We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“We loved it and we'll be back!”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for the first time in August, we were supposed to have stayed there for one night but we ended up extending it for another night. We loved it so much that we booked to come back for our last 3 nights in Accra.

The hotel location is fantastic. It is just opposite the National Theatre, the Cal Bank and Accra City Centre is easily accessible by taxis and buses just outside the hotel.

It has very quiet surroundings, you wouldn't think you are in the city centre, the lobby is very welcoming, the decor, the ambience, the space is very nice.

The Front-desk staff are particularly helpful and nice with impeccable manners. What we liked most was the restaurant, the buffet breakfast was very good, with a lot of variety, and very well-spread desserts.
The buffet lunch is a must. It costs about GH 45 cedis but it's well worth it.

The gym is another place to go if you enjoy working out and after that you get a good stretch from the well-trained staff. Again, if you enjoy swimming, their pool is a good place to chill out in the afternoon. They have a good poolside bar as well that I will highly recommend.

The rooms are cozy and comfortable with Spanish style bathrooms and are very clean as well. They supply you with endless bottles of water to keep you hydrated.

I have stayed at various hotels in Europe including the Ritzs of Paris, Marriott Champs-Elysee, Marriott Marquis New York, Marriott Eastside Manhattan, The Ritz Carlton, the Hyatt right down to Golden Tuilip and the Holiday Inn. In my opinion and experience, I will rate the Movenpick Ambassador Accra to the likes of the Ritz Carlton Arts Hotel in Barcelona, A five star hotel in the Olympic village.

All the staff are well-trained, very helpful, polite and very friendly yet they get things done, when and how you want it.

Although there is construction work still going on, don't let this spoil your stay or holiday. On the whole and all in all, it was a very nice place to stay.

However, one negative point is that, there is a smell outside the hotel coming from the drains . This problem needs to be addressed either than that, the hotel experience was very good

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank LizLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    371
    113
    36
    15
See reviews for
57
51
49
733
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We were bowled over by the warmth and friendliness of the staff at this brand new hotel, set in extensive landscaped grounds and conveniently located near the centre of Accra - ideal for either sightseeing or business, with a free shuttle service to and from the airport. The rooms were luxurious with high standards of service, the Sankofa restaurant was first class and all were set off by exquisite African artwork throughout the building (- look out for the huge circular snakeskin rugs on the ground floor and the trio of modern sculptures outside the lifts on each of the upper floors). We did not get round to swimming in the huge outdoor pool but we enjoyed sitting at the poolside bar, where waiters use rollerblades to bring the food and drinks out from the main hotel! A part of the the hotel is still under construction but this did not affect our stay in any way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

A breath of fresh air in Accra. The very friendly atmosphere, large open spaces leading to a massive pool, very comfortable rooms, good internet coverage and a truly great breakfast encouraged me to invite business colleagues for a meal at the Sankofa- I was not let down with a great choice available and good service. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank malcolm_hatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Deciding to stay at Movenpick to test this new hotel was notably based on infos on their website about their sport facilities (tennis court and jog track). Actually found out that a number of services and facilities are not working yet.
Also found out that parts of the hotel is still under construction. Was wocken up at 8AM every day by hammer and drills. Let the front office know but they did change my room.
Internet: wifi signal very unstable, had to go for ethernet cable; even with that the speed remained slow.
Consequently quite surprised that in a 5 stars hotel, customers feedbacks/infos are not taken into account to facilitate their stay, knowing this was the most expensive rate in Accra for this stay. There was absolutely no gesture of goodwill.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jules I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

For a business traveller, you cannot go wrong with this hotel. It is the best hotel in Accra.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Vinzeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The hotel opened only a few months ago and I believe there is still some construction work going on at the location but I did not feel in anyway effected or disturbed by this and am looking forward to the retail stores opening. The staff are wonderfully friendly from reception, to the gym, to the bar and restaurant. The gym is the best hotel gym I have ever experienced in any hotel in the world (not just Africa). There is an overall ambiance of style and efficiency and it is a pleasure to stay there. Everyone tried so hard to make my stay as good as possible I was very very impressed and will definitely be returning soon.

Room Tip: Pool view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank GavinJGallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I was blown away literally by the service and quality of international cuisine of the new famous restaurant in town Sankofa and the hotel itself! V. clean rooms in this part of the world.I was shocked to find out that the rate come with freebies;gym with personal trainer and sauna , buffet breakfast and some humongous pool......highly recommend for all trips. Good location and staff

Room Tip: Standard rooms here mean 2 twins and a king room is a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank aljandrop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
4.5 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
4.0 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 92 in Accra
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
3.3 mi away
Tang Palace Hotel
Tang Palace Hotel
#4 of 92 in Accra
119 reviews
4.1 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra

Property: Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
Address: PMB CT 343, Cantonments Ridge, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra is set in an urban oasis within the city centre/business district. This contemporary 5 * hotel is only 7km from the airport and provides your home away from home whilst in Accra with free Wifi and complimentary airport shuttle. The Accra Financial Centre, World Trade Centre, International Conference Centre and Government Ministries are all close by. The modern rooms and suites feature stunning garden or city views with complimentary coffee/tea facilities, 46” screen TVs, laptop sized safe and in room ironing facilities. Throughout the hotel guests can enjoy our African art collection showcasing over 2500 pieces of original art. For a little extra, guests can choose the Executive Club Floor with private check-in/out, boardroom and an exclusive lounge with balcony. Enjoy complimentary evening canapes with selected wines and champagne in an exclusive “home away from home” atmosphere whilst looking over the lavish gardens. A variety of dining options are available from light snacks, International buffets and A la Carte. Conference facilities on the ground floor feature a 736sqm ballroom with 5 adjacent meeting rooms, business centre and large pre-function area, ideal for organising your business or social events. You can work out at the state of the art gymnasium, or have a bracing dip in Accra’s largest outdoor swimming pool. The Emporium attached to the hotel, has a variety of shops and businesses including, a bank and cash machine, chemist, mobile phone/computer shop and a hair and beauty salon. “We speak your language.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing