We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Erata Hotel

Erata Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Accra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Erata Hotel
Ranked #51 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We spent two nights at the Erata Hotel recently. The rooms were large and fairly clean. The hotel made arrangements to pick us up at the airport and they were waiting and helpful. The breakfast buffet was very good with wonderful fresh fruit. The second night we stayed was less than adequate. There were numerous teenagers running the halls all night, yelling, pounding on our door and others, making telephone calls to our room and being so aggressive that we were frightened for our safety. We made three calls to the front desk and each time they said they would address the problem but it was not resolved until about two hours later. Upon checkout the following day, there was no apology by management or reasons for not addressing the problem.

Room Tip: Double rooms were large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TommySharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    22
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
6
7
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed here for a month. The hotel is located in East Lagoon which is quite close to the Airport Area. It is not in the main road and hence you will not hear the traffic buzz. It is very calm place. It is not too interior so you don't need to too travel far. It was quite helpful for me to be put up here as the hotel offered rooms with kitchen. They also provide basic vessels and cutlery. There are electrical ovens / hot plates and if you request for a Gas connection, they provide it too. Especially for vegetarians like me who will find it bit difficult to get vegetarian food, the kitchen is a blessing. The hotel Staff cleans the vessels next morning and you are ready for the next session. Wireless internet connection was quite good and continuously available. The hotel has a swimming pool, pool side bar and restaurant. They are kept clean and maintained well. The hotel also has a gym with treadmill and other regular workout instruments. The hotel is quite safe, well compounded and has a security guard. It has ample parking space. I found the hotel very convenient and comfortable for a long stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with Balcony are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rangaslakshmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for three nights, and glad to leave. Despite large bedrooms, the faint glow of a single light bulb contributed to the miserable, spartan feel of the room. The bed was unforgiving, the bathroom had an ineffectual shower, mould-ridden shower curtain, no soap and a toilet that oozed brown liquid from the waste pipe which did not bear thinking about. The claimed wifi hardly ever worked; the room phone never did. Breakfast was the same limited choice every day and the dinner menu promised much and delivered little, since almost everything was unavailable, served with a shrug. (There is a decent enough Chinese restaurant opposite the hotel's perimeter wall that would be a better bet for eating locally if you ahve to stay here for the nearby university). Whilst prepared to make allowances generally, the hotel barely deserves its 2* rating and is ridiculously over-priced.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the pool: if they have live music at the weekend it will be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Horsekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Accra hotels

Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

A team of 18 Americans stayed two nights during two different weeks. I had the same room each time. It was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was large and clean. The hot water was central and was more than adequate. Everything in my room worked. Some members of the team were not as pleased with their rooms. The adjacent restaurant is clean and the food adequate. The staff members were civil but not friendly.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank pmwelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsukuba, Japan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I staied just four nights, room is enough space and desk is also big.
For business trip, it is enough and good.

If you select for other trip, it is bit too simple and less entertainment.

Basically maintenance of facility is done well. Breakfast menu is not bad.

Room Tip: Near restaurant (pool side) is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mymydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Don't believe the details you see on the hotel's website. The quality the hotel offers is over priced. The rooms are spacious while the toilet/bathroom had a terrible odour that no one could figure out what it was. The wireless internet connection is very poor (doesn't connect) in the rooms and there are no provision for LAN cable. So for internet use you have to take your laptop to the business center. They have an array for food on the menu but with less than 25% available. If you love sleeping with pillows please come along with yours as what is available as pillows are nothing but a joke.The hotel is very accessible and with an airport shuttle available. The staffs are friendly but that's all it gets!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvjaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Erata hotel is conveniently located near the University area.....that's about all the good I can say. Terrible customer service, dingy room, limited menu. Light bulbs over 40watts unavailable in Accra?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacMagruder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Accra
0.0 mi away
Pemicsa Hotel
Pemicsa Hotel
#35 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mensvic Grand Hotel
Mensvic Grand Hotel
#37 of 92 in Accra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hill View Hotel
Hill View Hotel
#12 of 92 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Paloma Hotel Spintex
Paloma Hotel Spintex
#40 of 92 in Accra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tomreik Hotel
Tomreik Hotel
#1 of 1 in Legon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sonant Court
Sonant Court
#45 of 92 in Accra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erata Hotel

Property: Erata Hotel
Address: Ouagadougou Avenue, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Hotel Class:3 star — Erata Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing