We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High-stress experience”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mensvic Palace Hotel
Ranked #97 of 225 Accra B&B and Inns
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High-stress experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We organized an international agriculture conference with 170 participants at Mensvic Palace Hotel in Sept 13. That was our first and also the last time to do so.
We were asked to make a down payment, wired USD 4500 and emailed and faxed the bank transfer confirmation to the Sales Manager. Four days later we were informed: sorry we have not received any money so your rooms have been given to another client. We finally managed to get 10 rooms back, but most participants were re-booked to other hotels. Keynote speakers arrived late at night, only to be informed that they had no room. Others were sent around between hotels, or were requested to change hotel in half-way through the conference. It was chaos. Mensvic then wanted us to settle bills for those other hotels through them -- at a marked-up rate.
Conference rooms were lacking both projectors and audio system 10 minutes prior to session start. Our conference secretariat was set up in their internet cafe, which was still open to others, yet we were charged. At one point our conference came to a halt because the sound systems received the sound from the conference next door.

There were several issues with the accounts as well. Mensvic then wanted to handle the bills for those who had stayed at other hotels -- at a marked-up rate. Many erroneous versions of the invoice were produced until the very moment we had to leave for the airport. Yet the final one included one person who had already paid personally.
Among all these problems, the Hotel Manager was never to be seen.

In summary, this was a high-stress experience. Never again. A pity, because the facilities generally were well suited for a conference, lunches and coffee breaks were fine, and the staff friendly. The breakfast was not what you would expect at a hotel of this standard.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Per_G_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I went to Ghana for a conference at Mensvic hotel which is is 10 minutes drive from the Airport and I loved it, they have six conference rooms and the biggest one sit about 900 people, its an idea place for a conference. their rooms are just perfect. They have a nice pool and a beautiful restaurant. Their beds is not as hard as I heard. I love Mensvic and I will always come there each time I visit Ghana

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmanuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Good facility with very friendly staff who were always at hand to help, answer questions, give information and sometimes ask us questions (which I felt was a way of making the us feel at home). The room was clean and very comfortable. Chef Williams was particularly nice and he sometimes came out to speak with guests and ask them if the food was up to their expectations. The swimming pool design was great adn the pool itself was very celan. The hotel has a nice Japanese touch to it....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simplymoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

A must visit hotel with good accommodation, location, meals and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorthyJust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Accra
0.5 mi away
Tomreik Hotel
Tomreik Hotel
#1 of 1 in Legon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mensvic Grand Hotel
Mensvic Grand Hotel
#36 of 92 in Accra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tulip Inn Accra Hotel
Tulip Inn Accra Hotel
#48 of 92 in Accra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
1.7 mi away
Fiesta Royale Hotel
Fiesta Royale Hotel
#18 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nirvana Inn Hotel
Nirvana Inn Hotel
#7 of 225 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mensvic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mensvic Palace Hotel

Property: Mensvic Palace Hotel
Address: Lagos Avenue | East Legon, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mensvic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing