We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Accra Airport
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Accra
london
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
Reviewed February 16, 2009

This is the best hotel I have stayed in in West Africa - this doesn't mean it was perfect but comparatively speaking it was pretty good. The public rooms are lovely with some nice decorative touches; the room was clean and comfortable although nothing special. I thought it would be noisy being near the airport but it was quiet and peaceful although a little way from other amenities.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Away from amenities
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dovedale65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    205
    148
    45
    17
See reviews for
21
19
50
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2009

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Accra for business and have to say it was an experience. The other reviewers talk about a nice lobby and they are right the public areas are fine and give a good impression. The accomodation lets it down with very sparce furnishings and tatty walls. Rooms were cleaned daily ok but they need to get someone with a paint brush to look at the decor.

I didn't just stay at the hotel - I held a two day meeting in one of the hotel meeting rooms. The service was great apart from when I tried to print my boarding card out for my flight home. The lady in business centre charged me $0.50 for 1 page of A4. i wouldn't have minded too much but for the fact that I had just spent $1800 on accomodation and day delegate rates!!

So overall it was okay and I'm probably just annoyed at the fact I had to pay a stupid cost on top of everything but I surely will not be returning to this hotel.

Finally one of my collegues was told by the porter 'I expect a tip for delivering your bag' - funny i always thought it was discretionary to tip?

  • Liked — Waitresses and Waiters in restaurant as they were always on the ball.
  • Disliked — Business centre officaldom
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill37972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Accra hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2008

Feels like a 3 star hotel rather than 4 or 5.

Convenient for the airport, and free pickup service much appreciated when arriving late at night and not wanting to contend with the wall of taxi drivers (although had to wait 45 minutes for this)

Took nearly an hour to check in, even though there were 3 members of staff on reception at the time. No apology, no friendliness. Not what you want when arriving at 11.30pm and with an early start the next morning.

Lobby area very impressive, as the prevous reviewer has mentioned.

Room clean, comfortable and functional - as one would expect from a brand new hotel, but rather small. Good bed and pillows. Wireless internet worked well but occasionally dropped connection.

Pool area is ok but feels very overlooked by the proximity of the lobby and car park - noisy road and not really conducive to relaxing.

Room service food was pretty awful and took over an hour to arrive. Most items on the menu were out of stock, and the piece of chicken I ordered looked very sad and dried up, and made me ill a few hours later. 'Rack of lamb' was so dry, tough and gristly that it was impossible to tackle and I gave up.

Good restaurant breakfast with eggs cooked to order. Service a bit hit and miss. Room service breakfast was disappointing with quite a few of the ordered items missing.

Overall a mediocre experience and feels clean and safe, but certainly not worth $300 for a standard room!

  • Liked — cleanliness, comfortable beds.
  • Disliked — check-in process, food, room tariff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fi_earthling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

This hotel sucks and is very deceptive. The lobby area is beautiful but the rooms are crappy. The standard room is small, has a slightly bigger than a full size bed, a small flat screen TV, and ancillary furniture that looks like they bought it off the side of the road..... Oh and the internet didn't even work! I can't believe that the Holiday Inn has the audacity to charge almost $300 for a room with sub-par standards. They should be ashamed of themselves for such deception (as I said before the lobby was awesome).

  • Liked — The lobby
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank smurfette08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.7 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Accra Airport Hotel
1.3 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Accra
Golden Tulip Accra
#18 of 92 in Accra
498 reviews
3.7 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#20 of 92 in Accra
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Accra Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Accra Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Accra Airport
Address: 19 20 Plot | Airport City, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Accra Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only one kilometer from Kotoka International Airport, and only seven kilometers from the city centre, Holiday Inn Accra Airport, part of the African Sun group, is ideally located for the business traveller or adventurous tourist.The Holiday Inn Accra Airport has 168 appointed rooms and all have high-speed internet access (Wi-Fi), satellite television and a mini-bar. The Wiase Restaurant, overlooking the sparkling pool is open all day and caters for the large appetite to snacks for the not so hungry.La Cabona Pool Bar and Restaurant gives guests variety and an opportunity to relax.The staff at Holiday Inn Accra Airport are proud of their can-do approach to guest requests which start with free airport transfers. All you have to do is advice them of your flight details and they will do the rest.Exceptional conferencing facilities are matched by the skills of the dedicated conferencing and banqueting manager, whose team can cater for a reception for 450 people, a banquet for 250 or 300 people seated for a conference. A total of five meetings rooms and all ancillary equipment are available and Holiday Inn Accra Airport staff expertise and experience is on tap.What will be unfamiliar though, is the particular flavour given to the traditional African Sun Welcome by the Ghanaian staff. This part of West Africa has a charm all of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Accra Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Accra Airport Hotel Accra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing