We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt just like home. Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Richester Hotel
Ranked #95 of 230 Accra B&B and Inns
Oakland, California
2 reviews
“Felt just like home. Wonderful!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I had an amazing experience at this hotel. The van was there at the airport to pick us up. We were late and they waited patiently. The staff was humble, patient and kind and the atmosphere was great. I enjoyed the poolside music an dancing. The pool is beautiful especially at night when it lights up. The morning breakfast was delicious. Adam and the other chefs were accommodating and patient. I look forward to returning again!!!

Room Tip: The suite was comfy and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_Tamakloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
4
3
1
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Upon late arrival due to flight delays, the van driver for the Royal Richester patiently waited for our descend. Only a 15 minute drive from the Kotoka Airport, the hotel is located in somewhat of a secluded part of the developed district of E. Lagon. As we entered the facility, all lit up and decorated, it was as if I had landed on an Island on Pool Island which is beautiful featuring a bridge. The swimming pool with bridge is accents this property.
The staff cordially welcomed us, and carried our luggage upstairs. The hotel is very clean, and staff very conscientious about maintenance of cleanliness. The on-site manager is quite accessible.The executive suite is large, with king bed, and two-seater couch and other furnishings. In the suite, the kitchenette was very useful, with the inclusion of an adequate size fridge containing the best brand of bottled spring water. I would like to suggest a resupply of bottled water for those with extended stays. The air conditioning system worked well with no issues, as well as the flat-screened TV. The internet wireless connection was solid, once password issues were resolved.
Breakfasts included to-order omelets, fresh fruits, juices, and other healthy whole grain alternatives (cereal). It would be a great improvement to include Ghanaian ethnic food with a guarantee of bottled-water in preparation. One has the preference of dining in, or dining outside around the pool where there is ample seating, and evening music.
There's a pool bar, and a scheduled live band to serenade you in the pool or pick you up on the dance floor. The live band was spectacular playing music from US/Caribbean oldies to African highlife.
Every moment of our 9-day stay at Royal Richester was comfortable and memorable, and I look much forward to returning to this Lovely property during my next vacation. The price was right, and for me, going through a hotel booking franchise was helpful.
BAA

Room Tip: Pool view excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

First impressions when arriving late at night after a long flight were lovely lit poolside, welcoming check in & an inviting bar to relax in once the cases have been dumped in the room. That's about as good as it got because behind the nice decor of the reception & bar you'll find the rooms are pretty basic but charged at a higher price. The majority of staff were friendly & helpful, The breakfasts were good & the hotel was full - always a good sign. Downside, the Wi-Fi was hit & miss making it difficult to work, there was a mix up about the number of nights booked - not a problem anywhere else but despite providing correct written evidence the particular member of staff insisted I was in the wrong & made a massive issue about a small mistake (their end) which was easily resolved . . . & the price - way too expensive at the time of writing. There are much better hotels on offer at less money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy_Starfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Porters, cleaning staff, breakfast staff and door/security staff are all very pleasant and professional and the kitchenette is nice, but the $200+ price tag for a single room is absolutely not worth it. Close enough to airport that planes can disturb sleep/make it hard to fall (back) asleep. Gasoline/kerosene-type smell on and off, may be from neighborhood. Phone in room did not work. Wireless connection was terrible. Front desk service is hit or miss, and they sometimes diverted their attention to chat with each other in the middle of handling a request. Dinner service was very slow and the menu is mostly American/bland European....what 's the point of traveling? The few West African dishes are swimming in oil that left my stomach awry for two days. You could get better quality for 1/4 the rice at a road side stand. Breakfast service is attentive with made to order omelettes, though more of the same boring American/Euro staples. At least you can cook in the kitchenette. Also, do not change currency at the front desk - the rates are low. Go to the exchange at A&C mall nearby, which trades at almost the market rate. If you stay here, do not get a room in the back above the kitchen - it gets hot and steamy. Especially avoid the back right side, as the staff hang out outside and talk loudly through the late hours.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Accra hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room I was in was well equipped AC worked & the ceiling fans were nice, the room had a refrigerator, cooktop & cutlery, (wish the mattress was a little softer but that's a personal thing). The laundry service was great, they got my white collars preteen. Richard (the owner) was friendly and proved to be a wonderful source of local information.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed here on two separate occasions on business in the span of two weeks. The first time I was assigned a regular room, which was fully appointed with a kitchen, coffee/tea pot, and refrigerator. It was quite clean. The breakfast buffet was very nice, with about anything you might want and expect for breakfast. I had lunch and dinner as well and it was very good, as well. The one very frustrating thing is that they give you a password for the Wi-Fi, but they fail to tell you that it doesn’t work and has not worked for some time. However, if you can find their tech guy (not so easy to do on my first visit), he can help you find an alternative way to connect.

On my second visit I was given a suite, which was very nice and spacious. Ironically, it is harder to get the A/C right with two rooms (or I was not smart enough to figure out how to do it). Same problem with Wi-Fi on the second visit, but I insisted on getting connected and was successful, although internet service was intermittent.

The hotel is conveniently close to the airport, clean, with a good dining room and bar, and has a very nice swimming pool, something rare in Ghana. Service was satisfactory. This was the nicest place I stayed while in Ghana for two weeks. I recommend it.

Room Tip: Best view is with rooms on the swimming pool side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed in one of the villa type apartments at Royal Richester for 2weeks with 5 other family members and there is nothing good any of us can say about this hotel, where do i start....

1) Upon our arrival at the apartment we was shown around, instructed on how to operate the showers and other hotel procedures. The first fault was that the balcony door in the master bedroom was broken and didnt lock, reception was informed immediately they came over to look at the problem and said they would fix it right away- for the whole 2weeks no one came to repair the door.

2) Also upon arrival the apartment hadn't been thoroughly cleaned as we had to call front desk to send cleaners over, from previous holidays this is something that should have already been done.

3) As we was provided with a fully functioning kitchen it was too our surprise that there wasn't nearly enough cooking equipment, plates, cutlery etc. for 6 people as they would have been aware of the amount of people checking in.

4) There was an issue with the TV in the living area and master bedroom, we flagged this up to front desk and they had sent someone over to rectify the problem but the TVs was still not 100%... out of however many channels i can honestly say only about 3 worked at that the picture quality was pants alongside the internet connection that works when it feels like it!!!

5) They have a restaurant on site that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner (plus room service) but in all cases the service was extremely slow and slap dash. The food took so long to come once it had been ordered and on at least 3 occasions they brought us cold breakfast, which we had to warm up ourselves!

6) They advertise that they have a state of the art gym and spa, first of all the gym is not state of the art and the spa is non-existent

7) To top off our holiday we was burgled barring in mind the Royal Richester is a gated and barb-wired compound with 24/7 security!! The security was lazy and appalling because the burglar managed to gain entry into the hotel grounds by climbing over part of the wall where the barbwire wasn't as secure as it should have been (seen on CCTV by my Dad and step mum). At this time the security guard was sleeping as it is his duty to keep an eye on the CCTV and also patrol the compound. The burglar entered our apartment by forcing his way through the back door with a crowbar around 3AM, luckily no one was hurt but he got away with money and several electronic goods which contains our personal information and holiday pictures.

After this ordeal the members of staff at the hotel was of no help what so ever and almost didnt care about their guests safety as they didnt help us contact the police immediately and they expected us to stay in that same apartment for the remaining day we had left. Due to the time of year (DEC2012/JAN2013) it was difficult to find a near by hotel with a vacant room for 6 people therefore we demanded that they move us to the main building of the hotel, which they did eventually move us to one of the penthouse suites.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chaniquab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
2.6 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#18 of 92 in Accra
209 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 92 in Accra
199 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Aknac Hotel
The Aknac Hotel
#8 of 230 in Accra
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
586 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pemicsa Hotel
Pemicsa Hotel
#37 of 92 in Accra
17 reviews
6.5 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Richester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Richester Hotel

Property: Royal Richester Hotel
Address: 5 Richester Lane, East Legon. opposite the East Legon police station, Accra 00233, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Richester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE ROYAL RICHESTER! A delightful experience, The Royal Richester provides a combination of American-style town homes, serviced apartments and suites in East Legon, Accra. Royal Richester offers accommodation, amenities and services of an exceptional standard. Our luxury rental homes, apartments and suites provide a comfortable home for our guests. A variety of lifestyle services and business facilities will ensure a memorable hospitality experience at Royal Richester. With great attention to detail, Royal Richester brings together public and private areas seamlessly, to provide a unique combination of permanent residence, temporary accommodation and integrated services and amenities. WE ARE SIMPLY "UNFORGETTABLE." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Richester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing