We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, mid-range hotel for business”
Review of Maxlot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maxlot Hotel
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Accra
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value, mid-range hotel for business”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights when I was attending a conference in town. It ticks all the right boxes and I would recommend it to others. The staff were friendly, the room was clean and comfortable, the internet was very strong and didn't suffer from any interruptions. The restaurant was decent if basic.

I stayed at the La Royal Palm for a few days afterwards and I preferred the Maxlot.

A good mid-range option. The one downside is that none of the taxi drivers seem to know where it is, so make sure you direct them to the Nima police station - it is just behind there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin_NW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
1
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calabar, Nigeria
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This hotel is in a very questionable are and driving up to the hotel late at night is very nerve-racking. The hotel had said they offer Airport pickup and had all my flight details, only to arrive at Accra airport and I was informed they had no driver to pick me up. Told to take a taxi and they would pay the fare then got to the hotel and was told they would not pay the taxi!!! Checked in and then asked for a meal but was told the restaurant was closed, room service??? Also closed so impossible to get anything to eat at the hotel or within the vicinity of the hotel.

At this point, I realised this was only going to get worse so got my bags and left (with the same taxi I arrived with). As a single female traveller having endured a 6 hour wait at the airport, this was not acceptable standards.

Room Tip: For $140.00 per night there are much better hotels in Accra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Accra hotels

Accra, Ghana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

The best service of service, their dishes are soo tasty and they treat visitors in a evry nice manner.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very pleasant, fully air conditioned and have access to internet all day long and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank winnefred f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Maxlot hotel was recommended by a tour guide, as it is reasonably cheap and offers all the necessary away from home services.
So a small family of 3, we went. It was a good hotel, very few staffs. (I actually prefer hotels, with few staffs, even if they have a lot, i really dont appreciate a lot of people walking down a hotel hallway in the name of rendering services) and the breakfast....hmmmm really nice.
Quite, with a gym, so you dont miss ur work out, though the gym is still not fully decorated, room is small, but u can still do a work out!

You should watch ghana tv on sundays....u see a lot of amusing stuffs!

Room Tip: of course, rooms on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tbs4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

This hotel is good value, considering prevailing rates in Ghana.

Checkin - quick, no issues.

Location - not bad. There are abundant taxis around and most places I went to in Accra didnt seem unduly far from here.

Room - reading the last review from Mar 2010, I was rather worried. But since then I believe they have renovated the rooms. My room was large, well furnished and clean. There is a small (but empty) fridge. Bathroom is spacious and everything seemed to work fine. Sleep quality was excellent.

Note that there is no elevator in this hotel (there is a helpful porter to carry your luggage). If you are wheelchair bound or physically disabled in anyway this hotel is best avoided.

Internet - fabulous ! Fast and free. Exceptionally good compared to better hotels in many other countries with better internet infrastructure.

Restaurant - included breakfast was unbelievably dull and tasteless.

Hotel staff - helpful and friendly.

Checkout - you can pay with a credit card, but they will charge you in USD and slap on a 10% transaction charge, though this is prominently stated in a poster at the reception. You are better of paying in Ghanain cedis, there is a Stanbic bank ATM just across the main ring road.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanasaheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Previous reviewers: Were you staying at the same hotel?? I beg to differ, but hardly anything works, and unfortunately that includes a number of the staff !

Yes, the rooms are reasonably clean, but basic. However, for a hotel charging the equivalent of 3/4 star European hotels, you would expect better quality fixtures, service and provisions. Toiletries are provided on an ‘ad hoc’ basis, and appear to be obtained from various sources. Toilet rolls are cheapest of the cheap, and towels are old, and almost equivalent to having a rub down with sandpaper. The bath/shower area was basic but poorly maintained (no shower holder, disintegrating and grubby sealant, cracked tiles, broken toilet seat….shall I go on?)

The bed was located underneath the air conditioning unit, so you could either sleep in a persistent draught, or switch it off, and have a clammy nights sleep. While the sheets were clean, the headboard of the bed, and the wall behind it were dirty. Bed side lights either did not work, or could not be plugged into the sockets (two pin plugs, but three pin safety sockets!)

Power cuts were regular, and it was hit or miss whether there was water for showers – when the water was on, the pressure varied from a dribble to Force 10. If you have laundry, expect 4 star prices, but don’t expect to see your clothes back for at least three days. Satellite TV in the rooms has three film channels with reasonable films (when the signal isn't frozen), the rest are African soaps or gospel channels – if you are lucky you may catch CNN news. Internet access is by ethernet to the rooms, and wireless in the bar area – not always reliable, but at least it was free.

Got any valuables? Take your chances and lock them in the battery operated safe – which is free standing, portable, and can be opened with a generic code. Okay, the staff are honest, but it is not the point – it still makes you reluctant to leave anything of value in your room safe.

Breakfast – well sometimes you are served, sometimes it is self service. “Choice” is almost the same every day – some fruit; porridge, sometimes rice, sometimes custard; baked beans; sliced chicken sausages; and something resembling fried eggs. Bread/toast, and tea and coffee are also served, but after your ears have been assaulted by full volume local radio, rap or gospel music, you want to get out of the breakfast room as soon as possible. Meals in the evening were of an acceptable standard, which is just as well since you have plenty of time to work up an appetite (normal wait time was 30 minutes plus).

There’s a gym – okay, a room with some gym equipment in it – in addition to boxes and spare hotel furniture. Yes, it has a massage chair, but that is hardly a workout! But not to worry, you can always try the small outdoor pool – except weekends and public holidays, when it is full to bursting with local children/teachers/childminders, and left filthy and unusable, afterwards. The three sun beds and parasol catch the sun from 3pm onwards – but ensure you don’t take the broken lounger.

Positives are difficult to find, apart from a few individual staff who went out of their way to be pleasant and helpful. These ‘dedicated few’ were the only ones who appeared to have an instinctive understanding of what ‘customer service’ should be about. The Maxlot hotel has the potential to be a below average hotel, but has delusions of 3 star grandeur. Unfortunately it fails on both counts.

This is the ‘Faulty Towers’ of Ghana, and if you have the choice (which I unfortunately did not), it is probably one to avoid. If you have to use this hotel, keep complaining, and get the management to understand what 'value for money' and ' customer service' actually mean.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

This was first time in Ghana, my expectations were high cos of all the good stuff i have heard about it. I had planned to stay at maxlot but the taxi man that picked convinced me of a ''better'' hotel. but after two days i followed my hunch and went to maxlot, i regretted not going there frem the first day. Very neat, everything, i mean everything works: the water, the light, the internet, the resturant, the staff, food was fast etc. The price was good, they gave me a discount of about 30%, the food was affordable, internet free, Just a total delight. Though a bit hidden, but go all the way to find it, its close to nima poice station, opposite lufthansa's office and around a prominent polictician's house. I nearly forgot, the best bed i have slept in long time.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tulapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Byblos
Hotel Byblos
#47 of 93 in Accra
23 reviews
0.6 mi away
Urbano Hotel
Urbano Hotel
#21 of 93 in Accra
23 reviews
2.0 mi away
Highgate Hotel
Highgate Hotel
#59 of 93 in Accra
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Elegance
Hotel Elegance
#36 of 93 in Accra
23 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tulip Inn Accra Hotel
Tulip Inn Accra Hotel
#49 of 93 in Accra
46 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kings Royal Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxlot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxlot Hotel

Property: Maxlot Hotel
Address: House No. C19/5 Off Onyan Street | Ring Road Central Kokomlemle, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maxlot Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maxlot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing