We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good/ Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coconut Grove Regency Hotel
Ranked #24 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I was here for 3 nights on business, and the hotel was absolutely fine. I'd stay here again without worry.

Service and staff was good, friendly.

Room was absolutely fine, it was clean, had everything I needed and it all worked. Large room also. Simple decor/furniture but was nice.

Breakfast was a little disappointing, coffee was terrible, not a lot of choice. I had one meal in the evening in the bar and it was delivered quickly and food was great taste and value.

Internet worked fine via wifi in room and throughout the hotel area.

Same day laundry was fine.

I've no idea of other Accra hotels, but this one was fine, and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Coconut Grove Regency Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 123 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was the third time I came back to this hotel, and it is still my favorite in Accra. The rooms are big enough and comfortable, the staff friendly and responsive, housekeeping very good, the restaurant offers tasty Ghanaian dishes, all in a laid-back, family-like atmosphere. Internet access can be a bit sketchy, otherwise I was very happy with my stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I recommend the Coconut Grove in Accra. The price is very reasonable. It is an easy taxi ride to reach all around the sites of Accra. The staff is welcoming and helpful. The rooms are big, air conditioned and comfortable. The breakfast is more than filling with even your choice of fresh eggs cooked to your liking. You can arrange for the hotel to pick you up at the airport.
Best to bring cash to pay the bill. 5% will be added if you use a credit card.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The coconut grove is really a stunning hotel. It has big rooms with airconditioning which you can't leave without in the hot & humid accra. The rooms are very neat & tidy. There's a swimming pool if you wanna cool of as well. There staff is extremely friendly and go the extra mile to ensure your happiness during your stay. There is free wifi available and a refrigerator in the room with some bottled water, beer and a few sodas.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simpiwe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed at Regency for the first and last week of my summer study abroad in Ghana. We stayed at about 7 different hotels around the country, and Coconut Grove Regency and Beach Resort were unquestionably the best.
The rooms are nothing fancy, but get the job done. Everything is clean and neat, just not 5 star luxury.
Every hotel I stayed at while in Ghana, it was obvious that the staff went through our bags, except for Coconut Grove. Regency appeared to have many businessmen staying, but not many vacationers. This was clear by the multiple conference rooms but a less than stunning pool. Coconut Grove Beach resort was the opposite; less than stunning conference rooms, and gorgeous pools. Both Coconut Groves also have AC that actually cools the rooms. La Palm, as well as many other hotels in Ghana had ACs that were only cool if you stood up against the unit. The food at the restaurant was delicious, and Coconut Grove has lovely little dogs that greet you during your stay and make you feel more at home. The staff are extremely friendly and always there to help make your experience delightful. Overall, a great stay at Regency

Room Tip: There are two buildings; standard rooms have an awful view and are awkwardly shaped with only twin b...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I'm staying at the Coconut Grove Regency in Accra right now, and feel so strongly about my experience that I'm writing my first TripAdvisor review.

While we were out of the room for dinner, someone very obviously went through our bags and belongings. Thankfully we took our valuables (money, documents, electronics) and left our bags filled only with dirty clothes and toiletries. They repacked the bags thankfully but it's disturbing nonetheless.

Other than that, the room is simple but comfortable, and the front desk staff are nice. The airport shuttle can be hit or miss so for arriving flights so if you have somewhere to be immediately after you arrive, I wouldn't rely on it.

In terms of room amenities, our room (the basic level with two twin beds) had two free bottles of water, some Nescafe and Liptons tea, a bar of soap, and a very small bottle of shampoo. There is free wifi fast enough to check email, and breakfast is included. There is an in-room refrigerator with a small mini bar which holds beer and soda that you can buy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a great place to stay to experience Accra but then be able to quietly retreat away from all the activity of a major city. The staff are extremely kind and helpful, always willing to help with bags no matter what they may be doing, and the guards will happily flag a taxi from the main road a few blocks away at night. I also appreciated the staff's willingness to give you the rough rate for what a taxi should cost going to various parts of Accra, which saves getting dinged a "tourist rate" in negotiations. The little dogs in the lobby are a nice touch, but be on guard for the one named Biggie, as he likes to mark everything and managed to nail at least one bag from every member of our party. The rooms are nice and clean, and provide lots of room, though the shower heads could be improved a bit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wileyc0y0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
0.4 mi away
Alisa Hotels North Ridge
3.3 mi away
Airport West Hotel
Airport West Hotel
#26 of 92 in Accra
39 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fiesta Royale Hotel
Fiesta Royale Hotel
#21 of 92 in Accra
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Accra Airport Hotel
2.5 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#15 of 92 in Accra
228 reviews
1.7 mi away
Midindi Hotel
Midindi Hotel
#22 of 92 in Accra
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Regency Hotel

Address: 5 Mozambique Link | Behind Ghana Immigration HQ, Accra Box CT 3998, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Price Range: $141 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Grove Regency Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located in close proximity to the business district of Accra. The Regency has 10 suites and 26 standard rooms all tastefully decorated, with air conditioning, multi-channel satellite TV, Free Wi - Fi and mini bar. You are assured of 24 hour uninterrupted power supply to make your stay very comfortable. Some guests have described our location as 'strategic and closer to everywhere'. We are within 5-10 minutes drive and in some cases walk to the Diplomatic and Business District of Accra, the Kwame Nkrumah Mausoleum, the seat of Government (Flag Staff House)the Accra International Conference Center, the National Theatre, the Makola Market (one of the largest in Africa)and the 37 Military Hospital (a UN designated grade 4 Hospital). Our staff know that you are our reason for being in business and we can assure you of 'memories worth repeating'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coconut Grove Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing