We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Good Seafood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Hook's Restaurant

Captain Hook's Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 256 Restaurants in Accra
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
349 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Really Good Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Went here for business lunch and had the grouper filet with lobster thermidor sauce on bed of spinach. It was a very tasty dish. Others in the group had the fried fish platter and Chicken and chili sauce. The portions were generous and service was good for Ghana. Will definitely go back in few months when I return to Accra.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrModu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    72
    42
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Tasty Food, Nice Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I ate a supper here with a large group of Colleagues. We were served a prearranged full multi-coarse meal selection. Ample food, great meal, nice selection and great variety (meats, poultry and fish). Very tasty food! would go again as nice dining setting. Deserts were also very tasty and they had a nice selection.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ONE-CAN-TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
232 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Lots of good recommendations but average to me”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Been here a few times over the years and the place has a strong following of customers and serves them well. For me though I find the service good but the food average at best.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SforSani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I had it great, but not my mates.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

I took a cocktail, a fish soup, a fish platter. Everything was totally great.
My friends took common dishes and were shy on the platter, they were disappointed. The snappers were small, stinky, overcooked, the soles were large enough but common. Others also regretted they did not choose my platter.
I had a platter with grouper filet, spiny lobster, bacon-wrapped prawn, and .. what else ?
Total cost GHc 80.
The fish soup was delicious. I will go to Accra to eat there again !

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
313 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Seafood with room for Improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

This restaurant is well located, the atmosphere is good and staff are very helpful. However the fish is, in my opinion, not cooked to best reflect the natural flavours - too much salt and oil and overcooked a bit. Having said that the fish platter is really good and the starter selection offered was great - especially the prawns and avacado.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beahive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Hook's Restaurant also viewed

Accra, Greater Accra
 
Accra, Greater Accra
Accra, Greater Accra
 

Been to Captain Hook's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing