We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Niagara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Niagara Hotel
Ranked #65 of 95 Hotels in Accra
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I toured West Africa with the Dragoman group in April/May, 2013. The Niagara Plus Hotel in Accra was one of the tour hotels. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and very helpful with everything we needed. Rooms/beds were comfortable and all had ensuite bathrooms with hot water. The hotel is located behind the Accra Market, and is very central to all sights in Accra, as well as affordable. I had shipped a parcel home from Accra and had given the hotel as my return address in case it wasn't delivered. Unfortunately, it was not picked up and was returned to Accra. Not only did the hotel hold on to the parcel for 3 months until I returned home and discovered it was missing, but the manager, Ramiz, and his staff went out of their way to get the parcel back to me. This is just an example of the kind of service we experienced during our stay. Thanks Niagara Plus!

Room Tip: All rooms were comfortable. Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara2010, General Manager at Niagara Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Maureen
we are pleased that you have received your parcel, we are service focused company, and we believe no mater how posh a place can be, if the service and the warmth are not delivered, all poshness is of no use,, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Niagara plus, and we are looking forward to have your company among us in the near future.
thank you again and kind regards
ramiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    9
    5
    10
See reviews for
6
11
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is so nice, best for average accomodation ,,clean comfortable rooms, very good restaurant, good wi.fi great location in central accra, reasonable price, friendly management.. i liked my stay there..

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ayah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara2010, General Manager at Niagara Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Ayah
Thank you for your comment, we are pleased that you had a great experience with us, we are looking forward to up our performance to every one expectations, again that you for using us, and thank you again for your comment.
kind regards
ramiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nice people running the hotel, was picked up by good clean courtesy car from airport and taken to hotel. Room was not great but biggest problem was noise from night club until 3am. I am old and would normally sleep through most things but this was too noisy with the boom of the bass.
Breakfast was fine.
All in all, This was run by nicer people and cheaper then Robin Hood hotel, but noise lets the rating slip down from a four.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerboysimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara2010, General Manager at Niagara Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Sir
thank you for your comment, and we do appreciate it, that;s how we work on our mistake by hearing you. as recent as June we have upgraded our noise isolation and so far we had no complain to mention, and if there are any again we will do our best to resolve this issue, we thank you again for your constructive comments.
thank you and kind regards
ramiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The reviews on the page are mixed. I definitely had a difficulty in trying to look for all the good reviews written about this hotel.

Except for the warm smile from the reception lady there is nothing else worth talking about this palce.

Bad Rooms : moved to 4 different rooms before giving up and settling in one, as it was late in the evening.
Bad smell
Broken furniture
some lights dont work
AC is like a mini DJ
NO RUNNING WATER TO TAKE SHOWER/ NO WATER
Asking for hot water at that point seems like a joke
Dirty wardrobe.
not so clean toilets
Restaurant !!!!!!!! broken plates and cups

Would get MUCH better hotel with a a lil extra.

Couldnt stay there for more than ONE NIGHT

Room Tip: Would not recommend this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raj-inLagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara2010, General Manager at Niagara Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Mr.Raj
Thank you for your comment, however from the registration data base that goes back all the way to May 2013 you have not checked in our hotel, add to that, we are the only hotel in town that have running water 24 hours a day 365 days a year, why is that, because we have our boreholes that runs water and not only that, sometime because of the overload of water we tend to give water out when there are water shortages in town, so i really do not know where you have stayed. i am sorry for the bad experience that you have encountered any where but definitely not at the Niagara hotel as i have mentioned before you are not on our list to verify what you are saying. Moreover there is always a way to say things diplomatically, no matter where you are , you could have at least raised the issue with the smiling reception as you have indicated and it will be solved. Having a bad experience could have been raised by filling the complaint sheets we have at the reception in order to work on that, even this you did not do .so really i think you have stayed in a different hotel for not saying something else. Moreover can we know WHY your complain took five month to be posted, again my apologies for the bad experience you had in any hotel you stayed in, hope this mail meets you in a good health, thank you and kind regards
ramiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Accra hotels

Langebaan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My first impression of their service excellence was when I emailed through a reservation and received an answer within the hour. One of our staff members had a to stay over in Accra on his way to Liberia. Being an inexperienced traveller, I contacted Ramiz on numerous occasions to assist us - getting equipment through the airport, contacting me when he arrived safely, letting me know when he had arrived at the airport again. I am not sure what we would have done without Ramiz's willingness to assist us at all times. It was a pleasure doing business with someone so helpful. Thank you Ramiz!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StellaPee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara2010, General Manager at Niagara Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
thank you and hope we play host to you when you are in accra. thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

from my arrival to departure, the management and staff made the stay amazing. so glad I booked and stayed, definitely will return to Niagara hotel again. very pleasant very helpful. will be recommending this hotel to friends. 16 days, too short, would loved to have stayed much much longer. congratulations Niagara and all staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asa101269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara2010, General Manager at Niagara Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Asa
thank you for the nice words, it was a pleasure having you and having your company.We pride ourselves to deliver services at reduced prices, add to that your presence made it worth while you were here, hope we will be remembered by you on your next trip and we are always looking forward to play your host on your future trips to Accra.
thank you and kind regards
ramiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akure, Nigeria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The services rendered at Niagara Hotel is splendid even at an affordable price. I made my booking a month before arriving at Accra without making a deposit and as agreed, I was picked from the airport to the Hotel. The management of the hotel was considerate and ready to assist. The staff were wonderful as well. Breakfast was served promptly. I encourage travelers to Accra to consider putting up with Niagara Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ojuri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara2010, Owner at Niagara Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Mrs. Ojuri
Thank you for your nice compliment, we would have wished you stayed longer, however hopefully in the coming conferences in Accra. thank you and kind regards
the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
0.0 mi away
Pemicsa Hotel
Pemicsa Hotel
#36 of 95 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Elegance
Hotel Elegance
#34 of 95 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
10.3 mi away
Paloma Hotel Spintex
Paloma Hotel Spintex
#38 of 95 in Accra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Highgate Hotel
Highgate Hotel
#72 of 95 in Accra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
8.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
3.1 mi away
Midindi Hotel
Midindi Hotel
#21 of 95 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niagara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niagara Hotel

Property: Niagara Hotel
Address: Kojo Thompson Road | P.O. Box 4079, Accra 4079, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 95 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Niagara Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Jovago.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Niagara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing