We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mensvic Grand Hotel
Ranked #33 of 91 Hotels in Accra
Reviewed February 9, 2012

True enough as one person already commented the beds were strange "concrete blocks", but then very oddly I never had a bad nights sleep! The room was incredibly spacious, had excellent water pressure in the shower / bath, was clean, neat and perfectly adequately furnished with very efficient air conditioning. I felt comfortable and secure throughout my stay. Found it very central to my requirements and found all the staff very accommodating and extremely friendly. The internet was good in the business centre and the food was always perfectly acceptable. Obviously I was a foreigner in a strange place which makes strange things often a little unpalletable but I'd have to say that I was very happy overall and will definitely stay there again on my next upcoming trip.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marks C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 63 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

As most things in Ghana are negotiable a rate was agreed on check-in for a stay of four days. The bed was so rock hard it was positively painful to sleep on, I honestly do not know how such appalling beds can be manufactured and sold. I eventually folded the quilt into three and laid it on the bed to sleep on and folded the sheet several times to cover myself and topped it off with my personal towel as hotel towels are normally not bath sheet size. This was after two days of waking every time I moved in bed. The floor would probably have been as soft! Most of the ambitious electrics on the bed side cabinet did not work, the TV stations were all fuzzy, the food was mediocre at best and overpriced ($13 for two slices of bread with locally produced bacon inside and a side of frozen chips) and when checking out the rate was deemed to be 60% more than originally agreed!!!!!!! Do not stay at this hotel, it is terrible, the customer service is almost non-existent and I shall never go there again.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I guess the best thing I can say is that nothing got stolen from me at this hotel. If I hadn't been there for an on-site conference, I'd have changed hotels.
When I arrived, there was no shower curtain in my room. One day I went to my room midday to find that a shower curtain had been installed, and the room door was propped open. Presumably this was to allow housekeeping access during the installation - but there was no one in my room, or even on that floor of the hotel. I closed and locked the door, and counted myself lucky that the room "safe" (a steel box in the closet that was not attached in any way to the wall) was still in place, since that's where I'd left my passport.
The rooms are spacious but spartan. The flow from the showerhead was so low that I could barely rinse the soap off my skin. Yet it flooded the bathroom floor every time I turned it on - even after they'd installed a shower curtain. The air conditioning seemed to have just two settings: "freezing" and "off."
Check in, check out, and all other interactions with hotel staff were extremely annoying. Everything took forever, and there were nearly always mistakes.
The best part was the food and the attentive service at the hotel restaurant. Portions were enormous, and the traditional West African dishes were great. But it was priced pretty high, as were the rooms themselves, and the food often took an extremely long time to arrive.
If I go back to Ghana someday, I'll look for another option for lodging!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catlaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This hotel charges US rates $145 a night for worse service than I have had anywhere in Africa. The first thing I noticed when taken to my room was the smell. It's the drains in the bathroom. There is no comprehension of customer service. When I asked a member of staff to call a car hire company she told me I'd have to pay. This when they are taking $145 a night. The breakfasts make me want to lose the will to live - no variety or choice and usually whatever you'd like has run out and there is no replacement. I paid 5 Ghanian cedi;s for a bottle of water which most decent hotels would provide free. Staff are not given freedom to make customer friendly decisions. The internet was down and instead of telling me there was a problem staff suggested that I try various workarounds before admitting that it was broken and needed work. When I went to the business centre and asked if I could use a connection there to download software for my dongle i was told that they weren't allowed to remove cables. The last straw was tonight. We were at an Africa wide conference and they had brought in casual staff paid about 20 cedis for an 18hour shift. The (I suspect) catering company manager said he could not accept a note from my companion (which was slightly torn but still legal tender). When my colleague insisted that they take it - the manager said he was going to take it out of the wages of this poor guy who did not know when he was going to work again. When we said as visitors to Ghana how shocked we were at this treatment eventually the note was accepted but this is definitely somewhere NOT to stay if you have choice.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mordaj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I travel extensively in Africa and internationally, and for the price charged (US$115 / night), this is the absolute worst hotel I have ever experienced in this price range.

Specific points:

1. The first room had windows that started above head height ... you could not see anything. The hot water did not get any warmer than lukewarm, and the aircon unit sounded like the fan was about to fail. I requested a room transfer.

2. The new room at least had windows you could see out. However, the tiling in the bathroom was not properly finished, the cap on the taps fell off, and the shower could barely give enough water to wash properly, and the shower head could only spray straight down next to the wall, so to get wet you had to stand up against the wall.

3. The room had a safe, but it was not bolted down -- anyone could walk in and simply pick up the safe!

4. At least half of the TV channels were fuzzy, distorted, or had no sound.

5. The internet did not function for more than half the time.

6. The bed (in both rooms I experienced) was so hard that it felt like I was sleeping on the base unit with no mattress. I have never experienced a bed so hard ... each spring could be felt through the surface. I had back-ache each day after sleeping on that bed.

7. The general finish of all the fittings were what I would expect in a $40/night budget motel.

8. The rest of the hotel was functional, the pool was nice. The food was adequate.

If you want to spend US$100+ on a hotel, the Mensvic is a waste of money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredbircher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

This is a new hotel in the very new and posh East Legon neighborhood. Walking distance from nice restaurants, friendly staff, and very good restaurant with affordable lobster! Everything is clean and in good condition, just be sure to ask for a soft bed.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
5  Thank evelena_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Abndusamed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Accra
0.1 mi away
Tomreik Hotel
Tomreik Hotel
#1 of 1 in Legon
9 reviews
0.5 mi away
GS Plaza Hotel
GS Plaza Hotel
#54 of 91 in Accra
11 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tulip Inn Accra Hotel
Tulip Inn Accra Hotel
#68 of 91 in Accra
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
1.8 mi away
Fiesta Royale Hotel
Fiesta Royale Hotel
#17 of 91 in Accra
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oak Plaza Hotel East Legon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mensvic Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mensvic Grand Hotel

Address: 2nd Lagos Avenue | East Legon, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 91 Hotels in Accra
Price Range: $190 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mensvic Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mensvic Grand Hotels is the largest and finest conference and banquet hotel in East Legon, Airport City and it environs with seven conference rooms and 110 rooms. We have a wide selection of rooms ranging from single and double deluxe, twin rooms and fully furnished executive apartment with state-of-the-art facilities. Our plush facility which is located on the lagos street in East Legon has seven conference rooms and a roof top sports lounge which is ideal for all meetings and event. The conference rooms have a sitting capacity ranging from 30 to 700 capacities (theatre setting) and the large pool area which sit over 800 (banquet setting) We have the biggest and the cleanest pool in East Legon and Airport City and a spacious underground Car park. Mensvic Grand hotel have three separate Bars and restaurant which serves assorted liquors, wines and local and continental cuisines. It includes the roof top sports lounge, the Lobby bar and the pool bar. The serene environment, location, and our facilities make it a perfect center for conferences, events, meetings, wedding reception among others. Our motivated and trained team awaits you to deliver quality service for a truly relaxing experience worth repeating. The Hotel is about ten (10) minutes–drive from the international Airport and about twenty (20) minute drive to the central business district.We have a perfect combination of comfort, elegance, leisure, and business facilities, and provide an exceptional customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mensvic Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing