We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant for sea food lovers”

Captain Hook's Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 277 Restaurants in Accra
Price range: $6 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Captain hook's is famous for fresh seafood like Lobster Prawns Calamari Shrimps Grouper and many more Not only seafood the menu will over you Beef Chicken and Pasta and many more
Tema, Ghana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best restaurant for sea food lovers”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Captain Hooks is the best sea food restaurant in Accra. The portions here are huge...it can easily feed 2 to 4 people. The fish, lobster, thermidor is excellent here. The staffs are friendly and care taking. The place inside is well decorated so that you can feel that you are on the ship in the sea. In nutshell, you'd love this place, if you are a sea food lover.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PRABHATCDAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    77
    45
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Decent seafood”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The portions here are huge...the seafood/fish platter can easily feed 2 very hungry people or up to 4 averagely hungry people. The fish is all excellent, have it grilled and you wont go wrong. The Lobster Thermidor was good too, but there seemed to be more sauce than Lobster - rather opt for the fish platter. Prices here are steep for local standards but the quality can certainly back it - Im sure you can get the same type of seafood at cheaper prices but Captain Hooks is a good bet.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZAcouple_in_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best seafood I had in Accra”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Captain Hooks is a nice seafood restaurant in Accra, I have learned.
So we went there to give it a try.

In any case, if you are hungry, try the seafood platter! Great!

The employees are friendly and caretaking, so we had enough drinks all the time. I have also tried a steak, and you can do nothing wrong with that, too.
I will definitely be there on my next trip to Ghana again.

Even if the prices are higher than in other restaurants in Accra, you should give it a try. It is better to book a table on the weekends.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarcBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience in Africa”
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I took the family to celebrate my wife's birthday.
Pre booking is a must as this place is popular.
We arrived, they seatedus, took drinks orders and insured the kids were served first. For those with kids, it's always a good idea to feed the kids quickly that you can look through the menu in piece. The meal came very quickly, we were most surprised. The starters were large portions and the main meal was huge.
Despite the size of the portions, the food was very good. The steaks were complimented and the sea food was very well prepared. The tables across from us had the crayfish which they claimed was of the best I'm Accra.
We had a great time, the atmosphere was lovely, the food good, and the service was probably the best I've experienced in Ghana.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DorianZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good food, but pricey”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I came here for dinner with a work colleague. The food and service were good, and I could not fault them. The portions were generous in size, and I was glad I hadn't ordered a starter, and certainly had no room for desert. I ordered the deep friend grouper, and it was delicious. The meal was quite expensive though, similar to prices I pay in London.

The restaurant is large, but has numerous rooms, which means that it retains some atmosphere, and doesn't feel cavernous. I imagine it would be great for parties.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank callumx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Hook's Restaurant also viewed

Accra, Greater Accra
 
Accra, Greater Accra
Accra, Greater Accra
 

Been to Captain Hook's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing