We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super nice people”
Review of Villa Monticello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Monticello
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Accra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Super nice people. Pickup at airport by James excellent. Ria at the bar and lydia were charming. Angela at the desk has a sense of humor . The N zealand filet was as good a steak as I've had. Obviously good management Mb

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mbasta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 221 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Absolutely beautiful hotel, wonderfully efficient staff and brilliant service. The location is also great. Accra is certainly becoming a well sought after city!. The only downfall to this hotel is the extortionate prices which are comparable to international 5* hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Meschelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Villa Monticello (VM) was recommended to us by a friend after our old hotel closed following a rather long and painful decline. We prefer hotels with local flavor as opposed to the cookie cutter Western\American corporate style that seems to be standard for many hotels in Accra, so the fact that each suite at the VM is individually themed and decorated was definitely one of the more appealing aspects. My husband and I stayed in the Provence room, and we were traveling with our adult grandchildren, both in their 20s, both new to Africa – who stayed in the Last Emperor Room. Ghana was the last leg in an extended trip that started in Paris with Togo in the middle, and although the web site looked intriguing there was some anxiety with regard to trying a new hotel.

Nestled into Accra’s quiet suburban streets, not too far from several embassy and consulate compounds, the VM is not necessarily known by the city’s taxi drivers, but judging by the variety of accents we heard during our stay the word is definitely getting out with folks who like to come to Africa for the winter holidays.

Frankly, there are so many nice things to say about our experience with Villa Monticello that it’s difficult to know where to start. What makes or breaks a hotel stay for us is the staff and the general energy they bring to the hotel, and the VM radiates a quiet but friendly sophistication.

The Provence suite is a good sized elegant mix of neutral colors and plush furniture that overlooks the pool. The kids liked the modern Asian-inspired coolness of the red and the black décor in The Last Emperor. The energy from the décor of VM’s themed rooms reminds of the low-key chic of the Kimpton boutique hotels with some of the high-end touches of Intercontinental\Le Meridien brands (the ones located outside the U.S.) but with plenty of photos in the public spaces that feature local heroes as well as the not-so-famous.

The staff is unfailingly polite and friendly, when we arrived after a long ride after we crossed the border from Lomé, Togo we had a slight snafu with our reservation due to an email miscommunication, but it was resolved quickly and painlessly, and we enjoyed our complimentary (non-alcoholic) cocktails in our room with the grandkids. We were greeted daily with such warmth by everyone from the manager, front desk and parking attendants that it instantly felt like home. The parking attendants took special care to see that we were not overcharged by taxis, and the attention to security – the grounds are monitored 24/7 and access to the driveway is tightly controlled, which was also appreciated, especially when we left the hotel on foot—VM is conveniently across the street from a rather new branch of the Koala Shopping Center, a supermarket where we scooped up extra water and snacks for our rooms.

The staff was also quick to respond to complaint (construction in the upper part of the hotel above the pool woke us at 8:00 on our first morning- the next morning it was delayed an hour), or mishap – the pipes burst in the sink in the grandkids room late one night while one was taking a bath. The staff had the mess cleaned up and the kids relocated to another suite for the night in less than an hour, and they were quietly moved back in the next day when everything was dry – no fuss and low drama, which is our favorite way to travel.

Speaking of which, the staff’s treatment of our grandkids definitely fell into the category of Above and Beyond. They helped my granddaughter arrange to have her hair braided at a nearby salon, and provided helpful suggestions and young staff members to accompany my grandson when he explored the local live music scene (he’s a musician who brought his guitar with him).

After 3 weeks of traveling my feet resembled those of the Creature From The Black Lagoon, and my hands were also crying out for a manicure, so I took advantage of the en suite spa services and had both a manicure and it was a thoroughly relaxing experience; the perfect way to end a day of touring and squeeze in some quiet time before dinner.

We took several meals at 1A@Villa Monticello, the hotel’s restaurant, which had a rather nice group of experimental cocktails. “Lover’s Quarrel” was a favorite of our grandson (vodka, orange juice, crème de cassis, lime juice). The cuisine was a nice and fresh mix of local fare with a nod to the American south and European west.

Villa Monticello is altogether a tight (but unpretentious) ship, and we definitely look forward to a return stay in one of the distinctive suites in the hotel’s roster.

Room Tip: Figure out what kind of color scheme relaxes you or excites you (for us it was calming neutrals, for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelBugLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Care has gone into the design and appearance of this small property, but I remain to be convinced that it's fantastic. Still, it's probably the only place of its kind in Accra, and I've marked it Very Good because Average would be unfair.

Top marks for excellent food, breakfast through dinner, with close attention to detail. On the other hand, the (comfortable) chairs in the small lobby have grubby seats and armrests. The Nelson Mandela Suite is the least expensive, if you need a day room close to the airport; on the other hand, there's noise from the front desk and kitchen, and no wi-fi to speak of - it stops about three metres short. The bed's very comfortable, and the shower's good. The pool area is small and overlooked by all the rooms.

Friendly staff, but the design of the place feels slightly industrial. Very clean. Very expensive. You've probably worked out that it ticked most boxes, but was hard to love.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsQuince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I went here for lunch this week and it ambiance was just lovely. The only problem is that the service is not great and the food, when it came, was cold. If the waiter had brought everything on time, it would have truly been a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Spent only one night there. Pleasently surprised by the clean and very nice hotel. The service was top class and the room was very nice indeed. Location close to the airport and pick up service in top with clean car and very friendly driver. Only small caveat was that there was no plug in for my shaver in the bath room, a small miss though. Overall I can definately recommend Villa Monticello, and will choose this if ever in Accra again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ib l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Villa Monticello is simple a lovely place to stay. It is uber comfortable and aesthetically pleasing. I don't know where "Elsetravelling" stayed but his or her experience does not resemble the hotel we stayed at! For myself and my cousin the outstanding feature of the hotel was the warmth of all the staff, we were made to feel welcome and valued from the moment we set foot in the hotel. Kingsley, Michael, Janet and Reyah (forgive the spelling here) are the names I remember after travelling overnight - and these 4 people exemplified the standard set by VM - I would like to thank the whole team and exclude no-one - they were all great and their professionalism emitted an effortless feel to the place where the guests needs were paramount. Yes it is a little pricey but you get what you pay for - We stayed at VM for eight nights in all and enjoyed the hotel its facilities and its best asset it's staff immensely. Breakfast filling and cooked brilliantly especially the little scones; entertaining friends was easy here and all of our friends who visited enjoyed the experience. It is such a refreshing change to find this jewel of a hotel - instead of the usual faceless multinational one often has to book in Africa and elsewhere. We would definitely return and are already making plans to do so in the next six months - a home away from home. Loved it

Room Tip: We had the Lake Como suite at a supplement as we wanted two separate beds - roomy, beautifully co-or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreensy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
4.4 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 90 in Accra
633 reviews
4.0 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
0.8 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
0.8 mi away
Tang Palace Hotel
Tang Palace Hotel
#4 of 90 in Accra
173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Royale Hotel
Fiesta Royale Hotel
#15 of 90 in Accra
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Monticello

Address: No 1A Mankata Avenue Link | Airport Residential Area, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Accra
#5 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range: $247 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Monticello 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Monticello boutique hotel is a luxury boutique hotel situated in one of the most exclusive areas in Accra. Conveniently located to Kotoka International Airport and in easy walking distance to one of Accra’s exclusive shopping areas. There are 14 uniquely designed suites, each offering a luxurious personal touch and stylish elegance plus a fitness room with state-of-the-art facilities overlooking the outdoor swimming pool and The Terrace Cafe. Villa Monticello offers a Free Shuttle Service, within a 5km radius and Free Airport Meet and Greet.Villa Monticello has been awarded with a TripAdvisor 2013 Certificate of Excellence. This prestigious award, places us in the top-performing 10% of all businesses worldwide on TripAdvisor and is given to businesses that consistently earn high ratings from TripAdvisor travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Monticello Hotel Accra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing