We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean and room for work” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tenko Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tenko Plaza Hotel
Ranked #10 of 217 Accra B&B and Inns
Gbg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and room for work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was on business trip and as such working conditions on the room is important which Tenko Plaza had. On the down side I would say that the resturant part is not very cosy so you may want to go and have your lunch or Club somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
7
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed at Tenko Plaza for a week,this is second time we have stayed.William the owner and staff looked after us very well.Made us feel at home.Rooms very clean and tidy,food was fine.The swimming pool has opened,very nice for a cool dip.New Bar to open in a few days time as well as the fitness centre.
The location is good.Just jump in a taxi,very cheap,handy for the city centre and other shopping centres as well as the local beaches.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delboy1387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We spent two weeks here while doing some work for the Ghanaian Government. all the staff were great and the kitchen was very good. We have stayed in a number of places in Accra and this was the best yet! The owner William went the extra mile to look after us.
Pool and fitness centre were the last parts of the hotel that needed finishing, hence the poor scores! WiFi was the most reliable we have experienced in Ghana although not 100%. There are 'Western' style bars a short walk away as well as some nice 'spots'.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougleface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Tenko Plaza hotel was a perfect location for my business trip. Close to the airport and in a location where i was comfortable walking around and getting dinner and just checking out the neighborhood. The Owner and Staff were extremely helpful and did everything possible to make sure i had a comfortable and safe stay. The entire location was immaculately cleaned daily, the food was great and made to order, and anything i needed the staff helped me with in a timely manner and the room was clean and comfortable. I will definitely be returning and recommending to friends. And as for value, i have been to Ghana many times and have paid more than double their rate and those locations did not come close to the quality and service of the Tenko.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter. High Floors have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exc122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed in Tenko Plaza Hotel for a week and we felt "home away from home" as the saying goes. The location is good because we get easy access to transport, clean environment and the rooms are also clean with free internet access. The staffs are pretty good and friendly, 24 hour security for quests. We needed to have a taste of our native food while staying in the hotel and they allowed us to cook for ourselves. The manager is very friendly to quest as compared to other hotels manager we've come into contact with. We recommend this hotel to travelers either on vacation or business trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Staid in the hotel for three nights. The hotel is located to the north from the airport - not an ideal location for those who want to stay in the middle of the city buzz. You will always have to take taxi to get to the central Accra and there is not much happening around the hotel area. The service was not bad and the place is generally clean. In terms of the furniture and washing facilities, don't expect a western standard, but they are ok. The hotel is making a swimming pool and nightclub. The sign on the street says there is swimming pool - I guess they put it up a bit too early :) or the project is taking longer than expected :)

Things to be aware of (based on our experience at the time): The hotel does not seem to have sufficiently powerful electric generator and with frequent electric failures in Accra, we constantly faced power outages. Don't expect to be able to use internet. Theoretically there is free internet, but the speed is almost unusable and combined with electric failure, you probably will give up after a while of trying.

The breakfast was not bad, but the options are very limited so if you are staying for longer time, you may get a bit bored. Overall I would also suggest eating out, we tried to have dinner in the hotel once, but they did not have anything in the menu so we could not order anything.

Prices of hotels in Accra are generally very high compared to the quality. Although internationally I think the price-value ration is bad, this should not be associated with this single hotel ... probably.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hhando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

I stayed at this hotel and i might say i really enjoyed my stay. the location is good
since i can get easy access to transport, internet access and friendly environment. the staff are customer friendly, they allow me to cook my own food when ever i want to throughout my stay (I stayed for 10days) .The room i stayed in was very clean. Overall, if you are in Ghana on a business trip or other and want value for money, i recommend tenko plaza to you.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shupoleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Accra
10.2 mi away
Peduase Valley Resort
2.7 mi away
The Aknac Hotel
The Aknac Hotel
#8 of 217 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tribeca Hotel
Tribeca Hotel
#37 of 217 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Oriental Hotel - North Legon
7.1 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 96 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
8.5 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenko Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenko Plaza Hotel

Property: Tenko Plaza Hotel
Address: 22 Boundary Road | Near American House, East Legon, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tenko Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing