Accra then this isn't bad value.

Room Tip: Room 027 is on the lower floor (lift indicates floor 1 - minor confusion) - quiet and comfortable, l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, May 12, 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and will share your positive comments with all our staff.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Convenient location along Liberation Road means that it is minutes from the airport and Osu and Cantonment area. The hotel is large with full service like a gym and pool. Gerat location for business meeting. F&B option are great especially the breakfast buffet. Can try out some of the local dishes without hesitation. Great jazz pianist playing at the coffee house and at night has some cool highlife music playing at the pool. Has a great business centre..important for business needs. Internet connection are stable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sza1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, May 12, 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are happy you had a pleasurable stay and very much appreciate your positive comments.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My review is in relation to a visit to the Hotel restaurant on Friday 16th November for lunch. Service was slow, we had to in the end call a waiter to take our order, even though there was about 4 of them standing around chatting in the buffet section of the restaurant. I ordered an avocado salad but waiter returned to inform me no avocado. I chose a greek salad instead.

I cannot fault the taste of the salad, it was quite delicious. However by evening I was suffering stomach cramps and to put it as delicately as possible was a frequent visitor to our toilet at intervals of 10 minutes throughout the night. Today, Monday 19th November, I still have pains and I am still unable to eat. As I fly home to UK on holiday Wednesday I am more than a little anxious.

Whoever is overseeing your kitchen cleanliness needs to be reprimanded. I can only assume that my salad leaves were not properly washed in clean water.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Watchfuleye15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Accra hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.6 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
586 reviews
3.1 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
1.8 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Accra Airport
3.4 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Accra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Accra

Property: Golden Tulip Accra
Address: Liberation Road, Accra 16033, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Accra 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a safe and quiet suburb of Accra, the hotel is only 5 minutes (2km) drive from the airport and 10 minutes drive to the city centre and business district. A free airport shuttle bus is available for the convenience of guests. The hotel with its African style has a lovely ambience and is delightfully landscaped over spacious grounds. Special culinary themed cuisine and events provide guests with variety and lively entertainment. Whether for business or leisure, Golden Tulip Accra is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Golden Tulip Accra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Accra Hotel Accra
Accra Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing