We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Home away from Home"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Osdahouse Home Lodge
Ranked #5 of 273 Accra B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Osdahouse was a wonderful place to stay. I have traveled all over the world and even managed a four star hotel in the United States. Getting settled and organized once arriving in a new country is vital. Having never traveled to Ghana, much less Africa before, the hotel was warm and inviting. It is a fabulous place to get yourself settled before beginning a tour of Ghana, or head to your next destination. We also stayed here again before heading the Cape Coast. The owners Seth and Dorothy were warm and attentive to all the guests needs--although one finds that kindness and helpfulness is a trait among most Ghanaian people in general. The rooms were in excellent shape and clean, very spacious with working A/C, and a fenced in property with surveillance system (which I though was amazing). The property is locked up unless a guest is returning, checking-in, etc. and many other amenities (that I didn't use--I was in a new country why turn on the TV). Other than the expected hospitality (which you often do not get within the U.S.) when traveling, the owners and the property went beyond expectations, and the pricing was extremely reasonable. Breakfast was included and the hotel has a computer for use if you need to send out a quick e-mail, etc. I arrived with a group from a University in southern Utah, and the owners made sure we were comfortable, prepared and always found time to stop and have a conversation with you. We returned at the end of our journey and stayed at the Osdahouse for the third time before flying back to the United States, and due to a mix-up in transportation the owner quickly figured out a convenient solution leaving the last leg of our trip without stress. I enjoyed a few conversations with both owners, and I felt like I left the Osdahouse with two new friends! I cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: All the room are kept up so well that during my three different stays each room was comfortable for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryJFulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osda H, Owner at Osdahouse Home Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for being so kind in your observations and taking the time to writge such a detailed review. We appreciate you.
Seth & Dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

Clean, neat place in a quiet area: we just spent the lase night of our trip, but it has been a very nice experience. The owners are very friendly and helpful and you feel safe and peaceful, away from the confusion and the noise of the capital. Prices too are good, in Accra hotel are unbelievably high compared to the rest of the country, and often offered standards are nonetheless low.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osda H, Owner at Osdahouse Home Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your honest assessment of hotel prices in Accra and the standards We are happy you found Osda House. Thanks for your comments.

Seth & Dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I was born in Ghana and visit family as often as I can. My family and I had the pleasure of staying at Osda for a couple of weeks during our recent visit.

The owners Seth and Dorothy are phenomenal hosts and have a great dedicated and honest staff.

The house is modern, clean, secure and well-appointed with beautiful plants and flowers. The rooms ( we tried a few) are clean, comfortable and cool (Osda has subsidiary power to counter the occasional power outages in Accra so AC is reliable in the heat) All amenities and fixtures were/are above average. The service was gracious and typically "Ghanaian" in its friendliness. We stayed in a suite that had all the amenities and appliances we needed. We stayed in single rooms also but had access to a nice common kitchen area. Osda had wifi when we were there (2012). We ended up purchasing our own bandwidth eventually but the speed at Osda was decent for basic email for instance

Osda is located in Lartebiorkoshie which though not in the center of Accra, is perfect for forays into the city and beyond. It is close to the Kaneshie and Agbogbloshie markets - major shopping spots. Taxis, trotros and other public transportation are easily available in the neighborhood's streets and roadways. Simple daily goods are available in the shopping stalls dotting the sidewalks of the neighborhood. We experienced no hassles with neighbors as we went about our daily rounds in the area. A 15-20 min. ride on a taxi or public van will get you to High Street, Makola Market and Downtown Accra for banking, forex and shopping for almost anything.

We highly recommend Osda House! For us, it was definitely a home away from home. I personally do miss the place.


Joakim Lartey

Room Tip: The suite downstairs is wonderful for families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joakim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osda H, Owner at Osdahouse Home Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

There are people you meet and they are like family. We are grateful for all those who come our way. This is a ministry for us. We hope to do do our best with all those who come our way.

Thank you for your review
Seth & Dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Our student group stayed at Osda House three different times during our three and a half week study abroad trip to Ghana. We were so pleased with the cleanliness, the food, and the hospitality. It truly was our home away from home while in Ghana. The guest house is safe and Seth and Dorothy are very helpful! We plan to return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mulderborns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osda H, Owner at Osdahouse Home Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you and we look forward to your return.
Blessings
Seth & Dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed at Osda House for 3 nights (2 when first arriving to Ghana, and one when leaving). Osda House is located in a quite neighborhood, a little outside central Accra (this is also its main drawback since you have to take a cab when going in and out of town - though this is quite cheap at roughly 5 cedi). The owners are both very friendly, helpful and welcoming and enjoy talking to their guests. Breakfast is served upon request and it is also possible to use the kitchen facilities. The place is very safe.

We very much enjoyed staying there and recommend it to anyone wanting a smooth start in Accra and who does not mind living a little outside the city center.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex_Johanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osda H, Owner at Osdahouse Home Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

We are happy we could help in giving you a smooth start in Ghana. We look forward to doing the same for many others in Accra. Thanks for your review
Seth & Dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

The service was very good, friendly and helpful once we realised how to ask for it. We had just arrived in Accra on our first visit to Ghana so we did need some help.
The room was very clean and cool and we had everything we expected and needed.
The location was quiet and yet not far from the centre of Accra. At first we had problems explaining to taxi drivers where it was when returning to it. I think the directions on the website from the airport are wrong.
What I liked most was the quiet, friendly, cool atmosphere when we had just arrived in a new city in a new country.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VBJ27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osda H, Owner at Osdahouse Home Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

We wish to thank you for your honest review. we will try harder to anticipate some of the needs of our guests.
You are so kind.
Seth & Dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Osda House locates in the quiet, residentioal area on the hill, out of the busy and noisy center of Accra. But it takes only 15 to 20 Minutes by taxi to the central area of town and the taxis are very reasonable.
Near the hotel are many small shops and some restaurants. You can keep your drinks and foods in the fridge in the room or cook in the kitchen, if you like. Allthough the utensils were sometimes insufficient, the personnels were always very friendly and helpfull and I felf very comfortable and happy during my stay.
I'll recommend Osda Hotel to everyone, who looks for an enjoyable stay with reasonable price in Accra.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sayokoky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osda H, Owner at Osdahouse Home Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you, Thank you! we hope to do better with the number of cooking utensils for those who wish to cook.
Thanks for your review
Seth & Dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
6.6 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#3 of 90 in Accra
667 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hill View Hotel
Hill View Hotel
#13 of 90 in Accra
37 reviews
1.9 mi away
Niagara Hotel
Niagara Hotel
#66 of 90 in Accra
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Somewhere Nice
Somewhere Nice
#2 of 216 in Accra
110 reviews
2.8 mi away
Agoo Hostel
Agoo Hostel
#1 of 216 in Accra
120 reviews
4.8 mi away
Chez Delphy
Chez Delphy
#1 of 273 in Accra
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osdahouse Home Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osdahouse Home Lodge

Address: 4 Greve Crescent, Lartebiokoshie | Behind Cake Tekniks, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Accra
Price Range: $44 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Osdahouse Home Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A winner of Tripadvisor 2014 Excellence Award. Here at Osdahouse we pride ourselves in providing clean, modern and comfortable accommodation in Accra; With a home-away-from-home atmosphere, all rooms at Osdahouse boast en-suite bathrooms with hot water, air conditioning, WiFi, TV, tea/coffee-making facilities and more.Guests have access to a fully equipped kitchen, a comfortable living room and a beautiful garden and courtyard. Services include WiFi, laundry, luggage storage and parking, and we also have a bright conference room. Osdahouse is located at Lartebiokoshie near Korlebu Hospital, close to the bus station and easily reachable from Accra airport.Check-in: 12pm Check-out: 11am Please notify us of your arrival time.Cancellations must be received at least 72 hours in advance.Payment to be made in cash on arrival.Breakfast is included in the rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Osdahouse Home Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing