We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look elsewhere if you can”
Review of Ange Hill Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Accra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ange Hill Hotel
Ranked #46 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel was below average for me. My thoughts:

- service is very hit and miss. Some staff are trying hard but most don't really care
- very long wait in restaurant for all meals, but food is very good once it
- my room was not serviced once during my week
- internet (wifi) was working off and on for first two days, then died and never came back for the next five days!
- cable TV is good, rooms quite comfortable but nothing special at all.

If your expectations are not high, this hotel will be fine. Otherwise look elsewhere. Accra is expensive but you can do better for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morts-viajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Ange Hill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 36 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

For the cost, this is a decent stay in Accra. Seems like the nicer the room, the better the cleaning service and amenities.

Pluses:
-Transportation to/from the airport is reliable and friendly
-Christie's restaurant next door has good food and quicker service--within walking distance
-WiFi in room and computer lab near pool are as fast and reliable as you'll find in Accra
-Complimentary breakfast. Not great, just ok.
-Ginger juice!
-Decent outdoor pool/bar area

Leaves Much to Be Desired:
Watch the prices--I was cheated out of several Cedi's on different occasions at the restaurant
Some of the rooms are nicer than others, so be sure to check it out before committing to it.
Sloooooow restaurant. Also, us "obronies" (AKA Westerners) were numerously served slower/later than locals who came and went as we were sitting. Not cool.

Room Tip: -I suggest looking at the room before committing to it--they vary GREATLY and some have things such...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Country-n-City-Nash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The room was small but reasonable for the purpose of doing business and attractive. The restaurant was without any air conditioning which would really spoil the appetite of anyone not already acclimatized to the tropics. It also gave me a little scare: would the refrigeration also be dodgy and therefore the food might be borderline safe to eat? The neighbourhood is relatively down trodden but if you come to Ghana to look around you and think it's England then why come? The people seemed nice enough. My guest waited far too long for dinner to arrive however, and sometimes missed breakfasts altogether because he had a schedule to keep as a consultant for the campus nearby.

Room Tip: look at it first.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The beds are too hard to sleep ona nd they are in rooms they call "suites" you cant enjoy a good night sleep there. The breakfast is just too monotonous, some wackye (rice & beans) fried egg, and sour vegetables, and usual drink on table is pineapple and some cooked porridge. Am sure the hotel was designed more for locals than foreign travelers.

The Staff, would go on debate at reception and you can hear it upstairs and the dressing well not so pleasing to see on other staff besides the kitchen staff. another thing is, you can only enjoy watching screen if its in the restaurant, the rooms TV i had a poor picture and sound quality. besides reporting no one attended to it

May be too negative here but this place i went to another hotel... well sure Ghana can deliver better than Ange Hill

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. The staff was friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The pool was refreshing. The food in the restaurant was good. We were within walking distance to several restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammi112345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I am a Study Abroad Advisor for Ghana and have stayed here as part of my trip to visit our current student group studying at the University of Ghana. This is a very basic city hotel used predominently by local business folks for small conferences and meetings. It's not a 4 or 5 star Western Hotel (you can get that at the Moevenpick Hotel in Accra!) and you should not expect this when coming here. It's a simply hotel, simple food, my room was however impeccably clean. It occasionally smells like sewage in your bathroom but you have to understand the sewage and water situation in Ghana to understand that this is not out of the ordinary. The toilet flushes but you can only flush once at a time because it takes a while for the water to re-load. So you have been warned! I closed my bathroom door and it was fine. Air conditioning works fine, bed was very comfortable. Reception staff is very slow for Western standards - Keep Cool is the motto. Practice patience. Food can take up to an 1 hour to be served - and - in most local non-western restaurants that is the standard (what you learn: always order as soon as you arrive and it's no problem)! The food is completely fine - nothing to rave about. There's a nice little outdoor bar where you can drink ice cold Ghanaian Beer. In the back there's a pool and another little bar. If you NEED your coffee - you really must bring your own portable stack. This can't be overstated - coffee is horrible (why? Because Ghanaians don't drink coffee - they drink hot cocoa)! Close to University Grounds. If you can handle basic accommodations (and most people say they do but they really don't), then this hotel will be just fine. Ok standard for West-African City and for this price. You're in Ghana - roll with the punches and enjoy the little lovely surprises in-between. They do free airport pick-ups!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IM1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed for two nights. Convenient for airport. Good and efficient welcome but service for dinner was very slow which rather took the edge off the occasion. Large room and well equipped on 3rd floor with tempting view over the pool.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saxon54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
0.0 mi away
Pemicsa Hotel
Pemicsa Hotel
#37 of 92 in Accra
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Niagara Hotel
Niagara Hotel
#71 of 92 in Accra
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
611 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tribeca Hotel
Tribeca Hotel
#79 of 251 in Accra
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ange Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ange Hill Hotel

Address: 61 PMB Ka | Kotoka Int. Airport, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Number of rooms: 46

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing