We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive españolada”
Review of Toro Tapas Bar

Toro Tapas Bar
Ranked #13 of 268 Restaurants in Accra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: It took forever for Tapas Fever to hit Western Africa, but this spot in Afrikiko makes up for all those years. As the city's first Spanish tapas bar, Toro Tapas Bar fills a culinary niche. Quintessentially Spanish, our fresh and exciting menu offers something for everyone. With dishes from the sea, the field and the garden our tapas dishes are sincerely Spanish and our paella's always deliver on flavour.
Accra
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Expensive españolada”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Food is below average, portions tiny, presentation average, wine list below average(there rate spanish wine). Beverage prices as expensive as a 5*. NO WAY

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chandru K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM T, General Manager at Toro Tapas Bar, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Mr Chandru
Firstly thank you for taking time to give us a feedback of our services and food quality. We depend heavily on such advice to better our services.

I am extremely surprised that you had a terrible experience with everything you have had to experience. I am sure you are already aware that we are a tapas restaurant and hence our serving size are what a tapas is in Spain. As you are aware that tapas means short food and hence the sizing of the dishes. It is to enable you to enjoy a wide variety of tastes in one meal and experience different aspects of our menu. So your critical remark about the dish sizing seems to be a little harsh. I am extremely sorry that you found food rated by many to be authentic Spanish cooking to below average. I hope we get another opportunity to correct the same.

Our wine menu is amongst the most extensive in Accra and has prices ranging from ghc 30 to ghc 200 per bottle hence catering to a wide variety of taste and preferences. It is remarkable that you find this below average. Kindly do advice us on what you would like added to the menu.

Once again thank you for your feedback hope you give us another chance to correct this impression.

Viveak Majithia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    66
    22
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
1 review
“Best mojitos and exotic parties.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Toro Tapas Bar is the best place to go if you are looking for good drinks and delicious food!
The mojitos and the fried aubergines are excellent and if you are looking for something sweet I can suggest the delicious chocolatecake. It is the best I've ever had.
besides the Toro Tapas Bar is close to osu and easy to find.
If you are staying longer ask for the special events. You won't find any comparable party here in Ghana.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nora293797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A very good place”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

To start off, I find this place as one of the best places in Accra after Honey Suckle. Located in Afrikiko which is a complex of different cuisines and outlets. The decoration is very good, the food is tasty and the drinks are good. Wide variety of food selection. There is indoor and outdoor seats.
The service was not up to our expectation. I was hoping for better... and one more thing: the tappas portion are so small, and expect a high bill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galicia, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Spanish Bar & Tapas”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Nice place inside Afrikiko complex to eat some spanish tapas and have a drink or dance at the outside

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank noctiluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eat, Drink, Enjoy”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

If you are looking for a good time spiced up with a little extra Toro Tapas Bar is the place to go. What is recommendable? Well, now, the food is delicious - esspecially the fried aubergines and for the cheese lovers an excellent selection of this is offered in their menu. Looking for a place to drink? Well you might as well combine having nice food with the awesome drinking possibilities the restaurant provides. Undefinable good mojitoes, a fine selection of beers and at last but not least; the famous Shot of Death also known as Toro Loco - a couple of those and you'll be smiling the rest of the evening. It is hard to beat both good food and in particular the fine drinking possibilities, however, both of these only gets better from the nice atmosphere. The staff is very polite and the manager is always there to make sure you feel welcome and everything is alright, so to sum up; Great place, fine food, excellent drinks and a wonderful atmosphere - definetly worth experiencing!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank freja b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toro Tapas Bar also viewed

Accra, Greater Accra
Accra, Greater Accra
 
Accra, Greater Accra
Accra, Greater Accra
 
Accra, Greater Accra
Accra, Greater Accra
 

Been to Toro Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing