We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Accra Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Accra Airport
Ranked #10 of 95 Hotels in Accra
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awesome....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have been in holiday inn's across the world and this has to be the best. The staff were amazing, the service contrary to other reviews we found it was great. On telling the staff that I hadn't seen my boyfriend for two months they kindly ungraded our room (we are priorty point holders). The swimming pool was very clean and open 24hrs. the breakfast buffet was also superb, with omelettes made for u While u wait. The staff were SO good.Could not fault the hotel actually think it is an asset to their brand

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiB34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    197
    140
    42
    15
See reviews for
19
18
49
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
World
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

we arrived around 9:30 PM holding a confirmation for 2 rooms When we reach the hotel we were told the confirmation which we've got online is not valid- they are fully booked and it was an error.Imagine after you travel for few weeks ( flying almost every second day), reaching a hotel and be told that you don't have room.They even start lying about trying to contact me- they had my phone number had my email address- nobody made any effort to contact me and inform us about our reservation. Ridiculous. The staff at the reception were not even trying to help. Very unfriendly and very unprofessional. This is not the first time when I found the reception staff unprofessional and unfriendly. Definitely I will not book that hotel for myself or for anyone else, and I will not recommend it even to my worst enemy!

Room Tip: Don't book ! You might have the same surprise like we did! Choose another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mirela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Accra Airport, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Mirela C,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. Please accept our sincere apology for the misunderstanding regarding your reservation and we regret you found the service you received from our staff less than satisfactory. We take the confidence our
guests place in us very seriously and would like to assure you that all of the points you raised in you review will be taken into
consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Accra hotels

Lome, Togo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just a weekend away with my wife. Had to stay here at the last minute because another hotel I booked wouldn't answer their phone. Most everything is what you would expect for a 4 star Holiday Inn. Rooms nicely furnished, comfy beds. Breakfast was better than many Holiday Inns I have stayed in. I did have a problem with the AC when arrived but was taken care of within 15 minutes. Wifi was good, food and service was good. Only drawback for me is that it's more than I usually spend for a couple of nights stay. However, it's pretty close or above average for this quality in Ghana. I would suggest they increase the variety for their Room Service Menu and pool is outside and noisy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyandAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Definately one of the better hotels close to the airport. Generally friendly service. Rooms are in reasonably good condition and generally well serviced, but not always that well maintained - light fittings etc. Wi-fi works like clockwork most of the time. Restaurant provides reasonably good food with a reasonable menu. Breakfasts are good. Cannot pass comment on price comparison, but I do think they may be somewhat on the more expensive side.

Room Tip: Choose a room without a view over the swimming pool as it may become noisy especially over weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PieterfromRoodepoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Accra Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear PieterFromRoodepoort,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Holiday Inn is my favorite chain where ever I travel, so it was my first choice on this trip to Ghana as well.
Price of one night is not promotional to any prices you pay outside of Africa. In the rest price of a room like this shouldn't be more than $100US.
The room was comfortable but old.
Staff was kind and helpful in late checkout and other needs.
There are few new hotels being built in the area and it seems to me that if they don't renovate to keep the chain standard they will loose some business pretty soon.
The location and proximity to the airport was good since there is not much to do in other parts of the city.
Overall an OK stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iophir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Accra Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear iophir,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Apart from a slight problem with not getting the room and floor which I had booked (despite a written confirmation), the hotel was very welcoming, clean and comfortable. I was there for 10 nights. The room was OK, there was wifi connection, coffee and tea facilities, and aircon (which I couldn't get the hang off!!) Generally the staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfasts were good with a nice range of options, and there was a good-sized swimming pool. However, do be aware that apart from the 'fast food eateries' in nearby Marina Mall one has to travel some distance for 'proper' restaurant food, or else eat at the hotel- certainly not cheap, but on a par with other Accra hotels in terms of inflated room and meal prices. Despite being so close to the airport there was no noise of aircraft in the hotel and room.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view overlooking the swimming pool- preferably on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnilNLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Well yes, as per other reviews the rooms are dated and basic, and have a musty foisty smell. Food is limited, service is hit and miss, but although expensive, is ideally situated close to the airport.

I wouldn't recommend walking from the airport. Wait for the free shuttle bus if not getting picked up by your host.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChipoSticko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Accra Airport, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear ChipoSticko,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We value your feedback as they enable us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.8 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 95 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
3.9 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
0.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Accra
Golden Tulip Accra
#14 of 95 in Accra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#12 of 95 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Styles Accra Airport Hotel
1.1 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Accra Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Accra Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Accra Airport
Address: 19 20 Plot | Airport City, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 95 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Accra Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only one kilometer from Kotoka International Airport, and only seven kilometers from the city centre, Holiday Inn Accra Airport, part of the African Sun group, is ideally located for the business traveller or adventurous tourist.The Holiday Inn Accra Airport has 168 appointed rooms and all have high-speed internet access (Wi-Fi), satellite television and a mini-bar. The Wiase Restaurant, overlooking the sparkling pool is open all day and caters for the large appetite to snacks for the not so hungry.La Cabona Pool Bar and Restaurant gives guests variety and an opportunity to relax.The staff at Holiday Inn Accra Airport are proud of their can-do approach to guest requests which start with free airport transfers. All you have to do is advice them of your flight details and they will do the rest.Exceptional conferencing facilities are matched by the skills of the dedicated conferencing and banqueting manager, whose team can cater for a reception for 450 people, a banquet for 250 or 300 people seated for a conference. A total of five meetings rooms and all ancillary equipment are available and Holiday Inn Accra Airport staff expertise and experience is on tap.What will be unfamiliar though, is the particular flavour given to the traditional African Sun Welcome by the Ghanaian staff. This part of West Africa has a charm all of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Accra Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Accra Airport Hotel Accra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing