We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ear Plugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Accra Airport
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Accra
dubai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ear Plugs”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

If you like loud busy hotels then this is the right place. Staff have their hands out for tips into their pockets...pool was empty all week for repairs which should have taken 2 days..

Lots of conferences,govt officials etc..loud bands,hookers if thats your thing..

Some really really rude staff..

Food good but boring after 2 days. Elevators slower than walking speed. Rooms really tired,old.

Over the top in price for value..

As an overnighter close to airport could be OK, ask for back of hotel room for noise.

Outlook is cranes,building materials,junk yard..

Security good,except for 'ladies of the night..'

Room Tip: back of hotel level 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Accra Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear j s,

Thank you for leaving a review. I'm glad our location was convenient for you. I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, my apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort due to the room accommodations, noise, facilities and conduct of our hotel staff. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    202
    145
    44
    17
See reviews for
21
19
50
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Second stay here in 8 months unfortunately on business. Extremely slow service, worn fixtures and fittings, noisy (and I had been up-graded!!!), pool bar and hotel bar serve avarge quality food and menu doesnt change. The Mövenpick hotel in Accra centre is far nicer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Accra Airport, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Jon S,

Thank you for taking the time to write our property a review. I am pleased that you found our location satisfactory enough for your needs. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience you experienced with our staff service and if the food served during your stay was not at par with your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Accra hotels

Brandon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Although a bit on the expensive side the hotel is very good. The location is great and the friendliness of the staff is better than many places I have stayed.
I had some problems with my room as the WiFi was practically non existent and not up to the standard that I had previously experienced when I have stayed here. This was mentioned to the reception staff and was promptly remedied. They had no other rooms available for the rate so I was upgraded free of charge by way of an apology.
I would like to thank Kwaku for his prompt attention to the matter and his very professional and courteous approach.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
259 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

When it comes to business trips to Accra, this is my best choice.
rooms are big, Breakfast and dinner buffets are very good, staff is professional, location is ezxcellent, pool is good, the only problem is air-conditioning if you are at the top floor, then the air conditioning will be a little un-efficient.
over all i would highly recomend this hotel for any one going to Accra.

Room Tip: Pool side or airport view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is my second stay, and although just another overnight this is a comfortable hotel.

The check-in staff are friendly and made sure I understood where the restaurant was and how to connect to the internet.

The rooms are clean and bed sheets also look clean and fresh. The beds are okay comfort wise, certainly not the best and by no means the worst. TV connection is good as is the internet.

There is a small gift shop beside reception but sadly they take cash only. They really need to take credit cards to get maximum sales. There is an ATM outside the hotel but I don't need the local cash.

All in all a good place to rest your head.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sac1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
146 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn while on business in Accra. Very convenient for the airport but one needs to cater for traffic if heading into the city for meetings. Rooms are comfortable and all in all the hotel does justice to the Holiday Inn brand. The outside pool area is very comfortable and well serviced. Breakfast is good too. As a solo female traveller in Africa I felt comfortable and looked after unlike some other Accra hotels. I would choose this for any future business trips in Ghana.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms have a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0livinglife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed for a over 10 days in June and all I can say is that this is a strictly business hotel. It is not really a bad thing if you are indeed in Accra for business.

On the plus side:
The location of the hotel is as mentioned very close to the airport and in the vicinity of all the major oil and gas companies in town. The food is actually good and the service is quiet slow for western standards but good in Ghanaian and African terms. The pool is always empty for a quick dip between meetings.

On the down side:
Very limited menu. Faced problems with power outages and AC not working properly however all issues were addressed promptly. No real place to unwind in the hotel after a day of work.

Nonetheless I would not mind staying here again next time and increasing my loyalty points would be one of the main reasons.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nibal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.7 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
3.7 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
586 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Accra Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Accra
Golden Tulip Accra
#17 of 92 in Accra
489 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
1.3 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Accra Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Accra Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Accra Airport
Address: 19 20 Plot | Airport City, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Accra Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only one kilometer from Kotoka International Airport, and only seven kilometers from the city centre, Holiday Inn Accra Airport, part of the African Sun group, is ideally located for the business traveller or adventurous tourist.The Holiday Inn Accra Airport has 168 appointed rooms and all have high-speed internet access (Wi-Fi), satellite television and a mini-bar. The Wiase Restaurant, overlooking the sparkling pool is open all day and caters for the large appetite to snacks for the not so hungry.La Cabona Pool Bar and Restaurant gives guests variety and an opportunity to relax.The staff at Holiday Inn Accra Airport are proud of their can-do approach to guest requests which start with free airport transfers. All you have to do is advice them of your flight details and they will do the rest.Exceptional conferencing facilities are matched by the skills of the dedicated conferencing and banqueting manager, whose team can cater for a reception for 450 people, a banquet for 250 or 300 people seated for a conference. A total of five meetings rooms and all ancillary equipment are available and Holiday Inn Accra Airport staff expertise and experience is on tap.What will be unfamiliar though, is the particular flavour given to the traditional African Sun Welcome by the Ghanaian staff. This part of West Africa has a charm all of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Accra Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Accra Airport Hotel Accra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing