We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel - good for those on budget”
Review of Highgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highgate Hotel
Ranked #59 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed in this hotel while on business trip on March 2014.
To be plain, its a just a basic hotel, only for those on "budget". Don't visit with any high expectations. The staff are really trying to help when you have a problem.I got changed rooms when the aircon failed in the middle of the stay. They don't even provide water in the rooms once you finish the few bottle you find in the room.

Room Tip: Please check the aircon, taps, hot shower and toilet is working fine before taking a room
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Highgate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 46 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed at the Highgate over a long period of time for business and found it comfortable and accommodating enough for my travel style. When traveling on business I usually just sleep at the hotel and spend most of the time out & about. Therefore, I only want a comfortable and clean hotel room with friendly and helpful staff. The Highgate meets that criteria, but not much more. If you expect to spend most afternoons at the hotel you'd probably rather find a place with a better restaurant (Highgate's is average), Fitness & Business Center, Pool and more comfortable rooms and better in-room services (such as Wi-Fi or TV).

Pros: Good location, lots of taxis in the area, helpful staff, comfy rooms, AC, Internet.
Cons: Average restaurant, rooms could be cleaned better, no elevator.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a fully-functional room. Some of the travelers in my group complained about hav...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlonsoFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Highgate is a good business hotel in Accra. I stayed here for a period of just over 3 weeks and it was perfectly comfortable.

What works well: the rooms are basic and the beds are large and comfortable. The rooms are very clean and air-conditioners work well. The staff are super friendly and ready to help. They can get you access to a money changer in the hotel, should you need one - you get a better rate with the larger USD notes. There's a pharmacy and an ATM very close to the hotel. You get taxis outside almost all the time - so don't have to worry about your transport. The hotel manager is friendly and ready to assist anytime you need him. The restaurant has a limited menu, but the food is fresh and isn't very expensive. You can even buy chilled bottled water at a reasonable price.

What doesn't work well: there is no fitness center or pool, but the hotel staff can help organize what you need at a neighboring hotel.

Overall a great place to spend the night if on business.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diamondrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel staff was pleasant and accommodating. The room was simple, comfortable, and clean. There are no elevators, but the bellman carried up my suitcase. I could not get internet in my room which was a problem as I was there on business.

The adjoining pub/restaurant was pleasant and comfortable. The food was ok. This is where I was able to gain internet access as well as the lobby.

If I could have afforded better, I would have. However, if I need to stay there again, I would.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRiley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

It was a bit Marie Celeste - no-one else eating, drinking, or apparently even staying there .... So the staff are unoccupied and a bit despondent, although the reception staff are very helpful. Rooms are fine - but Accra generally is expensive for what is on offer, and the Highgate has no pool, so should be cheaper!!

Odd experience with Pina Coladas which tasted of cheesy milk ........

Room Tip: It is in a quiet area - no sleep problems; there is construction underway at the rear of the hotel...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LobsterFiend45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The hotel is good compared with Accra hotels.
The AC is good, the internet is good too and breakfast is ok too.
The tank in the bathroom makes some noise every now and the bathroom could be maintained better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doriti2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

5th time in a year at Highgate, my usual place then. Nice hotel with good location: 15 minutes by taxi during rush hour to anywhere in the city. Free internet access, free airport pick-up and drop-off, breakfast included. Personel is very nice and warmely welcomes me when I'm back.

Cheaper than other options in Accra. It doesn't have a gym, but another hotel down the road will let you use theirs for a fee or you can walk / jog in the quiet district.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhildeBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
2.0 mi away
Maxlot Hotel
Maxlot Hotel
#40 of 92 in Accra
14 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Byblos
Hotel Byblos
#48 of 92 in Accra
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paloma Hotel - Ring Road Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kings Royal Atlantic Hotel
0.0 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#80 of 92 in Accra
7 reviews
1.4 mi away
Urbano Hotel
Urbano Hotel
#19 of 92 in Accra
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgate Hotel

Address: 70 Mango Tree Avenue | Asylum Down, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Price Range: $146 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highgate Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highgate Hotel offers many benefits to the business traveler, and customers. For years, executive leaders, travelers and business clients have been utilizing and returning to Highgate because of the wonderful services we provide to our customers. Located in a key-note area of Asylum down, having a guaranteed accommodation in the heart of the city makes commuting around Accra easier and faster. Kotoko International Airport is only a 10 min drive from the hotel, as well as tourist hotspots such as Labadi pleasure beach and Kokrobite beach. Boasting of 33 spacious rooms, Highgate hotel has rooms ranging from standard to executive to suites tailored to suit individuals of every aspect. Built in a spacious ground with beautiful greenery and a team of enthusiastic, friendly and delegated staff Highgate staff are trained to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. With superb cuisine and a wonderful ambiance, Highgate provides a wonderful setting for corporate meetings, conferences, retreats, team building programs and workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing