We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tolerable, not Terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The African Regent Hotel
Ranked #6 of 93 Hotels in Accra
Mauritius
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tolerable, not Terrible!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

What is it about a hotel that the moment you walk in you know it will not work for you? Maybe it's the over-the-top African decor that is far from tasteful. Maybe its the the tinge of arrogance of the reception staff. Maybe its the tiny cafe and bar in the reception area that is invariably packed - usually with airline crews for whom the seating is reserved. Maybe its the restaurant which is more geared to serving up expensive buffets meals and not a-la-carte menus. Mind you, the staff in the restaurant were charming, friendly, and efficient. Breakfast meets international standards with its wide choices and quality fare. The other redeeming feature was my room that had a separate sitting area where I could spread all my work papers without the mess impinging on the bedroom proper. When all is said and done this is a pleasant short-stay hotel. After ten days I was oh-so-ready to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    148
    66
    16
    4
See reviews for
25
27
13
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was in Accra last week, stayed at the ARH for the first time, based on TripAdvisor recommendations. The hotel is nice, lobby area has a bar frequented by many guests.
The restaurant has a extensive buffet or you can order from the menu. The food is good, you can certainly ask for special orders and the staff will accommodate. The rooms are large, all with a individual AC unit. I rented a car from the Travel service associated with the hotel, they did a great job. I highly recommend Richard as your driver. He was excellent. Also Solomon at the front desk was exceptional in his service. I will stay here again, the hotel is located close to airport and Accra Mall and University of Legon area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pequod77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Went to Accra for a retreat and we stayed at the African Regent. Nice medium sized business hotel, with real Ghanaian hospitality. The buffet at the restaurant was a good spread and quite tasty. Great location as it is very close to the airport and walking distance from the biggest shopping mall n Ghana.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olufunmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I had been told about this hotel but wasn't sure about it as I am used to staying in 5 star hotels. I must admit that I was pleasantly surprised at the service! The hotel has a very African and modern touch to it. The staff were simply fantastic! Shame about the size of their pool and no tennis court but they compensated by taking me to the various leisure centres that they have around them. The gym is cute and intimate and the instructor was extremely encouraging.
Ghana hotels have come a long way!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I hav been visiting Accra for family reasons, but wanted to make a holiday of it rather than stay in relatives' houses. Finding a good hotel on the Internet was tricky; the Labardi beach hotel is the most luxurious but was over our budget. We opted for the African Regent Hotel because it seemed to strike a reasonable balance between comfort and price, and the location - near to be Airport and places we wanted to visit- was good. 9 nights worked out at about £2100 which is an expensive stay. On balance, it has been ok. I am not sure it is intended, but there is a sleepy charm about the Hotel, starting with the helpful but very laid-back Reception, to the soporific breakfast experience, which ultimately assists in winding you down when you realize that things are just done that way; you are in Ghana and 4 star hotel regardless, life is lived on a different axis here. The swimming pool is ok, diligently attended by numerous hotel staff, and room service works. Food in the hotel is probably relatively expensive, but again, ok. The hotel is clearly used in the main by businesspeople, including for the holding of conferences, but our stay as tourists has helped in the objective of making us relax; on balance, I would probably stay somewhere cheaper without a pool, and make use of the day- visitor facilities at Labardi for £15. Ghana still is not part of the Tourism trail, and the African Regent probably best reflects that reality.

Room Tip: Our room was upgraded without us requesting - though in the event, the room we were given was just o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is a lovely hotel to stay in as a business traveller. Great location, near the biggest shopping centre in Accra and it is not far from Osu, where most restuarants and bars are situated. It is highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProudlyNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Well, if you're just staying here for one night, you'll be fine. Your room will have a bed, a bathroom, a tv and a weird room service menu.

However, don't expect any kind of luxury. The hotel attracts (or encourages?) a lot of prostitutes who frequent the bar and pool areas during the evenings, and they don't like taking no for an answer. I eventually had to run away from a "lady" that tried to follow me into the lift.

The hotel staff are very slow at doing anything, especially check-in and out. There seems to be an air of indifference about them and they seem far more interested in texting or chatting than offering to help.

Air con in the rooms is noisy and intermittent - my colleague had an issue where water was pouring out of his unit onto the floor and maintenance didn't bother to fix it (or mop up) as we were checking out in six hours.

Avoid this place if possible.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mintyaero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricanRegentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
We thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the problems you experienced during your one night stay with us. Here at the African Regent Hotel, we value our customer's opinions and do make a conscientious effort to ensure we look into the complaints made in an effort to improve our product and service quality to our patrons.

The African Regent Hotel is a business hotel offering superior service to its guests. Our rooms are decorated with a blend of culture and decor from different parts of Africa. We offer different room types that are designed to meet the expectations of any visitor.

Mr. Mintyaero, we provide security for our guests and take serious measures such as approaching suspected ‘visitors’ in order to reduce and discourage them from coming to the hotel. We try to do everything we can to ensure they do not cause discomfort to other guests by not allowing identified uninvited visitors into our rooms.

We have a 24hour maintenance team that attend to the needs of guests irrespective of the time.

In addition, we always have duty managers and night managers that supervise staff at all times. We also encourage our guests to always report things that do not meet their expectations to management and this is what saddens us about your stay with us.


We are truly disappointed we did not get the opportunity to address your complaints and we ask that you send us details of your stay with us (dates and reservation name) to the mail address grm@african-regent-hotel.com and we will investigate the incident. In the meantime we would like to thank you for staying with us during your stay in Ghana.

Once again we are sorry for what happened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
4.7 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 93 in Accra
594 reviews
4.8 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
0.8 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#5 of 93 in Accra
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#20 of 93 in Accra
216 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tang Palace Hotel
Tang Palace Hotel
#4 of 93 in Accra
131 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Regent Hotel

Property: The African Regent Hotel
Address: 237/238 Airport West | P. O. Box CT 6143, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Accra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Accra
#6 Business Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The African Regent Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An icon to the finest hospitality in Ghana, the African Regent is an integral part of Accra's most prestigious residential community and features exclusive accommodations that offer more than just a good night’s sleep. It is boldly contemporary, yet inspired by elements of traditional African design. The stunning African-themed décor and professional staff make The African Regent as much a place to stay and relax as a prime destination to entertain and socialise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The African Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accra Regent
Regent Hotel African

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing