We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We really enjoyed our stay”
Review of Tenko Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tenko Plaza Hotel
Ranked #14 of 227 Accra B&B and Inns
Accra, Ghana
1 review
“We really enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed in Tenko Plaza Hotel for a week and we felt "home away from home" as the saying goes. The location is good because we get easy access to transport, clean environment and the rooms are also clean with free internet access. The staffs are pretty good and friendly, 24 hour security for quests. We needed to have a taste of our native food while staying in the hotel and they allowed us to cook for ourselves. The manager is very friendly to quest as compared to other hotels manager we've come into contact with. We recommend this hotel to travelers either on vacation or business trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
7
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tartu
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Staid in the hotel for three nights. The hotel is located to the north from the airport - not an ideal location for those who want to stay in the middle of the city buzz. You will always have to take taxi to get to the central Accra and there is not much happening around the hotel area. The service was not bad and the place is generally clean. In terms of the furniture and washing facilities, don't expect a western standard, but they are ok. The hotel is making a swimming pool and nightclub. The sign on the street says there is swimming pool - I guess they put it up a bit too early :) or the project is taking longer than expected :)

Things to be aware of (based on our experience at the time): The hotel does not seem to have sufficiently powerful electric generator and with frequent electric failures in Accra, we constantly faced power outages. Don't expect to be able to use internet. Theoretically there is free internet, but the speed is almost unusable and combined with electric failure, you probably will give up after a while of trying.

The breakfast was not bad, but the options are very limited so if you are staying for longer time, you may get a bit bored. Overall I would also suggest eating out, we tried to have dinner in the hotel once, but they did not have anything in the menu so we could not order anything.

Prices of hotels in Accra are generally very high compared to the quality. Although internationally I think the price-value ration is bad, this should not be associated with this single hotel ... probably.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I stayed at this hotel and i might say i really enjoyed my stay. the location is good
since i can get easy access to transport, internet access and friendly environment. the staff are customer friendly, they allow me to cook my own food when ever i want to throughout my stay (I stayed for 10days) .The room i stayed in was very clean. Overall, if you are in Ghana on a business trip or other and want value for money, i recommend tenko plaza to you.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shupoleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I would recomend this place if you do not have loads of money and if you have children,the food was very good and the evironment is very clean VERY GOOD SECURITY

Room Tip: The room was spacious Big bed clean sheets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank char14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed here following a recommendation from a friend. The positive side of this place was that it looks very nice from the outside, the location was good. It was near the city centre and close to shops. The manager was also very pleasant. On the down side, the room was of poor quality. The sheets on the bed were old and the bed itself was actually on its way to breaking. The majority of the furniture in the room was generally in a poor state. Our telephone did not work, on reporting to the reception we were told that they had a problem with the phones (for the duration of the 2 week stay nothing was fixed). We often came down to find the staff on duty either on their mobile phone, watching TV with their feet up or asleep.

Whilst we were there, they were building an extension with further rooms. I would recommend that they make improvements on the current ones first.

Room Tip: no comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller190747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Accra
4.4 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 92 in Accra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Elegance
Hotel Elegance
#33 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
3.6 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Osdahouse Home Lodge
Osdahouse Home Lodge
#2 of 227 in Accra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tribeca Hotel
Tribeca Hotel
#58 of 227 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Highbridge Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenko Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenko Plaza Hotel

Property: Tenko Plaza Hotel
Address: 22 Boundary Road | Near American House, East Legon, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Tenko Plaza Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Tenko Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing