We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Richester Hotel
Ranked #96 of 251 Accra B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is in my list of the worst five hotels I’ve ever been to. They charge first world rates for mediocre service. The facilities they advertise (e.g. Internet) was not working, the staff were slow, and you’ll want to sleep through breakfast. This place can be described simply as sloppy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siloysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Royal Richester Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 35 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed here because my flight to the United States was cancelled. I was impressed with the spacious apartment style rooms and the nice pool and gym. The only problem was the music. It was loud and played late in to the night. Then it started up again the next morning around 5:00. Overall a nice place though.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend in June, our first impression of wow was pretty short lived. My first complaint would be that even though we had booked and confirmed the arrival time, the airconditioners, ceiling fans, fridge and hot water were all turned off. Powerpoints hanging off the wall, all three bedrooms had television of which none worked. Having said that, these really are minor complaints, the staff were lovely and friendly and only too happy to assist with any problems that we incurred. Certainly by African standards this place is grand indeed. Would we stay here again?, I would say yes, we would just be a little better prepared next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridgey08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Excellent chefs here! Was there on a weekend. Some wedding reception. Music outside was pretty loud! Close to the airport. . . .even closer to the airport's approach glide slope. You can read the tail number of every plane landing there and here it fly over head. It's good that the airport doesn't see any late night arrivals yet as it gets quiet after the evening arrivals from Europe and the East Coast.

Rooms were decent. Very low on creature comforts but very clean and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retacSBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Stayed hee for a week on a business conference.

Its trying to be grand in a bad sort of way,

The service was mixed, to get a meal or a drink could take some time.

Internet service was very unreliable
My room featured no natural light!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKBNZTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

I was in Accra for 2 days last month and stayed at the Royal Richester. I have stayed at 2 other hotels previously, and was pleasantly surprised by this unique find. It's located a fair way away from town, but that is perfect. (by far i mean 5km from the new Accra Mall = $3 taxi ride!!!)

The hotel has a 24 hour bar (yay!), and friendly staff. The wireless internet is intermittent but fast. The rooms in the main hotel are huge, but the decor is a little outdated. Each room has a fridge, flat screen and stove (in case you want to cook your own food which, if youre here for 2 weeks, you will want to.)

The pool area is very relaxing, and refreshing after a day in traffic. Be warned that if your room is pool side facing over a weekend, you wont sleep due to late night party goers.

For the price it is great. BUT, pity they cant do a simple english breakfast in West Africa. Its limited to cereal, omlettes and pine apple......

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StevenWarriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

What a nice wonderful hotel. We had a three bedroom villa which was absolutely amazing. It felt like a home away from home (except was better than our real home). The villa was fully equipped with all new appliances, fixtures, etc. The pool at the hotel is wonderful with excellent outdoor bar and lounge.

Inside the hotel is a excellent restaurant with a good selection of dishes.

Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Villa
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alcor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
2.0 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
2.7 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 92 in Accra
217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tribeca Hotel
Tribeca Hotel
#79 of 251 in Accra
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pemicsa Hotel
Pemicsa Hotel
#37 of 92 in Accra
17 reviews
5.0 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
615 reviews
6.5 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Richester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Richester Hotel

Address: 5 Richester Lane, East Legon. opposite the East Legon police station, Accra 00233, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 251 B&Bs / Inns in Accra
Price Range: $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Richester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE ROYAL RICHESTER! A delightful experience, The Royal Richester provides a combination of American-style town homes, serviced apartments and suites in East Legon, Accra. Royal Richester offers accommodation, amenities and services of an exceptional standard. Our luxury rental homes, apartments and suites provide a comfortable home for our guests. A variety of lifestyle services and business facilities will ensure a memorable hospitality experience at Royal Richester. With great attention to detail, Royal Richester brings together public and private areas seamlessly, to provide a unique combination of permanent residence, temporary accommodation and integrated services and amenities. WE ARE SIMPLY "UNFORGETTABLE." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Richester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing