We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Ghana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Villa Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Certificate of Excellence
American Canyon, California
1 review
“Best hotel in Ghana”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

La Villa Boutique is a Hotel to say seriously wow!!!!!! what a hotel i stayed at La Villa hotel it was wonderful the staffs are friendly, services excellent, management is flexible very open to all guest in the hotel i love that, the ambiance is good , location perfect close to airport , embassies.

Room Tip: room 102 , 103, 205, 106,201, 216 they nice rooms all their rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeuSander, Manager at La Villa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Jeremy N,

Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us here at La Villa, your comments are greatly appreciated.

We strive to ensure our guests feel as relaxed and as welcome as possible here at the hotel; I'm so pleased that your experience with us was a memorable one.

On behalf of the whole team here at La Villa we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in Accra.

Warmest regards,

Sander Neu
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    54
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
9
16
11
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Having lived, worked and travelled in Accra Ghana for over a year, I can say without a doubt that this is the BEST hotel for both business and pleasure. In the perfect location, accommodating staff, beautiful pool side restaurant and clean, spacious rooms---it is above and beyond anything one would expect! While both the Movenpick and Villa Monticello offer similar experiences, La Villa Boutique is far superior in its customer service, its staff and its location. 5 STARS!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeuSander, Manager at La Villa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Elizabeth R,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experiences from your stay at La Villa. Your feedback is much appreciated. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed our rooms and Soprano Restaurant and also found our location to be a convenient one. Osu is certainly a vibrant part of Accra, with many sights and sounds to offer!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the the hotel hopefully in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Sander Neu
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my 4th or 5th time staying at this hotel, and while I still think it offers the best value in Accra, I was again disappointed at the levels of customer service provided by its front desk staff, wait staff, and even management. Twice I asked for a hair dryer from the manager and front desk, and only after i went there personally and asked again was it procured. And the hair dryer was not in good working shape.
I stayed 2 nights at the beginning of my trip, and the room (111?) was nice and quiet. The shower water was consistently hot. But for the last night of my visit, I was in room 216, far inthe back behind the pool area. That may sound nice,as it's far from the central gathering point of most guests, but this room is on the edge of the hotel property and thus general street noise was a big problem that interrupted my sleep many times. Also, the shower, while spacious, never had consistent hot water. It literally would go from (nearly hot) to cool, to warm to cool and again and again..every 5-10 seconds. I informed the front desk after the first such experience and asked them to send someone to fix it. That never happened.

The food was good and usually served in a timely enough fashion.The waiters are friendly enough but they still lack some basic customer service skills..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeuSander, Manager at La Villa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear latinojeff,

Thank you for your review and feedback of your time with us at La Villa, your comments are much appreciated.

I'm sorry to hear that your room change resulted in an unsatisfactory end to your stay. We have now changed the thermostat in the bathroom, thank you for making us aware of this issue. I also apologise for the Front Desk's lack of efficiency when dealing with your requests. We strive to ensure that the needs of our guests are always adhered to, but clearly we failed in this area during your time with us.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your continued patronage of La Villa. This being your 5th time at the hotel means a great deal to us. We will endeavour to improve on our customer service so that your 6th stay with us will be one to remember.

Looking forward to welcoming you back and thank you again for your constructive comments.

Best regards,

Sander Neu
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had the opportunity to work in Accra and was given this hotel to stay in. Accommodation was clean and spacious. Staff where very attentive. Restaurant was more than adequate. Close to restaurants and shops. Would definitely recommend this to others looking for an upmarket well located hotel.
Room has power, internet (cable and wi-fi) and air-conditioning.
The hotel appears to be going through a significant refurbishment and so things should only get better.
Is everything perfect - No, but you are in West Africa! So I was willing to wait if something needed fixing. I did not mind that I could hear the generator, because that meant I had electricity when others did not.

Room Tip: Most rooms are well situated, although those that back onto pool and restaurant may get noise on Fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHW042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeuSander, Manager at La Villa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear SHW042,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

During your next stay if you need somewhere to conduct a meeting, you might be interested to know we now have a Conference Room situated on the terrace upstairs.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back to La Villa in the future.

Best regards,

Sander Neu
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I traveled to Accra for work and this was my first visit to this city. The hotel on the outset looked like a decent hotel, though not like regular ones as it is a boutique hotel. It is an embassy converted to a hotel and hence is quite unusual in terms of layout.

Service - The service was quite bad and the bed linens, towels, etc. were quite dirty and worn out.

Room - The room was comfortable apart from being a little noisy. The bathrooms were horrible as they are not air-conditioned and Accra can get really humid at times. Also the soap and shampoo dispensers were really dirty and are huge bottles that are refilled time and again.

Food - The service at the restaurant was decent and the food tasted quite good. The restaurant is the only good part of the entire hotel as it is by the pool and hence an evening with friends can be quite relaxing. The breakfast was quite bad including the breads they served.

Hotel amenities - The pool is hardly a pool and is more like a small pond. The rooms around the pool can be quite noisy due to constant influx of people to the restaurant. As mentioned earlier the restaurant is quite good.

Check-in and out - The check-out was an unpleasant experience and took almost 90 minutes to complete due to credit card machine failure, multiple charges not mentioned earlier were also charged in the last moment. This included credit card usage fee and some tourism tax. We had received clear rates from the hotel over e-mail as I was traveling on behalf of my company and we had written confirmation that the rates provided included all charges, but they would just not comply with that statement.

There are better options available in Accra. I moved to Labadi Beach Resort from this hotel and it was a great experience there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PiyushKedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeuSander, Manager at La Villa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear PiyushKedz,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Firstly, I must apologise for the inconveniences you encountered during your time with us. We strive to ensure our guests’ stays are relaxing and memorable. Clearly we were not able to deliver to our usual standards during your time at La Villa and for this we are truly sorry.

Regarding your experience of our bedding and towels; we are in the process of replenishing our current linens. Our house keeping team is rigorous when it comes to cleaning of the laundry and clearly we failed to deliver in this area during your stay with us.

I’m sorry your checkout experience was not a seamless one. We will certainly work to improve on the efficiency of card transactions on the front desk and make sure that all reservation confirmations clearly state the additional charges.

We would love to invite you back to La Villa and I would like to deal personally with your reservation. Please contact me directly, and I will be happy to ensure you are allocated one of our finest Suites.

Myself and my team look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and making your next La Villa experience a memorable one.

Best regards,

Sander Neu
CEO
s.neu@lavillaghana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I am a seasoned traveler over five continents, including Sub-Saharan Africa. I was on a business trip and the hotel had been booked by the organization I was working with, at the time. I must say that this hotel was a nice surprise. Rooms (not many) are well designed, comfortable and elegant, up to international standards for boutique hotels in all respects. Service was good. The restaurant is just OK though, and after a couple of dinners there I decided to go out and look for some more variety. On the overall this was a very enjoyable experience, and there are not that many true boutique hotels in Africa. Hopefully they will (or have already) put some more efforts on the food aspect of hospitality management and they will be "excellent".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patcane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I Booked the hotel through thier web-site.
They charged 10% of the total accommodation rate from my card. Then I stayed there for days.
When I checked out, they did not consider the initial payment that I have already paid.
They totally ignored my claim.
I have been contacting them but they have been totally igonoring.

Be careful. When you book the hotel through the web-site, something wrong might happen like I have already had.

To make the matter worse, they charge us the extra fee (2~3%, I do not remember) in case useing the cards (VISA/MASTER etc.).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gogospringboks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.1 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
586 reviews
1.6 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
2.9 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 92 in Accra
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
3.6 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
1.8 mi away
Mahogany Lodge
Mahogany Lodge
#9 of 92 in Accra
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Boutique Hotel

Property: La Villa Boutique Hotel
Address: N. F56/1 13th Lane Osu Ringway, Accra 6856, Ghana
Phone Number:
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Villa Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Boutique hotel is an oasis of calm in the hassle and bustling city of Osu,Accra and uniquely designed to suit the taste of the the business traveller and the romantic adventurer in search of a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your La Villa Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing