We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated Reviews”
Review of Bella Roma

Bella Roma
Ranked #143 of 271 Restaurants in Accra
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Over-rated Reviews”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I was in Accra for 2 weeks on Business (I travel the all year for work) and ended up in this restaurant because the other restaurant we had planned to go is closed to Mondays.

The Food quality was quiet average. The online reviews were much more promising. The spegatthi I orders were over-cooked and dried. Starters were ok (not out of the world). We also ordered a pizza for the group which was burnt. Similar story for the steak which was quiet dry.

The worst part was it took 50+ mins for service. On the menu it said that Lasagne will be served in 35 mins. Never knew that it meant it was the quickest option.

Given the limited number of places in Accra, it may be an OK choice, however, I will never go back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Talha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    31
    8
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food & atmosphere”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good pizza and a mixed crowd of locals, tourists and expats on an al fresco setting. Decent value for money too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobertZAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Try the Zucchini flowers...”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Fried flowers? Well... why not I figured and I was kind of getting tired of fufu and Red Red. Finding this little joint turned out to be the beginning of a great epicurean experience for me as I ended up going back more than a few times. Yes service can be haphazard but I would go a little earlier than the masses and generally had no problems. Thank the chef - it goes a long way..
The lobster pasta too, was a delight and the wine was usually great as long it was from a newly open bottle.But that applies anywhere in the World.

Sometimes I would bounce back after 11 or midnight and the place had transformed - DJs were hit and miss but the crowd was generally happy (toasted) and wanting to dance :)
It's not quite like Rome but wake up! You're in West Africa!!
Have fun.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schulzbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Uppn entering, we almost regretted finally trying the place because of a weird smell and the awkward interior...however, friendly and prompt(!) service and actually good pizza (for Afric, very good pizza) proved us wrong. Stale Peroni from the tap a minus. Can recommend the place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AccraJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good and bad”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Food is excellent but frequently out of something or other. Servers are never to be found even during slow periods. Still a great option for Italian food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KRM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Roma also viewed

Accra, Greater Accra
Accra, Greater Accra
 
Accra, Greater Accra
Accra, Greater Accra
 
Accra, Greater Accra
Accra, Greater Accra
 

Been to Bella Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing