We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for spending the night”
Review of Airport West Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airport West Hotel
Ranked #25 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
234 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice for spending the night”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

IT was all good. Service, room good, clean, bed ok, but: Nobody was there to pick me up from the airport at 11 pm! So I came out, and didnt know where to go. 2 men started to try and help me, took me to where the shuttle is normally, I was very scared and a whole long story after that. Eventually I met up with the driver. I was very upset. And the people just sais it is safe, but that is not the point. MY second stay for the week... ane they were there, on time! With my name held high. I give my rating in comparison to the hotels in the area as reference.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with space for the toilet. MY first room had a very spacious bathroom, and second roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    24
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
3
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed here for three nights recently with the option of staying elsewhere.

Pros: The staff is very helpful and friendly. We had a large meeting that was well catered and the food was good. Breakfast is also quite alright. It is clean - very important - and fairly quiet. Had a safe in the room which. Airport shuttle service is very convenient even though they knew I was arriving and I still had to call them to come and get me.

Cons: The room was lousy. The bathroom had no water pressure making it very hard to get ready for meetings in the morning. Other people in other rooms on the second floor had the same problem. The shower rod was broken. The trash can was broken. Air conditioning in my own room worked well but in other rooms they leaked water all over the floor inside the room.

If you're staying just a night, this is ok. I slept well but the bathroom was a real issue.

For longer, look elsewhere also because it is not particularly cheap and you can do better than this in Accra.

PS - treadmill broken in the fitness centre

Room Tip: Try the first floor for better water pressure?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SODA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed there with family for three nights and was impressed by the cleanliness and friendly service. Totally adequate facilities.

However very quickly ran out of anything interested on the menu in the restaurant, and watch out for the annoying habit of trying to charge you dollars for the Ghanaain prices on the menu.

Happily recommend it for a practical business trip, but bring your new entertainment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggypsy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lome, Togo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed here a couple of months ago. The place is very clean everything in the room was in order. Staff was super helpful. I would recommend to anyone looking for a clean quality place in Ghana. The price is great compared to other hotels in it's class. If you don't know, in Ghana it can be difficult to find a place to stay especially with out a reservation. When I arrived I was told there were no rooms available. I explained I had been to eight other hotels with no luck and asked if they could do anything to help me out. She called the manager and I waited about 10-15 minutes and then they said they would prepare a room for me. You need to know I arrived late that evening into Ghana and they totally took care of me. Every detail of service was amazing. Staff was the friendliest I had experienced at a hotel in Ghana. Will continue to book reservations here. Just a note: I travel frequently between Togo and Ghana and usually try to stay somewhere very affordable like a guest house. But if you are in need of a little more comfort this is the best for the price I've found.

Room Tip: For better internet get a room closer to the center of the hotel. Was slower at the end of the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyandAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2012

bed was cosy, a/c worked satisfactorily (thank God for their standby generator!!!) shower was functional ..restaurant was ok (meals are a bit on spicy side so make sure you specify less spicy if you are not up to it)minutes from airport and accra mall.Good for business visitors.not much activity on premises for the party animal.pool was satisfactory.Overall a decent value for money experience.Staff was extremely helpful..thanks lennox ,Ernestina and all the rest.3/22/2012-3/26/2012 and btw my allergies are thankful for tile floors and no carpet !!!

Room Tip: no ocean views here so put quit yer whining
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Moved to this hotel after problems with my first hotel in Accra.
With all the mirrored doors it seems very closed in.
The reception staff were very welcoming.
The restaurant staff very rude especially when ordering room service.
My first room (111) was cramped but ok, the bathroom was poorly finished and small.
The a/c was very noisy as was the fridge and I had to turn them both off at night to sleep, I should not have bothered as the a/c unit outside the window was even louder.
After a complaint I was moved to 215, slightly larger but same small poorly finished bathroom.
a/c was nice and quiet but that maybe due to the lack of puff, if there was a power cut then the a/c does not automatically start again, so takes 2 hrs to even start to get cool in the room.
The gym was good size but only cross trainer worked.
Had some loose weights but largest dumb bells were stolen while I was there.
The pool area was ok but if you wanted to sign for a drink at the poolside bar you had to go to the restaurant to do so.
The location was very good, close to airport and only 15 mins walk to the Accra mall.
If travelling to Tema then only 3 mins from the motorway.
The wireless was very slow but after numerous complaints and numerous visits from the very helpful Tech guy I was given my own router that improved this tenfold, not a lot you can do about power cuts.
The beds are not very comfortable but I guess some like it hard.
I exchanged some dollars @ 1.5 when at the Accra mall I could get 1.68, so please do not make the same mistake as I did.
I have spent time reading through reviews for other hotels and there are certainly better hotels in Accra for similar prices.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWAAYNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Accra hotels

London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Bit aof a late review but U stayed here in June 2009. Place was clean and comfortable. Good air con (was needed) and good food. Pleasant pool area. Would recommend if in Accra on a business trip - handy for airport and business district

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cityboy1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
1.2 mi away
ibis Styles Accra Airport Hotel
1.0 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#18 of 92 in Accra
209 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oak Plaza Hotel East Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Alisa Hotels North Ridge
0.5 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
2.5 mi away
Midindi Hotel
Midindi Hotel
#22 of 92 in Accra
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport West Hotel

Property: Airport West Hotel
Address: August Akwumi Street | 137 Airport West Residential Area, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Airport West Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport West Hotel is a contemporary Hotel with style and comfort deliberately designed to suit the needs of discerning guests. we are ideally situated five (5) minutes drive from the Kotoka International Airport. we believe that it is always important to relax, refresh and rejuvenate.that is why we have designed our hotel to best suit that well appointed rooms, an international cuisine restaurant, a well equipped gym,swimming pool and 3 conference rooms. our accommodation is of the highest standard and comes with all the facilities you would expect from a modern hotel. we look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Airport West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing