We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Novotel is just "lekker"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Accra City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Novotel Accra City Centre
Ranked #27 of 95 Hotels in Accra
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Novotel is just "lekker"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

On a recent trip to Accra, I stayed at the Novotel hotel in Accra. The staff were very friendly and helpful and you feel welcome from arrival to departure.
Breakfast is sufficient rather than exceptional, the bar provides ample comfortable seating and the swimming pool always looks inviting.
Centrally located, I HIGHLY recommend this to any business travellers or holiday makers exploring Accra on a budget.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank theCookieMonsterPta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    129
    148
    37
    37
See reviews for
11
19
49
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Novotel in Accra, a reasonable rate Hotel, the rooms are not big, but acceptable. We can notice that it´s not a fine art quality hotel since you can see missed paints here and there on walls etc...The pool and food are nice not state of the art but regular, and the price is very good for european standards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luisenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights on a business trip. Hotel is centrally located & decent one. Value for money as good hotels in this category are all above USD 350 per night. I did not have any advance booking as trip was planned on a short notice & got good rate. Overall comfortable hotel with a nice breakfast. Gym & pool is also decent. The property is a little old & needs renovation in some areas.

Room Tip: Pool side facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel only one time, 20 years ago, when it first opened, I was encouraged to stay due to low price, big mistake. Its clear than since I last stayed they have done no modernisation of substance, but this is minor. Checked in OK, reasonably pleasant receptionist, was in my room in 10 mins. Room dark and uninspiring, no hot water, waited 15 mins full pressure got luke warm, was assured it was because of the time of day, morning (730am) same, luke warm, bed sagged so much woke up 3am with back ache. Evening went to bar, waited an age to be served by staff who were only interested in chatting to each other, finally gave my order, no acknowledgement by the waiter, he just walked away. After 10 mins he came back, i asked him what was happening, in a condescending way told me he was off placing my order then he walked away again, Another 5 mins I asked about my drink, he said he was waiting for my food before he gave my the wine!! Breakfast was a mess too, no staff to see, tables dirty, had to get my coffee, then spoons then sugar, as table and those around me devoid of anything useful, finally waiter brought me coffee, nearly cold, dumped the pot on the table and walked off. When i called him he waved his hand without turning as if to say "i am to busy"!! Needless to say I will not return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johne999a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Accra hotels

Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Wake up this hotel is still in the dark ages, 34degree water filthy food prep areas, have a look where your omelette is made, disgusting. Try and find the sports bar, one tv in the corner, don't hold your breath for the live music, the "fitness centre" is just about enough to accommodate 2 hamsters! Plastic floor coverings, it's just like a grottyTravel Lodge. Cheaper places around, Fiesta Royale, Alisa Hotel, Golden Tulip and don't forget the night stalkers hanging around at the bar. I never criticise negatively the general staff, if they are miserable then senior management are at fault, not the workers, happy workers produce happy customers

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VRODPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

...so this one was chosen with my budjet and its location in mind. Rooms are tiny with windows sealed off from outside and a noisy aircon which made my stay miserable. Electic coffeemaker was available, but the staff kept forgetting to replace tea, coffee and sugar. Water could be warmer in the shower. Breakfast is dull. Staff is not very efficient. There is a pretty nice backyard with a small swimming pool and tennis courts. Both the local market, as well as art and crafts center are within a short walking distance. Do not smoke while walking, though, as this may provoke an angry reaction from the locals.

Room Tip: Even numbers face the swimming pool and odd ones done to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikhail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel has everything you would expect from a 3star Novotel brand. Clean rooms, efficient check in and check out. All amenities in the rooms.

However don't expect high class and personalized service here. During my 5 night stay I could not make out a single smile or friendly welcome from any of the staff members. Service is well below standards in the main restaurant with wrong orders taken (every single time!), quarreling staff in front of customers and no personalized service at all. At the same time a expat restaurant manager just flies in and out of the restaurant without addressing any issues or talking / welcoming guests. In the end I resulted to eating in my room, a much better option, except that even there the order was wrong... Really an opportunity to improve on staff friendliness and efficiency.

Breakfast buffet is nice but not as divers as one would expect in a Novotel. Pancakes and waffles are not served inside the restaurant but outside where the cook disappears for 5 to 15 min at a time.

The only smile I got was from reception when I checked out...Happy to see me go? lol

Room Tip: double, triple check your orders in the restaurant to avoid any issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
0.2 mi away
Accra City Hotel
Accra City Hotel
#18 of 95 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
1.1 mi away
Alisa Hotels North Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Accra
Golden Tulip Accra
#13 of 95 in Accra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tang Palace Hotel
Tang Palace Hotel
#5 of 95 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
4.9 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Accra City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Accra City Centre

Property: Novotel Accra City Centre
Address: Barnes Road | PO Box 12720, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Accra City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Accra City Centre is a 4 star hotel ideal for a holiday or business trip to Accra. 7 km from the airport and close to the conference centre and major banks, the hotel provides WiFi internet and six meeting rooms for business travellers. Guests on holiday in the Ghanaian capital will find the Makola Market, museums, theatre, golf and the beach all nearby. The hotel features a bar, restaurant, outdoor swimming pool, fitness centre, business centre, onsite parking and a tennis court. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Novotel Accra City Centre Hotel Accra
Accor Accra City Centre
Accra Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing