We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-Priced and Shady”
Review of LUXE Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
LUXE Suites
Ranked #42 of 262 Accra B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel seemed like it hasn't been updated since the 50's. it looks nothing like the online photos! The room was pretty clean and had running water, and a/c.
They took my credit card for a deposit but insisted on a cash payment. They offered breakfast but we were eager to hit the road. Over all it's ok for Ghana but there is probably nicer places for the price.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Psalm40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUXEGroupAccra, Owner at LUXE Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Hello,

Thank You for staying at LUXE Suites. I am surprised that you felt the rooms were represented incorrectly on the internet. All of the pictures were taken at our hotel and are exact photos of our Executive rooms. There are no pictures on the internet that are not real photos of our hotel and it is a disappointment to hear someone is claiming that. We have not misrepresented our hotel in anyway, and we firmly refute that claim. Our hotel is less than two years old so unless it is the style of the rooms that is causing you to compare it to the 1950's then I also disagree with that. I chose the design myself, as an owner under 30 years old, I am pretty sure that is untrue. All of our rooms have furniture less than 2 years old, and Flat Screen televisions. Our hotel is among the most competitively priced hotels in the Cantonments area, but I am sure you can find cheaper hotels in Accra, but not in our area. We Thank You again for staying with us and hope you enjoyed your stay in Ghana.

Coretta A. Owusu
Executive Director, LUXE Group
JD Candidate, University of Pennsylvania Law School '14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 27 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at LUXE suites for our very last night in Ghana, and it did not disappoint. After staying in budget hotels for the past month we were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and size of the room we got. We were also very happy to see that the room had air conditioning, hot water, and free wifi. Not only was the room great, but the staff was very helpful and friendly. They went above and beyond their duties, and were very accommodating. They allowed us a late checkout at no extra cost and also allowed us to keep our heavy luggage locked up while we spent the day in Accra waiting for our evening flight. We appreciated everything they did for us and would recommend this hotel to our friends and anyone staying in Accra.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whitney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed at Luxe Suites for a week during my stay in Accra, and I would definitely recommend this hotel as a wonderful place to stay. The rooms were beautiful and spacious and VERY clean. The service was excellent and the entire staff very accomodating. The complimentary breakfast every morning was also very good. The hotel itself is in a fairly quiet area, which was really nice, but it was also very easy to catch a cab from outside the hotel to get pretty much anywhere in a reasonable amount of time (airport, mall, city center, etc). The manager was also very kind and allowed us to stay in our room past the checkout time as I had a late flight out of Accra. I definitely plan to stay there again on all my future trips to Accra.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is the most awful hotel I've ever stayed. They gave the room, but did not mention they have construction of the building. So they give the rooms only on the first floor. First of all it seems that the walls are made from rice paper. Every sound is like in your room. For the double room they give only one breakfast, for the second person you must pay additional fee. First night we came back to the hotel quite late went to bed and suddenly found out that it's impossible to turn off the light, they gave us another room and we were to move all our belongings by ourselves, the duty reseptionist just looked at us and enjoyed the show. Second morning they began to drill the wall in our bathroom from outside. In the room there is no shampoo and soap. And all this you get "only " for 100$.

Room Tip: Do not stay there
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Nataly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

LUXE Suites is a first rate hotel and the best I have been to in all my time visiting Ghana. It will certainly be my hotel of choice going forward. Everyone there is courteous, kind, and respectful and I could not have had a better stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TemiOd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda O, Guest Relations Manager at LUXE Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Thank you Madam! We hope to see you again soon. We absolutely loved hosting you and your husband!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Luxe Suites and was what my vacation needed! A great hotel, friendly staff and a good restaurant. I am guaranteed to stay here during my next visit to Ghana.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrKamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I wanted to take a break from the stressful Accra scene so went for a couple of nights at Luxe Suites. The room was very lovely and very relaxing. It was nice to find a little bit of luxury for a decent price in Accra.

The service was great, the food lovely. The adjoining restaurant was also fantastic with a lovely variety of asian food.

All in all it was a relaxing and luxurious break. A wonderful place for people to go for a romantic break, or simply just a break.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yevuvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
2.5 mi away
Niagara Hotel
Niagara Hotel
#71 of 90 in Accra
61 reviews
0.7 mi away
Midindi Hotel
Midindi Hotel
#23 of 90 in Accra
65 reviews
3.4 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 90 in Accra
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Villa Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
0.0 mi away
Tribeca Hotel
Tribeca Hotel
#81 of 262 in Accra
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUXE Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUXE Suites

Address: 1 Switchback Lane, Accra 19103, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Accra
Price Range: $80 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LUXE Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LUXE suites is a full service hotel designed for business travelers – offering member organizations low fixed rates. We offer travelers a place to feel at home located in close proximity to major corporate offices, Embassies, Governmental, and Non-Governmental organizations. We offer several options from simple nightly stays to full room and board with chauffeur service. Our rates can NOT be beat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your LUXE Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing