We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm, peaceful & serene hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charleston Hotel Ghana
Ranked #4 of 251 Accra B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had traveled to Ghana for the trade fair and stayed at Charleston for 15 days. We are glad we made the right choice. Big spacious rooms, a beautiful swimming pool and great food at the restaurant. We tried a lot of different things on the menu and were not disappointed even once by the Chef, everything was so good.

The location of the hotel is perfect for you to unwind after a long tiring day. You can chill by the pool or just hang out in your room or one the many balconies. The hotel has an arrangement with the Tesano Sports Club which is right next to the hotel, where the guests can use the facilities of the Club at no extra cost.

The owners, Charles & Juliana take special personal care and are always ready to help.

I am definitely going to stay here on my next visit to Ghana.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rahuldua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Charleston Hotel Ghana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 70 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

This quiet peaceful place is the best kept secret in Accra. Run by owners Charles and Julie ,semi retired Ghanaian s from Texas (where folk are very friendly too). The area and surroundings are traffic free and very quiet. The hotel was built and designed by Charles with material meticulously chosen and imported from the USA.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Charles and Julie are on hand all day to tend to every need. The hotel is cleaned all day, every day and is spotless.
Security is great.
There is a lovely sports club (Tesano Sports Club) next door with a gym ,squash courts , badminton court ,4 tennis courts and a great pool for training laps and a very good restaurant that is open from 8 am till 10 pm daily and very well run and clean. lovely relaxing lawned pool area .
Use of facilities for hotel guests is free, the club is otherwise for members only .
The menu is however a little limited but on request a day in advance anything will be acquired and prepared . My second extended stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Charleston is a jewel of a property owned and operated by the gracious Julie and Charles. The rooms are large, the staff is friendly and the food is cooked to order and delicious. (Try the tilapia and banko. Great!) The staff was extremely attentive and the owners make you feel like a guest in their home, not a patron of a faceless hotel chain. Very hospitable. Located in the quiet Tesano area, the hotel encourages you to enjoy a drink by the pool or in Julie's Bar or work out at the sports club next door. Relaxation was the theme for me and my husband but I saw quite a few business travelers during my stay as well. I will return here every time I visit Accra.

Room Tip: The penthouse has a great sitting room and view of the city.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

A very nice hotel I found in Accra Charleston Hotel . The hotel has really nice, big and precious rooms with very nice beds and amenities . Hotel's restaurant and bar serves amazing and different cuisine of food and alcoholic and nonalcoholic drinks. They serve authentic Ghanian dishes and continental food. Although they can serve the food of your choice if you inform the chef. Chef in kitchen is really very good. Most important this Hotel is located just next to Tesano sport club (tennis, squash, badminton, gym).

Hotel's taxi service is also very fast and whenever you need taxi for you they can provide.
All staffs are very friendly, soft spoken and ready to serve you. Hotel also have 24*7 security, electricity back up, and wi fi internet facility.

Most important the place is very cool, no traffic, no violence, no noise pollution.

If you plan to visit Accra or Ghana , I think this is the best hotel for you and your family. You want to visit again again and again after your first visit.


I recommend the hotel to everybody who stays in Accra or want to visit Accra.

Room Tip: Go for executive rooms for you or if you are with family you should go for pent house or twin room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drkhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Charleston is a nice, small and well kept & managed hotel in a quiet, but still easy to reach, area of Accra. The prices are reasonable and they give you a good feelng of being welcome. It is located adjacent to a sportsclub with facilities that are unmatched in Accra, so you can work, relax and exercise in the same location. All in all a place to be recommended !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sander s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The owners, Julie and Charles, are the most hospitable and kind hosts. They went to great lengths to accommodate our ever need and made any arrangements we needed for our outings. The hotel itself was immaculately clean and the rooms were spacious. The bathrooms were always clean and the showers always had hot water and great water pressure. Whenever we returned to the hotel we were greeted by well-working, refreshing air conditioning. Julie and the chef provided wonderful, Ghanian meals and would modify any of our food requests. In addition to all of this, right outside, there is a lovely, relaxing, fresh pool perfect for escaping the heat. But nothing beats a cold Star beer or Crush soda while you sit outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eliza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The Charleston Hotel is simply lovely! Our family spent 4 days in Ghana to celebrate our daughter's high school graduation.
Miss Juliana and her staff were so very helpfull! Any issues with our rooms were resolved in a fast and courteous manner. Miss Juliana Konadu took care of setting up transportation to Cape Coast and Aburi, for us at a very fair price. All we had to do was show up! Our driver Samuel, was very pleasent and gracious. The restaraunt he recommended in Cape Coast was simply awesome!
The rooms were very comfortable, spacious and clean. I would recommend that they use something other than mothballs in the rooms as it leaves a very pungent smell in your clothing.
We only ate a full meal in the restaraunt on the last evening before our departure and it took quite some time to e served even though there was only 1 other tale being served. Due to the length of time it took I was not able to enjoy my meal because we had to hurry and get dressed to leave for the airport.
The hotel also provides transportation to the airport and breakfast every morning (an ammenity that is hard to find in Ghana).
I have stayed at another supposed 5 star hotel in Accra paid for by my company and i can honestly say the service at The Charleston Hotel not only matched but exceeded what they offered!
We will most definitely be staying at The Charleston again.

Room Tip: Room 308 is very large
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawnSTL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
7.2 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
615 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crown Apartamento Hotel
Crown Apartamento Hotel
#52 of 92 in Accra
28 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Accra Beach Hotel
4.1 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
5.2 mi away
Mahogany Lodge
Mahogany Lodge
#7 of 92 in Accra
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Hotel Ghana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Hotel Ghana

Address: 17 West Loop Tesano, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 251 B&Bs / Inns in Accra
Price Range: $107 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Hotel Ghana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the metropolis residential area of Tesano, Accra. With our 26 upscale guestrooms and suites, our boutique hotel will allow you to submerge into an oasis of tranquility and relaxation. Discover contemporary furnishings and a sleek yet sophisticated style, perfect for the leisure and business traveler. You'll appreciate our scenic environment! If your looking for your 'home away from home',Charleston Hotel should definitely be your accommodation of choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Charleston Hotel Ghana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing