We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make you feel at home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The African Regent Hotel
Ranked #6 of 93 Hotels in Accra
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Make you feel at home”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Only stayed here for a few nights but a great hotel,Rooms are big, clean and food is also good. The Gym is very good and the pool is nice clean and towels for you to use, Not to expensive for food etc etc. i never wondered outside the hotel unless with a guide, sitting at the pool chilling was better for me to relax, the only problem was the local Jimmy jimmy man wanting to sell you everything( i bought 1 or 2 things from him but that could have been the mistake as he kept coming back)
Most staff were nice good at the out side bar as never too busy tehy look after you will.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadMal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    148
    66
    16
    4
See reviews for
25
27
13
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The staff is super friendly and the food is good. Internet connection is slow and, depending on where your room is, you might need to go to the lobby for a decent signal. The location is very good especially if your meetings are NOT downtown. If you have a couple of hours to spare, there is a mall within a walking distance (yes, it’s very safe to walk) with a decent movie theater.

Room Tip: If you are a gym goer, stay in the 1st floor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Egyptian_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights before moving to the Moevenpick. HIGHLY HIGHLY overpriced. The service was fair, but at times rude. When we showed up 10 minutes before the breakfast buffet closed and the dining room was full of patrons eating, we were turned away saying it was too late. The food was mediocre. The room was pleasant (while small), but the bathroom looked like it was from a 1970s hospital: Fluorescent light, poor fixtures, lousy products. The wireless Internet login process utilized 2002 technology. We booked our hotel on an online site, so they refused to give us any sort of receipt even showing that we indeed spent two nights there. I went to exchange $50 into Ghanian Cedis and they had run out of Cedis and could not exchange the cash. On and on and on.

Save yourself and do not stay here. Either find a cheaper hotel that will be at the same quality for a third of the price or pick the Moevenpick or Holiday Inn or Golden Tulip (or others) that will be much, much higher quality for the same price.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shrager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in 2012 for 3 weeks whilst looking for more permanent accommodation in Accra. The food is average, service lacklustre at the best of times, and hair salon pretty poor. There are better hotels to stay at in Accra for a similar price. Stick to the brand names rather. This hotel is owned by John Kuffour's son (One of Ghana's ex-presidents)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I found the hotel quite good. The location is ok if you need to be near the airport, but otherwise you're a fair way from anywhere - other than a small shopping mall. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms nicely finished and well cleaned. Has quite a good gym for a hotel and the pool is ok. Was a bit surprised at the price - much more expensive than I'd expected.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr64Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

The African Regent is an excellent business hotel, no one is their for much else and so they cater for a client who wants to fly in have a base of operations in a good neighborhood and fly out.
Unfortunately their is not much else, it has no unique charm, their is a small generic pool not very inviting and no gym.

The food is pretty average and the decor African themed in general. The rooms are comfortable, clean and the amenities acceptable, but its missing something to make it special.

I will likely try somewhere else next time.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Merlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Hmm, my first visit to Africa but probably couldn't have picked a better place to go than Ghana. Certainly a 3rd world country but what lovely people! No crime to speak of, no violence and a population that respects the rule of law. This trait spilled over into the majority (not all) of the staff. Daniel on the door is the best.

The food in Africa is very ordinary. Usually overcooked chicked and lots of carbohydrates such as baked tarot and potatoes plus heaps of (again overcooked) rice. That summed up the restaurant although to be fair, the salads were nice and fresh. Only problem is you don't know what they were washed in.

The eggs are the most aeonemic looking things where you have trouble finding where the yolk ends and the white starts. Again overcooked to 4wd tyre proportions.

However, probably the best of a bad bunch but at US$375 qa night you'd think they would remember to pick me up from the airport rather than leave me standing there for an hour, only to have to get a taxi in the end.

Would I stay there again - yes. Why - everything else is worse!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
4.7 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 93 in Accra
592 reviews
4.8 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
0.8 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 93 in Accra
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#20 of 93 in Accra
215 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tang Palace Hotel
Tang Palace Hotel
#4 of 93 in Accra
130 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oak Plaza Hotel East Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Regent Hotel

Property: The African Regent Hotel
Address: 237/238 Airport West | P. O. Box CT 6143, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Accra
#6 Business Hotel in Accra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The African Regent Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An icon to the finest hospitality in Ghana, the African Regent is an integral part of Accra's most prestigious residential community and features exclusive accommodations that offer more than just a good night’s sleep. It is boldly contemporary, yet inspired by elements of traditional African design. The stunning African-themed décor and professional staff make The African Regent as much a place to stay and relax as a prime destination to entertain and socialise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The African Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accra Regent
Regent Hotel African

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing