We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La-Paradise Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La-Paradise Inn
Ranked #4 of 224 Accra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

This was my second trip to Ghana in three months and I elected to stay at the LA-Paradise Inn again and the reason is simple: they treat you like family at the Inn. Yes, it may not be the greatest location but hey it is Africa and I like being around the locals. This is the way you meet other people NOT like you. And for those critics that did not feel "safe strolling around the premises", probably would not "feel safe" anywhere outside thier own comfort zone. Very Friendly staff as always and oh yes you do not have to worry about "going" to church, church comes to you since it is right next door and on Sundays you get the whole sermon blasted to you which was ok with me since I need preaching to(hehe). Donna and Victor(owners) were only there the day I arrived since they were off to thier son's marriage(congrats), Kate and her crew as always treated me as the "king".

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atmo5237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    37
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
16
24
42
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Good starting point for a visit to Accra and Ghana. Quiet area in vicinity of two beach spots and the airport, but everything else is easily to reach by tro tro or taxi, too. Hotel staff is friendly and supportive, the kitchen exellent. However, if you have the bad luck that there is a church service in the building just across the street, it's suffering until the early morning hours.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Esche1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Nice hotel apartment in a bad location, at the edge of a slum. We generally had a nice holiday, though, as we arranged for a car hire to pick us up and return us to within the premises throughout our ten-day holiday. The location was so unexpected that we did not feel safe strolling round the premises. Thus, we missed the usual evening strolls that we take whenever we are on holidays abroad. There was a stench from the so called sea-side/beach (which was just a stretch of blackish clay/muddy soil, that the staff claimed used to be a stable); and especially from an open drainage that ran behind the fence where our apartment was located. The remedy was that we maintained closed windows throughout. Luckily, the airconditioners were in very good condition. The staff had an air of false friendliness around her, too. The same hotel-apartment in an excellent location would have been truly paradise.

Room Tip: All the rooms are generally good; just as long as you do not look over the perimeter fence of the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdeAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We had a very good stay at La Paradis Inn . Being in Accra for the first time we were excellently guided by Donna about where to go and what to see. The atmosphere at the house was always nice ,welcoming and serviceminded. You could eiher make your food or eat in the restaurant. Mostly European cooking, which we enjoyed!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 850Gunhild850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed at La Paradise Inn on our recent stay in Ghana. It was a slice of paradise, a cozy inn (that feels like a B&B ) with terrific, personable staff. It is in a quiet location, big, clean, air conditioned rooms with kitchenettes and Donna and all the staff were a huge help to us during our 4 day stay. They helped us get a great driver (Eric) who took us to the Elima, the Cape Coast and Kakum National Park and also toured us around Accra. They borrowed us some Ghana $$ until we could get to a bank and even let us use their personal phones for a work emergency. They will provide terrific meals if interested and sage advice. This place is a gem and I would highly recommend it....it is an oasis!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanStPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Hong Kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Wonderful B&B near the beach in Accra. Rooms are large, clean and air-conditioned and the garden is a quiet green oasis to relax away from the hustle and bustle of Accra. The owner, Donna, is fabulously friendly, always up for a chat, and provided a stack of good sightseeing ideas including Jamestown as well as the Artists Alliance Gallery and Lapadi Beach and La Pleasure Beach, the last three being under five minutes away by taxi. Security and food were good and the area felt quite safe (being my first trip to Accra). Also appreciated the free upgrade to a one-bedroom apartment. Really, quite a little gem and will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candid_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

If you define excellence as a typical hotel with a focus on American amenities this b and b may not be for you. However, if a pleasant and clean room with owners that care very much that you enjoy your stay matters, this is the place. They engage with you from moment one, creating an environment where you get to know them (Donna, for example, walked with me for an hour to find what I needed to buy and helped me make the purchase.) and where you can meet other guests if you choose to as you dine by the pool.

Room Tip: There are rooms with ocean views and rooms without.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
1.6 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.2 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
5.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
1.9 mi away
Mahogany Lodge
Mahogany Lodge
#8 of 92 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 92 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La-Paradise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La-Paradise Inn

Property: La-Paradise Inn
Address: 4th Ostwe Street | South La Estate (Opposite Jokers Pub), Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 224 B&Bs / Inns in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La-Paradise Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have available 10 serviced self-catering apartments of one bedroom and 1 apartment of two bedrooms. Also available 2 en-suite double bedrooms. We are located in the Osu area close to all the Accra amenities as: Oxford Street commercial area and Labadi Beach. 24Hr Security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your La-Paradise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La-Paradise Hotel Accra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing