We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Murphy's law I guess”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Accra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed at the Movenpick Ambassador a few days ago. Hotel is well appointed, well maintained and spacious. Lovely big pool and the front desk staff are friendly. Cashier is slow and seemingly not too experienced. Despite being a Movenpick hotel I therefore decided not to pay by credit card. Room 735 is at the presidential floor, and the floor and room are nice and modern. WIFI is rather slow and sketchy. However....above this room there is a generator or a AC unit roaring away so loud its very difficult to sleep or hear the TV set (again: very nice!). Avoid this room. Ordering food at the pool was another trial: it took 50 minutes to get an ordinary Accra burger, and when it finally arrived it was cold. I was surprised the otherwise nice staff never apologized or offered me another burger. As I insisted not to pay for cold meat they just sent me another bill without any comment. Fitnessroom is very decent, and the bar nice and offers good service. Guess I was just unlucky.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartChase, General Manager at Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Rob K,

Many thanks for your review following your recent stay at our Hotel. At the outset, please accept my sincere apologies for the noise problems you experienced in room 735 – having just read your review, I have immediately asked our engineering team to investigate and ensure that the source of the noise is located and rectified as a matter of urgency.

Whilst I was pleased to read you kind comments on our facilities and staff, I was nevertheless disappointed with the poor service you described at the poolside and I will now be sitting with our Food and Beverage team to review our menu selection as well as our overall speed and standards of service. As you mention, the pool is a lovely area and it is a shame that you had to endure such shoddy service made worse by the fact that you were also not offered an apology nor another burger.

Rob K, we are normally very proud of the service and facilities we offer to our clients however it is clear that on several occasions during your visit we fell short of our normal standards for which again I apologise. Should you be travelling to Accra again in the future, please do contact me personally on stuart.chase@moevenpick.com and I will gladly make a reservation on your behalf and ensure that you enjoy our true Swiss hospitality throughout your stay.

My thanks again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Stuart Chase
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Movenpick Accra Ghana ticked all the boxes. Comfort, professional and friendly service and great dining. ' The dining provided several options in terms of choice of food. The pool and facilities were great and the waiters on rollerblades a treat. The rooms were well thought out as well as having the most incredibly comfortable beds with beautiful linen. The gym facility is great and has a good view over the swimming and entertainment area. Tennis was an alternative option as well.

Melanie

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a newly built hotel well-located for airport and business in Accra. The rooms are very comfortable but unexceptional and the restaurant offers local and international cuisine to a good standard.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed several weeks for business and the service excellent. The breakfast offers a wide variety of options, and the coffee is the best. Service at breakfast could be better.
The rooms manager and the food and beverage manager are continuosly supervising the quality of the service.
The staff made us feel at home,
This is a real 5 star hotel in Accra.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I was in Accra on business and stayed here based on a friend's recommendation. I checked in on a Sunday and relaxed by the pool all afternoon. The pool side is a family attraction and there are lots of kids running around, but it did not feel intrusive at all. The pool area is a large space. I would certainly book a holiday here. There is a good gym and health club as well. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The Movenpick Ambassador has a great feel - home away from home. I would definitely recommend this to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicoleBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I was assigned a room at the far end of the hotel which essentially did not have any functional wifi coverage. Request for a router was not honored because they had borrowed all in stock. Rooms were not clean either. Made a mistake of walking barefoot on the floor to find my sole black ! Windows did have view of the pool but had to cleaned to make it visible. I liked the hotel buffet, which included sushi rolls to Ghanain dishes ! The pool side bar is also nice!

Room Tip: Ask for the ones overlooking the pools but not the one towards the far end of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelCritique111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartChase, General Manager at Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear HotelCritique111,

Many thanks indeed for your valued review following your stay with us in February. Please do accept our apologies for the problems you experienced during your visit - earlier in the year we did indeed experience some challenges regarding our Wifi coverage however I am glad to inform you that since then we have installed a number of additional Wireless Access Points throughout the property and our coverage has improved immensely with guest feedback on this issue being, to date, very positive.

We have also shared your comments regarding the room cleanliness with our Executive Housekeeper and her team and they will now be reviewing their standard operating procedures accordingly to ensure that our rooms are cleaned consistently to the standards which we are normally proud to offer.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the buffet and our pool side and please do contact me personally on stuart.chase@moevenpick.com should you be travelling to Accra again in the near future as we would like to have the opportunity to show you our true Swiss hospitality.

My thanks again for taking the time to bring these important issues to our attention and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Stuart Chase
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Attended a 3-day conference and the food was great! Workers were prompt to provide the solutions that were required during my three day stay. Great and really spacial.
Outside noise not present on the inside.
Cool poolside

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
4.5 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 91 in Accra
622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
4.8 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 91 in Accra
219 reviews
1.0 mi away
Niagara Hotel
Niagara Hotel
#70 of 91 in Accra
60 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tang Palace Hotel
Tang Palace Hotel
#4 of 91 in Accra
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra

Address: PMB CT 343, Cantonments Ridge, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Accra
Price Range: $259 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra is set in an urban oasis within the city centre/business district. This contemporary 5 * hotel is only 7km from the airport and provides your home away from home whilst in Accra with free Wifi and complimentary airport shuttle. The Accra Financial Centre, World Trade Centre, International Conference Centre and Government Ministries are all close by. The modern rooms and suites feature stunning garden or city views with complimentary coffee/tea facilities, 46” screen TVs, laptop sized safe and in room ironing facilities. Throughout the hotel guests can enjoy our African art collection showcasing over 2500 pieces of original art. For a little extra, guests can choose the Executive Club Floor with private check-in/out, boardroom and an exclusive lounge with balcony. Enjoy complimentary evening canapes with selected wines and champagne in an exclusive “home away from home” atmosphere whilst looking over the lavish gardens. A variety of dining options are available from light snacks, International buffets and A la Carte. Conference facilities on the ground floor feature a 736sqm ballroom with 5 adjacent meeting rooms, business centre and large pre-function area, ideal for organising your business or social events. You can work out at the state of the art gymnasium, or have a bracing dip in Accra’s largest outdoor swimming pool. The Emporium attached to the hotel, has a variety of shops and businesses including, a bank and cash machine, chemist, mobile phone/computer shop and a hair and beauty salon. “We speak your language.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing